Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Paris Letters by Janice MacLeod

Paris-Letters

A love story in the vein of Almost French and Lunch in Paris, Paris Letters is a joyful romp through the City of Light, and an inspiring look at what can happen when we dare to create the life we want.

“How much money does it take to change your life?”

Unfulfilled at her job and unsuccessful in the dating department, Janice MacLeod doodled this question at her desk. Then she decided to make it a challenge. Over the next few months, with a little math and a lot of determination, she saved up enough to buy two years of freedom in Europe.

But she had only been in Paris for a few days when she met a handsome butcher (with a striking resemblance to Daniel Craig)—and never went home again.

A Valentine to love, art and new beginnings, Paris Letters is for anyone who has ever dreamed of leaving it all behind (or finding a Daniel Craig look-alike of her own).

I wasn’t sure just what to expect when I read the blurb for this book. A self help, a romance or a Paris travelogue? All of the above? But it did sound interesting and like a nice getaway from reality so I requested it from netgalley and got started.

Upon starting it I was reminded that the longest journeys begin with small steps. Janice has to set out what her life was like to begin with and why she wanted a change. After several soul sucking years in marketing – Americans, you can thank her and her colleagues for much of the junk mail you get every day – she began to reimage her life. But how to change? Keeping a journal and a blog to be accountable got her going and helped free her from what was keeping her from dreaming.

Once she had a goal in mind, it was hard work and a process of sliming her life and her belongings down to what would fit in one suitcase while saving every penny towards her goal of being able to say “take this job and shove it.” While I’m not ready to ditch everything I own, I found myself pondering what I could cut back on or down in my own life to get me closer to my goals.

With her job behind her, she began living her dream of traveling through Europe with the first stop in Paris. Egged on by a new friend, she ventured out of her shell to strike up a casual friendship with a handsome guy while discovering the joys and drawbacks of living in Paris. Ah, yes, it’s not all wonderful and should I ever visit the City of Light I’ll be a bit more prepared to dodge the pickpockets as I see the sights.

A bit more traveling behind her, Janice decides to return to her handsome guy and, as he invites her to, “see how it goes.” Before, she was just visiting but now she’s settling in and actually living in the city of her dreams with a guy who sounds almost too good to be true. Parisianophiles and romantics will probably enjoy this part best as through Janice’s letters to friends and subscribers, as well as her writings, we can discover the delights she finds there.

The decision to raise her living expenses by sending out subscription letters – her illustrated “Paris Letters” – is a dandy way to earn funds and one I would have never thought of. But it’s genius and a wonderful use of her creative writing and artistic talents. It’s also lovely to watch her burgeoning relationship with the delicious Christophe who picks the perfect time and place to propose to her.

Their struggles to get all their relevant paperwork together – first for Janice’s changed visa and then for their marriage is like watching a red tape bureaucratic horror movie. But as she says, someone’s got to provide a reason for all those government jobs and they did – finally – get all the appropriate stamps and translations to make everyone happy. I also learned that there are a lot of “Highlander” fans in France.

What I took away from reading “Paris Letters” is not really anything dramatically new. Follow your heart and dare to live your dreams but prepare for them first and yes, that means you must have enough money on hand so you don’t starve. Even if this just means cutting the cable TV cord – something I recently did myself – or if it entails dusting off your passport and heading to parts unknown, think about it, plan it and then do it. And if you choose Paris to go to, there are some great recommendations here to get you started. B-

~Jayne

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook DepositoryGoogle

Another long time reader who read romance novels in her teens, then took a long break before started back again about 15 years ago. She enjoys historical romance/fiction best, likes contemporaries, action- adventure and mysteries, will read suspense if there's no TSTL characters and is currently reading very few paranormals.

2 Comments

  1. hapax
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 12:43:51

    This is probably mean-spirited of me, but all I could think of when reading that blurb is “anyone who can save enough in ‘a few months’ to live on for TWO YEARS (no matter how much they scrimp) is probably paid way too much” — or at least is not someone I’m likely to identify with.

    ReplyReply

  2. Jayne
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 13:47:29

    @hapax: LOL. Actually it’s more like almost a year that she saves and some of what she saves comes from selling almost everything she owns and from selling her artwork on etsy.

    ReplyReply

Leave a Reply

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

%d bloggers like this: