Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Entwined with You (A Crossfire Novel) by Sylvia Day

 **NOTE: This review contains mild spoilers for the two previous books, as it’s impossible to talk about the storyline of Entwined with You without referencing earlier events. I’ve tried to remain as vague as possible.**

Dear Ms. Day:

I think that your Crossfire series qualifies as “extreme romance“. Even though it portrays an incredibly screwed up, emotionally damaging relationship between two people, your writing and characterization make it a compelling read. Those who have read the previous two books in this series, Bared to You and Reflected in You know that Gideon Cross and Eva Trammel have been struggling through both of their difficult pasts to build their future together.

EWYWhen we left the couple at the end of Reflected in You, Gideon had gone as far as someone could go to protect Eva, but the emotional fallout of his actions have made Eva wary. In order to carry out his plan, Gideon cut Eva out of his life, allowing the world, and Eva, to believe that they had broken up,and  going so far as to be seen with a former flame to carry out the deception. Eva was devastated, and when she finally discovers the truth about what Gideon has done, she’s both deeply touched by his actions and horrified that he’s gone as far as he has. She worries that carrying out his plan has scarred him irrevocably. Gideon already suffers cruelly from his horrible past, and now his actions will only compound his angst.

Now Gideon is back in her life, but it must be a secret, as there is an ongoing police investigation. He takes the apartment next door to the one that Eva shares with Cary, her roommate. They sneak to see each other as often as possible, but must keep their relationship under wraps. Eva is struggling to forgive Gideon for hurting her, even as she can’t seem to stay away from him. As the two are finding their way, the usual dramas are playing out in Eva’s life. Her mother is still keeping too tight tabs on Eva’s whereabouts, her father has just found out about the abuse that Eva suffered as a child, and Cary is still messing around with the hot model and the hot vet, not making a choice, but seeing both.

What to say about this book? I gobbled it up and enjoyed every moment of it. That being said, I think it is problematic. The first issue being that this series was originally sold as a three book series, which has now been extended to a five book series. Which is great, except that this book had the feel of filler to me. When I started it, I wasn’t aware that the series had been extended, so when the book ended, I literally kept pressing the screen on my iPad, thinking there was more. The ending is ABRUPT, and mostly unfulfilling. The book meanders a bit, I think with the intention of building the bond between Gideon and Eva. But honestly? Their relationship is so remarkably dysfunctional that its unsettling to read. While I have no doubt they love each other, Gideon’s actions, in particular, are extremely stalkerish. He tracks Eva’s phone, he knows where she is at all times, he wants her to come work for him so he always knows what she’s up to.  I would have liked to see the story move ahead more. It felt like there were all sorts of little dramas playing out without there being any definite climax (forgive the pun). It almost felt to me as if you’d written a larger book, and then split it into two parts.

All of that being said, the characters are compelling, and the book itself is well written and the characterization is interesting. The sex scenes in this book are extremely hot and they do advance the connection between the characters. Overall, I’m still interested to see the resolution of Eva and Gideon’s story, but I’m really hoping the next book has more action. Entwined with You gets a B- from me.

Kind regards,

Kati

 

AmazonBNSonyKoboAREBook DepositoryGoogle

Kati

I've been reading romance for more than 30 years and reviewing regularly for the last five. My first romance was Irish Thoroughbred by Nora Roberts, and once I read it, I was a goner. I read most subgenres of romance (except inspirational and steampunk) but focus mostly on contemporary and paranormal, with a sprinkling of historical thrown in for flavor. I am an avid sports fan, so I have a special place in my heart for sports themed romances. I'm a sucker for old skool romance, which is probably most evident in the fact that The Windflower is my favorite romance of all time.

61 Comments

  1. Amy
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 12:08:39

    And that is the reason I was hesitant on reading it — the extension of novels. I wanted some closure with this book, but once I heard it was going from three to five novels, I knew at least one of those books was going to be a “filler” book. BUT…I am still craving it to read! LOL

  2. lorelai
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 12:44:05

    But honestly? Their relationship is so remarkably dysfunctional that its unsettling to read. While I have no doubt they love each other, Gideon’s actions, in particular, are extremely stalkerish. He tracks Eva’s phone, he knows where she is at all times, he wants her to come work for him so he always knows what she’s up to. I would have liked to see the story move ahead more.

    This was my exact reaction when I read the first book and why I didn’t read the following two books. It’s interesting that this is your reaction to the third book and makes me wonder if anything happened in books two and three to move their story forward. And Gideon really put me in the mind of a stalker in book one – the scene where he reveals an exact replica of Eva’s bedroom squicked me out so much I almost stopped reading then. Compelling story or not, I probably won’t pick the series back up. My squick threshold can only handle so much.

  3. Jae Lee
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 13:15:41

    Funny, I just put this on hold at the library. I’m going to cancel it and just wait for the rest to be released before I bother, if I bother now. I feel like this is a blatant money-grab and I really dislike being treated like an open wallet. I probably would have gotten fed up with the super long wait (130 holds already) and just bought a copy, but that is definitely not going to happen now.

    I read a lot of epic fantasy so I’m kind of resigned to this extending-the-series nonsense, but it is so, so frustrating. If the story genuinely can’t be resolved in the allotted number of books, okay fine, sure, I’d rather wait and get some real closure (like M. Sagara’s Sun Sword series). In romance, I mind it less if it’s a series being extended for new couples, like Pennyroyal Green (although that’s a whole ‘nother can of worms). But not when it’s a single couple.

  4. Kati
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 13:23:33

    @Jae Lee: I hesitate to condemn the author for the “money grab”, as I think the demand for this series has been extraordinary. But I’d have respected both her and the publisher a whole lot more for just admitting that there wasn’t more story there than could be sustained in three books. This one really did feel like it was the middle of a longer book to me.

  5. Lynnd
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:17:54

    Thanks for this review Kati. I thought the first one in the series showed an exploration of an interesting premise (two severely abused people developing a relationship – I could even excuse Gideon’s stalker behaviour as part on that ground because I expected that Eva would demand a change PDQ). I thought that the second book was mostly filler,, but since I thought that this was only going to be a three-book series, I was prepared to see it to the end. At this point, as it appears that this is just more filler with no progress, I too am throwing in the towel. I don’t necessarily mind when a story takes longer than an author thought because of legitimate story reasons/requirements as long as the story continues to move forward (Michelle West (Sagara)’s Sun Sword being a great example – Game of Thrones, not so much). However, when it appears, as it does to me in this case, that the author/publishers are trying expand the series because it has become a cash cow, I’m far less eager to invest my time and money in continuing.

  6. Ros
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 15:40:52

    @Lynnd: I’m with you. I liked the premise of two people whose reactions to their past abuse were each other’s triggers, and how they worked to get beyond that. I even understood the point of book 2 – to get to the revelation at the end of it. And book 3, I wanted to resolve that and reach a point at which I could believe in a HEA for them. But no, I’m not up for an ever-expanding series.

    EDITORS, I BLAME YOU. Your job is not to squee over your authors’ lengthening manuscripts but to make them cut and refine and strengthen their work.

  7. Ellie
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 16:12:39

    I loved the first one – for the reasons Ros said, two people struggling with their triggers, I found it thought provoking and quite romantic. But that’s it, I’m done. I didn’t see the need for one more book continuing the theme, much less four more. So glad I quit when I did. I’ll reread the first when I want to, but I’m not giving my money to this escalating “series” trend. Just saying no.

  8. Stephanie
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 16:49:25

    Completely agree. At the end I was feeling very confused. I felt like it was very rushed and that there was no need for the ex boyfriend and crazy ex fiance. Like you said it felt like a filler book.

  9. Julaine
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:14:49

    I discovered Bared to You after reading a recommendation by Angela James. I had no interest in reading the 50 Shades Trilogy after hearing that they had evolved from Twilight fanfiction but her enthuasium for BtY as a similar dynamic but much better written convinced me to give it a shot. It was okay but I have certainly read other erotic romance that I found equally or better written without the troublesome issue of whether either Gideon or Eva should be in a relationship given their obvious emotional and pyschological problems.

    Then the problems started with the delays in the release dates for the subsequent books in the series and now the extension of the trilogy to a five part series. The last book already ended with an unnatural abruptness and a cliffhanger and now I learn that the story arc has been stretched with filler…how can I, as a reader, feel anything less than disrespected. Worse yet, it drags down the story the author is telling.

    The unexpected success of the Crossfire series has become a cash cow and the publisher and writer have made a decision to milk it for all its worth. That may be a good short term financial strategy but may end up being a very costly long term career decision. Romance readers have long memories and are very loyal customers but if all the people who loved Bared to You get bored before the story limps to its final conclusion they may not give Ms.Day ther chance.

  10. veronica
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:24:05

    I loved the first book, not so much the second. With this one, I’m just skimming. The writing is good, but we need a compelling plot. Not the same problems rehashed a different way.

  11. Madeleine
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:29:09

    I’m 40% through and it’s not impressing me. It’s just … boring? No plot. The characters aren’t all that likeable or engaging and it just isn’t working for me. I really liked the first one and the second one was pretty good, don’t think I’ll make the investment in FIVE books especially if there are long delays between the release dates. It’s been a long time since the last book and Sylvia Day is not J.K Rowling- people lose interest. It reads like filler, there’s only so much back and forth I can handle before it’s just boring. Eva now seems annoying and spoilt and Gideon is just MEH. Everyone in this book so far is just … selfish and unlikeable. I am disappointed and I was looking forward to this release.

    The other new release I just read was Kristen Ashley’s Fire Inside- engaging, compelling, seriously invested in the series because there is good pay off and the books come out regularly. Kristen Ashley treats her readers with respect, I think there is a big difference between the two books.

  12. Rob
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:31:32

    Love the story but am annoyed that there are now 5 books in the series. This book took about 7 months to arrive so with that in mind, will it be another 12 months before the story is ever concluded ? Great story Sylvia but very disappointed.

  13. Zrinka
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:47:26

    That’s why I don’t write series, and if I ever do, the books would be stand alone. Plus, it’s hard to keep up the interest across the books. Maybe if she tied up ends with one couple then wrote about side characters who appear in the first book, they should be main in the next book. I don’t know.

    Though I haven’t read FSoG nor do I have any intention to read it, these books seems like some kind of take off on FSoG.

  14. Madeleine
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 21:58:47

    To add, something very interesting is going on at Amazon. Readers are not happy and I am glad. There should be some accountability shown for this, the cliff hanger ending, the padded out book with a thin story line and the greedy change from trilogy to series.

  15. Michele
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 22:49:55

    I’m actually done with this series. I was in two minds about it after Reflected in You anyway. But after this turn of events I’m definately done. The series was PROMOTED and promised as a trilogy. All of a sudden it has now been stretched (for no reason other than money) into a five book series. So now I can’t get the HEA I was promised for ANOTHER 2 books and based on how many times the release date for Book 3 was pushed back we’re looking at sometime around 2015 before we get the ending of the Gideon and Eva Saga.

    NO way is Ms. Day getting another US$20 out of my pocket just for the HEA that should have been delivered as promised in Book 3.

    Is this what they call LEGAL PRICE GOUGING in the US.

    As for the trite Authors note at the end… it was insulting.

  16. Sydia
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 23:13:11

    @Madeleine:

    I am so annoyed at the abrupt ending and even more irritated to know the novel has been expanded! I dont think i’ll buy the next two. Felt cheated!

  17. Lu
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 02:11:35

    I only hope that the next instalment deals with Gideon’s abuse. That is what I was hoping for in the third book, so I’m holding out hope that it all comes out about why his mother is being such a b*%$@! So for that I will keep reading! Hopefully we won’t have to wait sooo long this time!

  18. Kati
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 06:52:45

    @Lu: I’m with you. I will keep reading because I need to see what happened to Gideon. But this book felt like: “Yes, yes, Gideon still has nightmares. And still won’t tell Eva why…”

  19. Felicia
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 08:46:09

    This is a total money grab to me. I am halfway through this novel and nothing has happened! It is ridiculous to have 5 novels about 1 couple. It would be better if the supporting characters came to the forefront and their relationships were explored. The story is stagnant. Eva is still clingy and annoying. Gideon’s stalker tendencies have increased and he still won’t tell her what really happened to him. Total filler. I think I am done.

  20. Dawn
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 13:11:12

    I am not sure where the 5 novels is coming from but if that’s true then I may be done as well. With all of the delays this was a total let down. Im not sure I can take any more of the “oh my gosh” is this going to finally be the thing that breaks them apart or does more damage to these characters. if the last 2 books are just going to torture them and us to death, forget it. also, the part about her being nice to Brett and going places with him and putting herself in that position and saying she still gets turned on by him… I just don’t get, it doesn’t ring true to me based on the relationship she has laid out. its like screaming at the girl in the horror movie to not go into the basement. sorry Sylvia but I never felt that way with “Fifty and Ana” :(

  21. Debbie
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 14:15:50

    I pre-ordered “Bared to You” for my kindle last spring. I read it and enjoyed it. I then preordered “Reflected in You”. A couple of weeks before it was due out, I reread the first one, and decided to cancel my preorder and wait until “Entwined in You” was published to read all three together. When I read that there will now be FIVE books for this one story, I have to ask myself if I am willing to spend nearly $50.00 to find out what happens to Gideon and Eva?

    When all five have been released, I may try to pick them up at the UBS or the library, but I am not willing to spend that kind of money for what is essentially ONE book. I see more authors (or publishers) splitting books into two, three or more parts and selling them separately. I may pick up some at $2.99 each, but at $9.99 each, I will be passing on most of them.

    Up till this last series, Sylvia Day has always been an auto buy, but not any more. I buy (and read) about 500 books a year, mostly on my kindle. I think the publishers are hoping we will just keep hitting “BUY” without considering the consequences.

  22. Tori
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 15:50:03

    Interesting review, Kati. I enjoyed book one but book two read like a deeper examination of book one with no real advance in the relationship. I had wanted to see E & G work towards a better relationship, not merely pay lip service to it. I don’t even want to get into the character assignations that make me weep for the future of erotic romance. I have read other reviews of this of book and everyone’s differing reviews is quite interesting, Seems you will either love this book or hate it.

  23. Ann
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 16:49:27

    Well I loved the first two books. Thought they were well written, a really interesting premise for a couple from abused backgrounds. how do you deal with the guilt, the triggers etc. I thought it was authentic and I know something about that. Two deeply flawed people and how they could make it work and yes the sex scenes were off the charts. When the 3rd book’s release was delayed , I didn’t lose much sleep over it, but certainly my enthusiasm waned a bit and I was less excited fan girl on reading this book with the benefit of the wait! Which in hindsight from the publisher’s point of view might have been a marketing mistake. I did what Veronica above did and I ended up skimming through huge sections of the book, looking for something to actually happen. The first half of the book, seemed to consist of scenes of “I need you, I must have you, you complete me” yeah yeah we KNOW, get to some action, some drama! I also thought in the first half there was a lot of what seemed like clunky dialogue that seemed to just address the fans’ queries from the first two books. This was definitely filler and a rehash ( didn’t we already deal with the exes in books 1 and 2?)And yes it ended abruptly. I am not sure what the author’s motivations were for the 5 book extension. She says on her facebook page that it wasn’t financial, if it isn’t then maybe it is an ego thing, or like she can’t let go of this story herself or something but what ended up getting sacrificed was the series itself. One positive though for me, was my concerns that Gideon was going to to end up Christian Grey like – was relieved that while he is controlling, it didn’t venture into d&s, in fact I thought it actually eased back on that in this book! If I were the author I would be looking to get the rest of the series out asap before people do lose interest.

  24. Ann
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 17:05:23

    I should say as well, if this book had been any good, a 4th and 5th book would actually be a non-issue for me.

  25. GiGi
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 02:42:10

    Hi Kati,
    I read your review and I had a few comments to make and I hope that is ok with you. I have been following along with the series as I am sure many people have. My understanding from having viewed several websites and mainstream media is that Sylvia announced that the third installment of the Crossfire Series would not be the last because the storyline could not be tied up with a third book and also because of the public’s interest in the series.
    • I think you hit the nail on the head: Gideon and Eva’s relationship is extremely dysfunctional and as such, there would be no way that type of situation could be resolved in a short amount of time.
    • The series takes place over a matter of weeks, not months or years and as such the storyline simply couldn’t be rushed (not without making the story choppy or completely unbelievable).
    • I also agree that Gideon’s actions were questionable at times but after assessing the type of situation that Eva was in (without giving away too much detail for those who may not have read the previous two books); I question whether this character had any other recourse.
    • I suspect that it was the other characters in the storyline’s lack of actions that drove the Gideon character to act in such an extreme manner. One must remember that this character is also very, very insecure.
    • I believe that the next two books (the final two books in the series) will help to tie up loose ends and that the faithful readers will finally get the answers that they are so desperately looking to find.

    Thank you for taking the time to actually read the book before you wrote the review. As a fellow reader, I find it incredibly respectful. Thanks again.

  26. GiGi
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 02:57:47

    Hi Ann,
    I hope that it is ok that I am responding to a comment that you made. I agree that Penguin Publishers most definitely made huge marketing errors in how they handled the release date of the third installment of the book. I however don’t think that Sylvia Day had any control over that.

    I go under the assumption that once she hands that final manuscript over to her editors and it is approved, the marketing machine takes over and she doesn’t get much say in what happens next. I would think that if anything Sylvia Day would want to keep her readers happy and not alienate them or upset them by constantly changing the release dates.

    If you are upset with how the Publishers handled the situation you can Give Penguin Publishers a call and let them know that they may lose a customer in you.

    1. Penguin Publishers USA
    (800)526-0275
    2. Penguin Publishers Canada
    (800)399-6858

    I hope that helps.

    Sincerely,
    GiGi

  27. Summer
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 05:37:50

    This third installation is a waste of time.
    Apart from a few significant morsels thrown in for the fans of the series and perhaps to justify publishing this book, Sylvia Day does not take the reader, the story nor the characters here nor there. This book is nothing more but a concession to publishing economics – prolong the series and milk it for every cent its worth. And thats precisely what the reader gets, a barely there almost non-existent story stretched to thin in order to justify another two books in the series (of what was supposedly a three book series turned into a more lucrative five book series).

    It is sad when a talented writer such as Day puts out work that is such a filler that it does not even deserve the word mediocre.

    Very unsatisfying book. Stay away and probably wait for the fourth or fifth one.

  28. Ros
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 06:19:53

    According to the information on Sylvia Day’s FB page, the decision to extend the series beyond three books was made before the second one was published. That information needed to be included in the end matter of the second book, not merely on the author’s website. It also needed to be made clear in the blurb of the third book, so that people pre-ordering it knew the situation. It’s no good saying now that she tried to tell people, when clearly so many readers had no idea.

  29. Jo
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 12:07:19

    I am very disappointed with the book Entwined with you. After waiting for seven months for the third series to finally come out, I totally regretted that I purchased the book. It has so much fillers that the author Ms Day is obviously trying to unnecessarily extend the story. Readers are smart enough to know when they are being cheated. I bought the book in good faith but I felt cheated and disrespected. After waiting for almost 7 months, Ms day should have given Entwined with you a nice climax and ending. The third book did not show much progress in the story. It is stagnant. Ms Day, it is through readers that a book will be successful but if readers will continue to feel that they are being cheated, then maybe they will not bother to buy your 4th or 5th book. I am done with Crossfire series.

  30. Ann
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 16:00:13

    @GiGi: No problem at all GiGi. I am aware that the author doesn’t have any control over the release date and pricing and marketing etc, that is why I said from publisher’s point of view, I think the mistake was theirs. However fundamentally all those things are irrelevant, imo, if the quality of the book isn’t up to scratch, and that is the author’s fault . I re-read the first two books multiple times and I could barely even read this one once. Give readers a great story and they will get over the other stuff , I think.

  31. Nikki
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 22:26:59

    Disappointed with this book. Found myself skimming. Eva is getting on my nerves. The whole thing with the ex is rather annoying. What a tease.

  32. Dina
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 22:45:24

    Just finished Entwined with you, I can’t tell you how disappointed I was to find that it was not the last book. I have waited 7 months for the finish and now I have to wait for two more books. How long do we have to wait to wait to find out the end? I love Gideon and Eva but I don’t want to wait so long to see it through. Very disappointed with that.

  33. GiGi
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 23:10:11

    @Ros:

    Hi Ros,
    In response to your comment about Sylvia Day and her informing her fans about the release of further books; I read on her Fan Page: http://www.SylviaDay.com that she was going to be releasing another two books several months after I pre-ordered my book. I am not sure what she did with her other media outlets but it is clearly stated on her fan page.

    I know that she clearly stated that the third book may not be her last book because of the timeline of the story. There would be absolutely no way that someone could tie up all the loose ends in such a short amount of time (and expect the reader to buy that premise). The storyline progresses over a matter of weeks and not months or years.

    At the end of the day, you as the consumer have all the power. If you are unhappy about the situation you can contact Penguin Publishers (which I posted phonr numbers above) and let them know that they have lost a reader. When all is said and done, if you don’t buy, the Publisher will have nothing to sell.

  34. Lia
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 23:40:05

    @Zrinka:

    I’m getting a little tired of all of the series that have been coming out lately. The problem with series — at least from my own experience — is that I might really like an author’s style of writing but I won’t warm to the first book in the series. Which means I’m not going to buy the rest of the author’s books. Whereas, had she put out a different single title, I might be willing to give her a chance. I can only take so much of the same two characters engaging in the same types of pointless shenanigans before I throw up my hands and walk away. I mean, the intent is so obvious: get the reader to buy more books. It doesn’t feel organic to me. It feels contrived. :(

  35. Mam2e
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 01:24:37

    I loved the book .Honestly after Reflected I needed to see them have alone time and connect and they needed it too.It was also great to see that they have so much more in common with each other than hot sex and we got a glimpse into the HEA.I loved how Gideon allowed himself to be vulnerable with her and how they talk through issues this time around.

    The one thing that almost ruined my liking of Eva and the book to a certain extent was this attraction she has to Brett .I get that you can have an attraction to someone else while in love with another I just don’t get why she wants to be around him .I got to feeling that if Brett pushed she would cheat on Gideon and in fact my fear is that Sylvia is setting the stage for that .I get that Gideon also has the Corinne issue but he never felt a sexual buzz with her since Eva as far as we know.

    Eva’s I love you’s became less believable to me and I felt she wasn’t as committed as Gideon was.One of the amazing things about this couple is their mutual devotion ,obsession and captivation with each other especially sexually that leaves no room for anyone else and in this book Eva seems torn /confused.

    On my re-read I skipped all the Brett parts and found myself liking her again.

    The writing for me was beautiful.

  36. GiGi
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 02:28:46

    @Mam2e:

    Hi Mam2e,
    I hope that it is ok that I am responding to your post. I too loved the story. I think that Eva struggled with Gideon because she was so hurt and devastated by the fact that by all external appearances Gideon seemed to have returned to his old finance “Corinne”. Unbeknownst to Eva was Gideon’s extensive yet flawed plan to protect the one true woman he loved. Gideon used Eva’s insecurities against her to convince her and the authorities that they had broken up and Gideon returned to his old flame.

    I think that the Brett character was important to this entire scenario because the kiss that Eva and Brett shared in the last book, was also to Gideon’s benefit in trying to sell the idea that there would be no way that a man who had only known a woman for a scant few weeks, and had been unfaithful to him, on one occasion, would kill for her. That entire premise and concept would seem ludicrous to the untrained eye.

    I also think that given the circumstances laid out in the previous book Eva didn’t have a choice in kissing Brett. Brett saw her, chased her, cornered her, grabbed her and then kissed her. Given the circumstances I am not sure that she really had any choice in the matter. I think that if anything, that kiss was instrumental to Gideon realizing just how jealous and insecure Eva got around Corinne. Until then Gideon never really understood the level and depths of Eva’s jealousies and insecurities.

    The kiss between Eva and Brett was also good to the extent that Eva realized that although she felt some form of attraction for Brett, it didn’t even come close to comparing to the level of attraction and love that she has for Gideon. I don’t condone stepping out on a person when one is in a committed relationship. I can see where Eva was coming from, in that when Eva knew Brett in her younger days, she was one seriously self-destructive mess. She hadn’t begun to deal with the effects of her step-brother’s brutal tortures and repeated rapes. Given the fact that Eva had absolutely no self-esteem whatsoever, her relationship with Brett would never succeed.

    Overall I really liked the writing as well and I hope that with the advent of the next two books all of the loose ends will finally be tied up and all of the characters get their happily ever after. After everything everyone has been through, I think that they each deserve it.

  37. Mia
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 05:35:57

    When I found out that the crossfire series was to be extended I vaguely remembered, like @GiGi said she did warn us that there would be two more installments to the series. I believe and I’m sure other fans may agree, the wait for the next two books could be long and that is a major spirit dampener. When there is no hype, there is no interest and I hope Ms. Day has people around her reminding her of this.
    What I gathered from EWY was that Eva seemed more annoying than in the previous installments. The couple at least are growing sronger but so much seems to be happening so probably it would take one or two more books to set issues straight.
    EWY seemed to just be the book that is the beginning of the end, in my opinion, this is point whrn we begin to understand the crooks of the issue. Also, the sex in this installment seems to be the most that they’ve had so far, or maybe I have to re-read BTY again! I hope we really don’t have to wait too long for the other books, and I do hope there are no more abrupt endings.

  38. Mam2e
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 07:07:13

    @GIGI Thank you so much for your response and you’ve clarified a few things for me another perspective helps .I agree with all you said about the kiss in Reflected and I could also justify it because of Corinne and Gideons lack of understanding and great point about it shielding Gideon re investigation
    ***pls don’t read further if you don’t want spoilers***
    But I was talking less about the kiss in Reflected and more about the interaction between Brett and Eva in EWY and Eva’s inability to say NO to Brett ,thinking its okay to be friends with him and also letting him nuzzle her cheek in her apt.Brett has straight up said in explicit detail what he’d like to do with her and she still will meet with him in SD .This is what scares me because its a place which holds memories for them away from Gideon and he might catch her at a vulnerable moment then what ?

    It would devastate Gideon and herself if something did happen and I don’t see her as strong enough to resist based on the physical reaction she keeps having to Brett in EWYand her inability to be firm with him.I also got to thinking that she felt more for Brett all those years ago and never got to admit it to herself and maybe some of those emotions are resurfacing I don’t know .I just have a sick feeling and anxiety about the two of them alone in SD and I really miss the Eva I would have been certain about in the previous two books.

    Same as you I’m looking forward to the next books and the tying of strings.Sylvia is amazing that she can have one all knotted up over characters in a book she really knows how to bring them to life.

  39. Review: Entwined With You by Sylvia Day | Smexy Books
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:00:21

    […] Reviews Dear Author – B- Aestas Book Blog – 5/5 […]

  40. MW
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:10:31

    You are right on, Kati. You’re actually more forgiving than I am w/ regard to this book. It became glaringly obvious pretty quick that this was more of a money grab than an attempt to write a thoughtful story. A definite rush to get another book out there. There was no real plot. The sex was overdone and became redundant…I know it’s supposed to be hot, but when you have no plot line whatsoever and try to use the sex scenes to fill your pages, it becomes annoying. Compared to the first two books in the series, Entwined was boring and unfulfilling. Day should care more about the quality of her work and the dedication of her readers and less about rushing to get one more book on the shelf. The ending was a huge disappointment. Even shocking given the $ readers are paying for the eBook.

  41. Kelly
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 10:19:27

    I am so so disappointed with this book. The story as completely gone, it’s just a book about sex & even that’s lost it’s appeal now.

    I have been waiting for this book & kept seeing that date get pushed back, I would if preferred to wait if it meant the book had more structure to it.

    I will certainly not be buying the next one I’ve lost all interest in finding out what happens.

    Kelly

  42. GiGi
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 02:44:15

    @Mam2e:

    Hi Mam2e,
    I apologize; I thought you were talking about the previous kiss. Isn’t it funny, I didn’t even consider the kiss on the cheek other than a way to greet someone familiar, but I could how that would be creepy given the fact that Eva and Brett used to date (and the fact that Eva absolutely degraded herself during that time). I personally don’t think that Eva should have gone to the Vidal event, and from what was written, it was a complete and total utter disaster!

    As for San Diego I don’t actually know that Eva will make good on her words to meet up with Brett. It was my understanding that Eva was going to get Cary help by seeing Dr. Travis and that she was in need of some therapy time herself (because of everything that was going). I know that Eva also wanted to see her dad because everything was not really ok between the two of them. Eva had told her dad off about sleeping with her mother. Yes she apologized but I think that maybe she wants to make sure that everything is really ok between the two of them. I could be completely wrong here. It’s just my understanding thus far.

    I hope that Gideon goes along with Eva and Cary when they go to San Diego. I think that it would be beneficial on many levels. It would give Gideon peace of mind that Eva wouldn’t stray (not that I am saying that she would-I don’t think so), but Gideon can also keep an eye on Cary and help Eva with him if necessary. Finally I think that it might be a good opportunity for Gideon to spend some time with Eva’s dad and show him that even though he may have issues, he really does love Eva and will do everything in his power to make things right for them as a couple.

    Those are just my thoughts. What do you think?

  43. GiGi
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 02:50:40

    @Mia:

    Hi Mia,
    I am so glad someone else saw that as well. I can see why people might be a little upset about the release dates and the extension of the books. I guess for me I think that in the end it came down to the publishers decisions.

    I have also been thinking about everyone’s discussions about SD’s writing style. I found the writing lovely but what I would like to know is from those individuals who disliked the writing style; what do you think would have made the storyline flow better. How the writing could be improved. I am so glad that I have the opportunity to listen to so many different opinions. It really helps me to understand another person’s perspective. Thank you in advance everyone.

  44. NATBK4EVA
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 02:52:38

    I started losing interest in the second book but thought everything that was missing would be concluded in the third book. I was wrong!! The story was repetitive, boring, predictable and a waist of my time and money. At this point, I don’t care what happens to the main characters and will NOT be purchasing book 456789 or whatever. I’m done with “All my Drama”

  45. Sid
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 12:58:45

    Iv read all 3 books so far and i was abit dispointed with enwinded with u , not that i didnt enjoy it but i thought this was goin b the last in the series n i felt there was not enough of a story line . I will c the series to the end because im a big fan ,n i hope not to wait as long for the nxt book to come out

  46. Kathy
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 06:41:29

    I won’t be buying the next one I am so disappointed with having to wait again why do you leave so much time between books it is so frustrating and you forget what the story is about. I was so looking forward to the last book to finish the story but yet again you just leave us hanging I won’t be buying anymore of ms s days books and all my friends in work feel the same way as we have all been disappointed that we have no ending yet again .

  47. Rachel
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 08:44:51

    I really enjoyed all 3 of the books read each of them within a day and half, I’m glad book 4 and 5 are coming out I just hope it’s worth the wait. Well done Sylvia day you have done really well

  48. Eileen
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 11:47:44

    First of all I was really disappointed with the delay in this book’s release……I cannot imagine why it took so long, as there wasn’t much being added to the storyline at all. I totally agree that this book read like a filler book and certainly not what I expected or wanted from this author. I expected to have closure with this book as originally told and I was left really annoyed at the ending…..and as for the authors note at the end of the book….I found that insulting after being told that this would be a trilogy. Shame on the author and the editor.

  49. Simone
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 11:13:25

    Well now that I have the book I’m going to read it, but I won’t buy or read another until someone tells me it IS the last one and that it has a conclusion. Now it just feels like it’s going to drag on and on. I too was somewhat insulted by the lie. A trilogy is a serie of 3 not 5 or 6 or 7…..who knows where it will end.

  50. Julie
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 07:03:27

    I’ve just finished reading Entwined with you, and feel very disappointed that it was so short and no ending. I would like to know how long do we have to wait for the next 2 to be released. As Entwined with you should have been out at the end of December , but we didn’t get it till beginning of June. I hope I don’t have to wait that long for the next one. Still have to say I have enjoyed reading the story so far, and can’t wait for the next part.

  51. Gaynor
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 08:38:25

    I was very disappointed in this book. The final page just happened and from reading the reviews above I just found out that there might be another 2 to go. I agree with the consensus that the book was just a filler with no progress in the story at all. I think she really underestimated her readers.

  52. Very Annoyed!
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 11:34:56

    Very disappointed with the way EWY ended. I felt like she got to the end of the paragraph and said ok I’m done andthat was it!

    Also ery annoyed to find out now that there are still two more books, so here we go again another long wait for the next book.

    Have read so many good books in between these ones that are not a series and I think they are the type I’m going to stick too from now on. I’m over this bullshit of having to wait for the next book. I got my HEA when they got married on the beach thats where it should have ended but NO more money please…. Well not from me I am done.

  53. iona
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 10:17:24

    I expected more .. there was nothing new in this book nothing solved except that gideon seem to have recovered when I came to the end I kept on pressing my ipad to read more didnt like how it ended and have to wait probably till christmas to continue if I knew 2 more books are coming out I would have waited and wouldnt bother reading it now

  54. Lynn
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 10:37:30

    I wasnt happy with this last book. I feet very disappointed with the storyline it could have had more. I won’t be buying the next one . I feel like it was not worth the wait my money or my time.

  55. Lolly Kannau
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 06:09:31

    Definitely a real let down, I anticipated such high standards, cleared by whole day, opened my book and the next I know – I am skipping pages, cos its so boring and so not relevant.. Expected MORE and steamy erotica from Gideon and Eva.. more , just did not cut it for me..

  56. Becca
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 17:04:13

    I was disappointed when the release date was set back for book 3 but I went back and re-read 1 & 2 to refresh my memory. I was a little more disappointed that there wasn’t more story line ie Gideon’s nightmares etc but I read a lot of books anyway so 2 more being added to the series doesn’t bother me too much. I enjoy reading them, I just hope we won’t have to wait so long. What I would like to see in one of the next ones is Eva’s mum confronting Gideon’s about not believing his abuse and maybe it would go some way to helping her with her guilt.

  57. janeene
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 08:46:05

    I am in love with the cross fire series!!! A must read for all women and much better than the 50 shades! I can’t wait for the next one have finished the latest entwined with u! Actually I would love to think he is real!

  58. Emma Brown
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 05:12:23

    Absolutely loved it i couldn’t put it down and I can’t wait for the next one. I just hope we don’t have to wait another 7 months for the next one. The full series is amazing x

  59. Nikki
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 08:19:57

    I have loved this trilogy but was also very disapointed it ended so abruptly, and how long do we have to wait? I waited six months from the time reading the second one to the third and forgot what had happened. Also, for those of you whom haven’t read 50 shades, it is SO similar, minus the whips and chains. 50 Shades had nothing to do with Twilight????

  60. Susie
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 18:27:34

    Was very disappointed waited so long for part 3 and then the big letdown I find this series is being dragged out and not going anywhere and now she is bringing in all these new plots you know the Russian mob Corines husband the sex tape Cary’s girlfriends supposed pregnancy
    Now it looks like the story is moving to California. I find the story line is all over the place.
    At least Fifty Shades had a start and a finish.I think S Day has found herself a cash cow and I don’t see an end to it I am done with this series

  61. natalie howes
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 17:51:06

    i loved reading these books….i love that there is going to be two more because i felt a little bit sad when i thought there was only 3…..i love how gideon loves eva and how stalker he is to her…..he loves her and wants to protect her and being in the public eye his trying to do that…..i hope she gets pregnant and they live happily ever after could you imagon if she run off with brett…..omg my heart would break…..i cant put these books down when im reading them iv read them twice incase i missed somthing the 1st time…..nothing but <3 for the whole crossfire series so far :) x

%d bloggers like this: