Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

Dear Ms. Meyer:


This was a greatly anticipated book. Twilight, the prequel, was my 2005 book of the year. New Moon, however delightful it was, seemed to throw all of the faults of Bella in sharp relief. You portrayed her, either intentionally or not, as a selfish user who seemed to only be able to exist with the help of a man in her life. It seemed ironic that her ability to cope with life so closely paralleled her mother’s which Bella, and you, appear to decry.

new moonThe story opens with Bella celebrating her birthday with the Cullens, a family of vampires. Edward Cullen, a perpetual 17 years of age, is Bella’s soul mate. He is a vampire, though, and while Bella longs to be one, Edward refuses to change her as he believes it would rob her of her soul. During the party, Bella cuts a finger on wrapping paper. The smell of her fresh blood is too much and Edward is forced to shield her from family members. This event causes Edward to believe that his presence does Bella more harm than good. In true romance fashion, Edward paternalistically decides that removal of his presence from Bella’s is the only answer to keeping Bella alive.

Bella is destroyed. She sinks into a deep depression and is only able to rise from it with the help of of Jacob Black, whom Bella terms a good friend. She understands that she is using Jacob but cannot seem to help herself. She revels in the warmth and goodness Jacob exudes. She convinces herself that this is what Jacob wants even knowing that Jacob’s feelings toward her run so much deeper. Jacob Black is young member of a local Native American tribe. I am not giving anything away (at least it was included in the Booklist review) when I say that Jacob Black’s tribe has ties with werewolves. Unlike the fully developed vampire mythos, the world building for the werewolves is sophmoric at best. There is no explanation as to why there are no old werewolves around, how they change (I think it is blood related), whether they have special needs, and so on.

Bella’s climb from the pit is also marked by a desperate recklessness. She engages in increasingly reckless acts because she hears Edward’s voice when she does so. The origin of the voice is unclear. I wasn’t sure whether this part of the book was to depict teenage suicidal ideation, the use of drugs, or was simply an unsure narrator trying to be emotive. It didn’t appear organic to Bella’s previous characterizations. You had portrayed her as steady, a bit emotional, but steady. I couldn’t help but wonder if this part of the plot was an attempt to shoehorn Edward into a story when you knew so many of your fans loved him?

You refer the Romeo and Juliet theme with the idea that Edward and Bella are star crossed lovers and that perhaps in the retelling Romeo should return to Rosalind and Juliet should get on with her life with Paris. Maybe if that was the route you were truly going to take, I wouldn’t feel so disappointed. But the book takes a sharp turn when Edward reappears toward the latter quarter of the book. The ending suspense plot seemed rushed and tacked on, as if someone reminded you that the success of the first book rode on the back of the romance of Edward and Bella. It was really as if there were two books, or two stories, included in New Moon and neither of them were finished.

For all my disappointment, New Moon zips by and leaves me wanting more. It is engaging and unique but flawed. It’s not one that I will be re-reading anytime soon. B- for New Moon.

Best regards,

Jane

AmazonBNSonyKobo

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

628 Comments

  1. Kelsey
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 14:01:51

    Lucy,

    ur welcome!!! im glad i made her happy…

    tiff,

    idk if i even got it! lol i had the volume turned off so… lol i’ll have to check.

    bye!!!

    kelsey

  2. Kelsey
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 14:14:29

    Tiff,

    uhm i didnt even get anything lol it must not have come thru…. so it doesnt even mater lol

    Lucy,

    no problem! im glad i made her happy…

    kelsey

  3. lucy
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 14:43:52

    Guys
    u no the film there making of Twilight?
    i watched a clip of it on the computer it looks fab, Bella is dead pretty but Jacob and Edward aren’t to bad!
    is it out over there yet?
    Dear Tiffanie and Kelsey
    do u guys Know each other?
    well see ya

    lucy

  4. Kelsey
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 17:46:47

    what what what??!!!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!!!!!!???????????? WHAT???!!! WHERE DID U FIND THAT CLIP??!!!!!!!!??????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and yess we know eachother thru this site lol…. give me the url!!! i needdd to see it!!!!!11

    kelsey loller

  5. lucy
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 10:53:51

    guys,
    u know at the end of Eclipse do Bella sand Edward get back together. Cas i was on this other website and someone was saying that Bella moved away from Edward. Is that the truth because i cant get it out of my head and i just wonder…lol.. nah never goin happen.

    Kelsey, i tried to get on the website with the clips and videos but i fogot it.
    i keep trying to get on. SORRY.Please fogive me

    lucy

  6. Kelsey
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 10:05:20

    lucy

    hey! and thats ok about the website… i thought this site had closed down or something i couldnt get on yesterday…….. hmmmm lol

    well tty!!!

  7. lucy
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 13:04:40

    dear Kelsey
    … i couldn’t get on yesterday hmmm….lol
    well see ya

    lucy

  8. lucy
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 13:07:47

    Kelsey, i replied your message n the Eclipse website
    write when you have read it!(please)
    lucy

  9. Kelsey
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 13:33:28

    lucy

    yea i saw it and i emailed u too!!! lol so yea i guess i’ll ttyl

    kelsey

  10. lucy
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 10:33:48

    dear Kelsey,

    its out!Eclipse is out over here and i bought it!!!!!!!
    im so glad!i was just looking and there it was.

    well see ya got a book to read

    lucy

  11. Kelsey
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 13:27:49

    Lucy,

    YAY!!! IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wooo lol well have fun reading it!!!!!!

    kelsey

  12. lucy
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 10:43:18

    thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i am reading it non stop (except from now) well ive had a really bad(dull)day

    see ya

    lucy

  13. Kelsey
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 14:33:23

    lol that sucksabout ur day… enjoy reading!!!

    ttyl!!!

    kelsey

  14. lucy
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 02:12:48

    thanks!! i just finished reading it!!
    It was one great book!

    lucy

  15. Tiffanie
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 09:58:13

    lucy,

    now you have to tell us all of your opinions!!! wut did you think??? be specific!!!
    ttyl
    xoxo
    luv yas
    ~Tiffanie~
    :)

  16. lucy
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 12:54:45

    Dear tiffanie
    yeah it was really good. my fav bit was when rosalie was telling Bella about when she was human.but like Breanna was saying on the Eclipse website something excited should have happed towards the end.
    Dear Kelsey,

    i got you email, so i sent u one back have u got it?
    well see ya

    lucy

  17. Kelsey
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 15:12:23

    Lucy

    totally agree with you and breanna! lol i sent u an email.

    <3 always

    kelsey

  18. lucy
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 10:16:02

    Kelsey i sent u one back. Please email me back!! i can’t wait for u to tell me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(did u get my email?)

    well see ya

    lucy

  19. Kelsey
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 19:46:01

    lol yes lucy,

    i did get your email. lol and i answered u back so hurry up and replyyyy!!

    kay <3 always xoxo

    kelsey

  20. lucy
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 10:18:15

    yeah i got it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    lucy

  21. missy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 14:08:03

    Sorry, i dont feel right telling you. I am very polite and i thing its not very polite in my religon.

  22. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 14:26:02

    thats ok Missy, and whats not polite, if u dont mind asking? putting ur email online?

  23. lucy
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 13:40:34

    hmmm yeah Missy whys it not polite
    hey kelsey did u get my emails?
    lucy

  24. lucy
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 14:51:15

    hey kels
    my mums reading twilight!!!!
    how weird!!
    lucy

  25. Kelsey
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 16:42:23

    OOOOOOH THAT MAKES ME HAPPY it cant just be kids reading them ya know? its gotta be adults too, bc they know more ppl (in some cercumstances) and that means that they can pass the word on right? right.

    kelsey

  26. lucy
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 13:36:56

    lol
    lol

  27. Jane
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:06:14

    All Meyer related threads will be closed tonight at midnight. CST.

  28. lucy
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 15:23:29

    ahh why??

%d bloggers like this: