Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW & Giveaway: Marry Me by Jo Goodman

Goodman is a very favorite author of mine. I know she’s not an author for every reader, but I look forward to each one of her books. Goodman is not much for self promotion and so she sent Robin (aka Janet) 8 ARCs and 8 cover flats for her December release, Marry Me, and asked if we wanted to give them away. An opportunity to expose new readers to a favorite author is one of the best things about running Dear Author. Robin and I roped in another reader to give us a review because we thought DA would like a fresh perspective. Sonoma Lass agreed to perform this task for us and here is her review. If you want a copy of Goodman’s book, Marry Me, leave us a comment and let us know why this book interests you.

****

Dear Ms. Goodman,

It was nice to revisit Reidsville, Colorado and its colorful cast of supporting characters, now rounded out by the addition of Cole Monroe, a handsome and single young doctor, and his younger sister Whitley. (Marry Me is set in the same frontier community as Goodman’s previous book, Never Love A Lawman.)   I can’t get enough of romances in American historical settings.

Marry Me by Jo GoodmanIt is challenging to write about this book without spoilers; you’ve written a story with some pretty big surprises, and I want every reader to experience them as I did, totally without warning.   So here is what I think I can safely say.

First, I really like both the hero and the heroine. Cole is intelligent and capable, committed to both the welfare of his patients and the integrity of his profession.   Rhyne is at a huge disadvantage dealing with him, in terms of education, sophistication, socio-economic class and experience. But he sees this and works to make her feel comfortable, encouraging her to ask questions and recognizing her intellect and potential. He admires her strength and bravery; in turn, she comes to see ways in which she can act as his equal, offering him help and support that eventually develop into a believable partnership.

Rhyne has many obstacles to overcome. Not only does she feel inferior to and unworthy of Cole in some ways, she also has experiences in her past that have put her out of touch with her femininity, her sexuality, even her identity.   (You handle these issues with sensitivy and insight.) It easy for her to admire, respect and value Cole; the challenge is for her to value herself enough to feel like a worthy partner for him.

Another thing that really worked for me in this book was the balance between plot and character.   The first three-quarters of the book is devoted to the development of Cole and Rhyne’s relationship, which mostly occurs in the context of “everyday” interactions and events.   Once they have established a foundation of loving trust, the action picks up to encompass more external obstacles, providing the characters with a challenge to overcome together. As a reader, I appreciate this. It is easier for me to accept a happy ending when I’ve seen the hero and heroine functioning as a couple. Plus it allows me to enjoy them doing so in more than just a brief epilogue.

As usual, you write interesting and unique minor characters. It’s fun to see the couples from the earlier book reappear as integral to the story, rather than as “walk-on” figures.   The Western setting is done well. I like how you evoke and develop the feeling of a small frontier town and the values and priorities that predominate when people are interdependent.

I fully enjoyed the length of this book. You took time to tell the story and develop the characters, and I never felt rushed or sensed a short-cut.   The end of the book was a little odd for me; I felt that you could have ended it in several places, and a couple of times I was actually surprised that the story wasn’t over.   But each of those final scenes tied up another loose end, so while I would gladly read more stories set in Reidsville, I won’t feel that there’s unfinished business if you don’t return there.

Looking back, I see that this review is very serious in tone. That’s because this booked awed me, but I don’t want to give the impression that there’s no humor in the book. On the contrary, there are some delightfully humorous moments in the book, along with some that are tender and some that are touching. My emotional responses to this book really ran the gamut, with the notable exception of never being angry or disappointed with the central characters. Not that they were perfect, but they acted in character and with a level of nobility of spirit that I truly appreciate in romance heroes of both genders.

Grade: A

~Sonoma Lass

Book Link | Kindle | Amazon | nook | BN | Borders
| Sony| Kobo Books

Guest Reviewer

149 Comments

  1. ka
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 04:15:19

    Thanks DA for exposing me to your favorite author and another reviewer (although I pop over to her site occassionally). I appreciate SonomaLass’ thoughtful review.

    The cover on this book is gorgeous!

  2. Nadia Lee
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 04:25:25

    If you don’t mind intl entries, I’d love to get a chance to try Jo Goodman’s book. So many people seem to like her writing, and I’ve never had a chance to try her. :-)

  3. Babs
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 04:33:38

    Oh my God! NEVER LOVE A LAWMAN is one of my favorite books. Seriously. Can’t wait to read this one.

  4. Merrian
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 04:40:39

    I am a Jo Goodman fangrrl and loved ‘Never Love a Lawman’ so if you are accepting international entries I would love to get a copy of this book.

  5. Leslee
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:16:49

    What a great review! I believe I read one of her books in the past. I remember it as being quite good, keeper shelf good. But it was also a time when I was moving away from historicals and switching to paranormal and contemporary romance. So I think I lost her in the switch over. I do still read an occasional historical, mostly Elizabeth Hoyt. I would dearly love the chance to get reaquainted with Ms. Goodman’s work and hopefully find a new author to gloom onto! Can’t ever have too many of those. :)

  6. Tweets that mention REVIEW & Giveaway: Marry Me by Jo Goodman | Dear Author -- Topsy.com
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:31:35

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Danielle James , dearauthor. dearauthor said: NewPost: REVIEW & Giveaway: Marry Me by Jo Goodman http://bit.ly/cnAjSp [...]

  7. Ell
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:38:44

    Like I said in the last giveaway, I love all the raves! Plus, well, they sound like good folks. I like this.

  8. Marsha
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:39:14

    I adore Jo Goodman’s books. Adore, adore, adore. I learned about here right here at DA just a couple years ago and have been rationing her backlist so that I can make it last longer.

    I’d love to read this one – I don’t have a lot of experience with books set in American history. The opportunity to rectify the situation? I’ll take it!

  9. Carolyn
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 05:54:22

    I’ve read a couple of Jo Goodman’s historicals (thanks to reviews here on DA) and liked them and I have ‘Never Love A Lawman’ in my TBR pile.

    Wouldn’t it be neat to read both these books back to back? :-)

    Win or not, I’ll be getting this one. Thank you for the great review.

  10. [email protected]
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:06:37

    I love Jo Goodman — she’s an autobuy for me. The cover of this book is beautiful.

    Thanks for the review, I read Never Love A Lawman and loved it!

  11. FD
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:11:29

    Because I’m a huge sucker for westerns and I adored Never Love A Lawman. (Also international so if not A-ok, please ignore the entry. Comment still stands though!)

  12. KC
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:11:58

    I really liked Never Love a Lawman, so I’m excited to see this one available soon! I’ve read a couple of her other books and have quite a few in my TBR stacks. I think she writes really complex characters, the heroes especially. Thanks for the opportunity!

  13. ms bookjunkie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:16:52

    I’ve never read a Jo Goodman book and SonomaLass makes it sound very intriguing…so count me in on the giveaway, please!

  14. Sabrina
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:19:53

    Is this a stand alone book or do I need to read the previous one first?
    I really liked the review, not enough info to spoil but just enough to grab my attention! Tired of paranormals, would love to find a good historical again!

  15. cead
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:20:46

    Oh, how I love Jo Goodman. I especially love how her female characters are allowed to be complex and have problems; too often the heroine is sweetness and light personified opposite a dark, tormented hero, and I get a bit sick of that. Goodman’s characters are always complex and interesting.

  16. Renda
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:23:11

    Never have been able to get into this period of time in historicals.
    Would love to break that trend with this one.
    Thanks for the review. I enjoyed reading it.

  17. Sally Wilburn
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:36:32

    Never Love a Lawman was my number one book for that year. I love the opening scene. Can’t wait to read this book.

  18. Susan Laura
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:44:58

    Never Love A Lawman is a wonderful book and I hated to see it end! I have been looking forward to her latest story for quite some time now.

  19. Ellen
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:47:41

    I used to read Goodman about 12 years ago…not sure why I got away from her books. Would love to try this new one, especially as it’s refreshing to hear about two characters who have a more substantial conflict than that artifical “I hate you, you arrogant s.o.b.”
    Good review.

  20. Jennifer Estep
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:06:18

    I’m a sucker for westerns, and I really enjoyed Never Love a Lawman, so I’ve been looking forward to Marry Me.

  21. Pat
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:13:30

    Thanks for the review -’ it makes me long to read the book. But then, I love all Jo Goodman’s books. She writes such admirable heroes.

  22. Leigh
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:18:22

    I have never read one of her books but I would love to do so.

  23. Katherine
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:18:52

    A new author to discover? Yes please!
    I have not heard of Ms. Goodman and am just getting into Western romances. I would love to read this please. I can promise that if I enjoy this book (and I’m sure I will) I will then proceed to devour her back catalogue.

  24. Pam Keener
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:26:40

    Jo Goodman is a new to me author. I love the premise of this book.
    Love & Hugs,
    Pam

  25. Host
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:26:43

    I would realy like to try Jo Goodman's book. Many people like her writing but I have never had a chance read her stories.
    Thaks for the giveaway!

  26. Andrea
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:28:12

    Yay! Great review. So glad to see that so many others love and appreciate Jo’s work. :)

  27. Patti Bonk
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:41:05

    I love Jo Goodman and loved Never Love a Lawman. I would love to receive a copy of this book!

  28. Mary D
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:48:20

    All Goodman books I read so far are above average, and some are great, so I’d really like to get this new one, especially as it is graded A ;-)

  29. jayhjay
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:49:55

    Oh, I would love this. I love american historicals!

  30. Eliza Evans
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:20:52

    Please throw my name into the hat! I’ve never read anything by Ms. Goodman but I definitely want to.

  31. Hilcia
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:22:25

    I loved Never Love a Lawman when I read it last year, and have been looking forward to returning to Reidsville by reading Marry Me. Thank you for the review and the giveaway.

  32. Laylah
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:27:59

    I absolutely adore her work.
    My all-time favorite historical romance is hers, ‘My Reckless Heart’. She’s one of not many authors who can make me restless, looking forward to her new book to come out.

  33. CupK8
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:36:07

    So much mystery in this review! Which means, of course, that this book is being added to my TBR.

  34. Hannah
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:47:51

    I enjoy historical western romances and so few are published that Marry Me is definitely on my to-read list.

  35. Frannie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:48:32

    I too am a devoted fan of Goodman’s. I love the complexity of the plots and characters, the pacing, the development of the relationships, but a standout for me is always the witty dialogue. I thought Never Love a Lawman was brilliant. I’d love an ARC of the new release, but will be watching the ebook sites like a hawk waiting for it to arrive. And if the paper version is available sooner, I’ll jettison all my “green” principles and buy that.

  36. kathybaug
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:52:15

    Jo Goodman has been sort of hit-miss for me, not sure why, but I would love to give it another shot. Please enter me. Thanks!

  37. ~ames~
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 08:57:26

    I really enjoy Jo’s writing and this book sounds great. Thanks for the excellent non-spoilery review!

  38. Emily
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:16:29

    I’ve been looking forward to this book ever since it was announced. If I don’t get a copy you can bet I’ll be at Borders on December 7 to buy my own!

  39. srs
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:25:38

    I have mixed feelings about Jo Goodman’s books and would love a chance to try this one. I read one of her early books a couple of years ago and found it way too melodramatic and rapey for me, but picked up Never Love a Lawman based on this blog’s recommendation and liked it a lot. I’m also eager to read a non-England/Regency historical.

  40. Scorpio M.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:27:34

    I cut my romance reading teeth on Jo Goodman books. The Marshall Brothers, Dennehy Sisters series & Thorne Trilogy are all on my keeper shelf.

    JG’s writing has depth. I’d love to read her latest.

  41. Joy
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:38:50

    Oooh, I love Goodman!

    Is this nice and angsty with a walking wounded heroine? Because I love me those of hers. The characters in _Never Love a Lawman_ weren’t quite tortured enough for me…

  42. Susan
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:41:26

    I love Jo Goodman and have been eagerly awaiting this book.

  43. LSUReader
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:52:42

    I love character-driven books. Thanks for the opportunity to win this one.

  44. LibrarianLizy
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:53:56

    I’ve never read anything by Jo Goodman, but I love anything with doctors in it and I’m interested in reading more American historicals. This sounds like a good book to start with.

  45. Ellen
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:55:04

    Never Love A Lawman was one of my favorite discoveries of last year. It was so smart and sweet and funny all at the same time. I’d love a chance to win a copy of Marry Me!

  46. JessicaMcG
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:57:21

    I haven’t read a Goodman book in a while and would love to give this one a try. I think I might look up the previous one as well.

  47. Dana S
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:10:39

    I would love to win this book. Jo Goodman is one my favorite authors, and I have a soft spot for her westerns.

  48. CrystalGB
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:13:26

    Marry Me sounds great. I love Jo Goodman’s books.

  49. Janet P.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:16:24

    oooh – more books for my wishlist. Sounds like a very intriguing author and Never Love a Lawman as an awesome Kindle price.

  50. Selene
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:18:12

    I really like some of Goodman’s books (like “If his kiss is wicked”), but several others I’ve tried haven’t been my cup of tea at all because of the lack of conflict. They’ve been more gradual falling-in-love stories, without there really being much to keep the would-be couple apart.

    Where might this book fall on that scale?

  51. SonomaLass
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:18:35

    @Sabrina: While the characters from Never Love a Lawman are in this book (it takes place right after), I don’t think you have to read NLAL first to appreciate Marry Me. The main character, Cole, is new to town, so you’d be sharing his perspective. But this book is spoilery for the first one, so if you plan to read both, I’d suggest reading them in order.

    @cead: Rhyne, the heroine, is definitely complex and interesting. If anything, the hero is “sweetness and light,” although he’s not exactly perfect.

    Thanks, all, for the compliments on the review. It was terrific of Jane to “rope” (haha, get it, Western pun?) me into this review. I loved this book so much that I really appreciate having a wider audience than my little blog gets for this review. It’s great to see the Jo Goodman love out there, and also to see readers thinking of trying her with this book.

  52. MarieC
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:18:47

    I’ve read and loved her Compass Club series, but have not delved in to her historical westerns.

    Based on all the comments about Never Love a Lawman, I may have to.

  53. Leslie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:28:03

    Wonderful review! Jo Goodman isn’t a new author to me, I’ve been reading and loving her books for years. I’m always surprised at how many readers haven’t read her.

    I’ve got Marry Me on my list because it’s a Goodman and a western. Two very good reasons to read it!

  54. Karen
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:28:39

    I haven’t ever read a book of hers, but would like to try one. (My mother went to college in South Carolina with a Jo Goodman and I will admit to wondering every so often if it is the same Jo Goodman and thinking I should buy a book just in case she is the same person…)

  55. Allison
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:36:04

    I’ll try my luck, would love to win a copy. Thanks for the review! Now I’m off to surf for more little tidbits of this story.

  56. Pam P
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:40:54

    I discovered Jo Goodman just a few years ago and she fast became a favorite author. I like her complex characters and that she takes the time to build a relationship, the slower pace doesn’t bother me at all, makes it more believable. I don’t often read this particular time period, but loved Never Love a Lawman, so this one is right top of my wishlist. Great review, I like her for all the reasons you mention.

  57. Castiron
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:49:53

    I want to read this to see just how bad a mismatch the contents are to the cover; that cover is lovely but does not say “historical Western U.S. romance” to me at all. It sounds like a really interesting read, though.

  58. willaful
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:52:04

    I didn’t love Never Love a Lawman, but Goodman is one of my absolute favs so of course I will read this. And the town had a lot of potential, so I hope I will like this one a lot more.

  59. SonomaLass
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:52:21

    @ka: It is a pretty cover; I just wish it wasn’t so generic. It doesn’t say “Western” to me at all, and I worry that readers will pass it by. Plus it’s way too much like this Mary Jo Putney classic: http://www.maryjoputney.com/barteredbridemore.htm

    @Karen: Goodman is a pseudonym, so I’m pretty sure she’s not your mom’s classmate. But I hope you try her books anyway!

    @Selene: Without spoilers, the main thing keeping this couple apart is the heroine’s inability to see herself as a worthy partner for this terrific guy. He really has to work on her, and she has to rise in her own estimation and come to see how they complement each other, as well as learning to trust him completely. That takes more than 300 pages, and it may be too slow for some readers. For me it was wonderful to see real internal obstacles handled with such care, and to be able to see Rhyne’s growth as she overcame…stuff.

  60. Debra
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:53:50

    I can’t wait to read this book!!!!! It sounds wonderfull!!

  61. Jennie M.G.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:56:37

    I haven’t read anything by Jo Goodman, but would love to. The story sounds like one I would love.

  62. Kristal
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:00:38

    I love Jo Goodman, and look forward to reading this book. It’s on my “buy as soon as released” list.

  63. lada
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:03:14

    Jo Goodman has long been a favorite of mine and I’ve never understood why she seems to remain underappreciated. I think readers who rave about authors like Elizabeth Hoyt, Joanna Bourne, and Meredith Duran would find her equally appealing.

    I’ll be reading this book whether I win a copy or not and hope Sonoma Lass’s great review will attract more readers to this wonderful author.

  64. Cybercliper
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:04:35

    I also love American historicals and picked up Never Love a Lawman after one of my favorite bloggers wrote a glowing review on it. That was my first introduction to Jo Goodman and I love it!

  65. Valerie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:07:51

    Looks like a great read and I do like a character driven book.

    I don’t think I’ve read a Goodman book, I need to look on my shelves to see if I have one.

    Valerie
    in Germany

  66. LoriK
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:13:32

    I would love a copy of Marry Me. I love a good American historical and I’ve been looking forward to this one since I read Never Love A Lawman.

  67. Marie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:36:04

    Never read anything by Jo Goodman, but this sounds like a good place to start, so count me in! It’s been awhile since I’ve read any historical romances in the American West, so this will go on my wishlist anyway (along with Never Love a Lawman).

  68. Billie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:42:06

    I love Jo Goodman. She’s never written a
    bad book.

  69. Sandra
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:46:18

    It’s great to see Jo Goodman get some attention. “Never love a Lawman” was good, but I liked “The Price of Desire” even more.

  70. Michelle Butler
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:47:07

    I am still grateful that this site turned me onto Jo Goodman. She has a unique writing and storytelling style. Add the fact that there is still such a lack of meaty western or American-set historicals right now, and I can’t wait to read Marry me. (Title makes me think of the fun song out right now with that title.)

  71. K
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:50:20

    Thanks for the review! Part of what I like about reading reviews on DA is their content, and part is simply their bringing books to my attention that I didn’t know were coming out. Thanks for the giveaway, too, though I just preordered the book so there’s no need to enter me!

  72. Jenny E.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:52:18

    So excited about this book! Jo Goodman is one of my favorite authors. I love western historicals since they often show women carving interesting lives for themselves in ways that aren’t possible in Regency stories.

  73. Katrina
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:56:29

    I’ve heard loads of great things about Never Love a Lawman and would love the chance to read this new novel.

    The thing that interests me the most is that Sonoma Lass said there’s a big difference between the hero and heroine in terms of class, education, etc. I always find it interesting to watch characters try to navigate that.

    Thanks for the opportunity!

  74. cheryl c.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:57:19

    Great review! I had a feeling that MARRY ME was going to be another winner for Jo. NEVER LOVE A LAWMAN was one of my top reads for 2009, so I am eager to revisit the western town of Reidsville.

  75. Chrizette
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:02:22

    I hope international entries are allowed as I would love to read one of her books – everyone seems to rave about them!

    Chrizette

  76. ClaudiGC
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:09:31

    I loved Never Love A Lawman! I had absolutley forgotten that there was a next book coming out this fall! *shame on me*
    There are so few good western romances out these days that you just have to get hold of this one!

  77. Robin
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:14:03

  78. Julie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:16:18

    I’m a sucker for well-reviewed books, and this one gets an A and the review intrigues me. Thanks for the chance to win!

  79. Jennifer B
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:17:36

    Jo Goodman’s Never Love A Lawman sits on my keeper shelf–one of maybe a dozen books. She ranks! A new release is happy, happy news.

  80. Bonnie L.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:18:59

    Time spent with a Jo Goodman books is never time wasted. Free books, and the people who make them possible, rock!

  81. Kim
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:24:50

    I haven’t read this author yet, so please enter me in the drawing.

  82. cassie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:33:46

    I would love to try this author! Anyone who gets an “A” on Dear Author is worth checking out. Thanks for the chance to win a book!

  83. Rebecca Ballow
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:33:53

    I have read a few Jo Goodman and always liked how the characters acknowledged their feelings for each other early on and then work to solve a problem together. I haven’t read Never Love a Lawman but love American historical novels and will definately check it out!

  84. lakaribane
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 12:43:31

    I’ve loved Jo Goodman since the Compass Club and, though I haven’t read every one of them, I really loved If His Kiss is Wicked. I don’t know why she’s not more popular, she is a fantastic writer.

    So, yes, I want a chance at her latest book, LOL!

  85. LauraB
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:05:12

    ?While Jo Goodman is an auto-buy for me, I am looking forward to this book now thanks to Sonoma Lass’s review. I am in particular interested in the class/value conflict she picked up on. The need to feel worthy of love is a theme Jo Goodman addresses really well.

  86. LoriA
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:08:49

    Somehow, Jo Goodman escaped my radar early on, but I’ve seen some very tempting recommendations for her work. I am encouraged to give her a try now. If I win the book, I think I’d have to bump it up my overtowering TBR … mountain. ;-)

  87. Sharon M
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:09:29

    I loved NEVER LOVE A LAWMAN. I thought the story was very well developed and written. I’m looking forward to another book in the same setting.

  88. Estara
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:31:51

    Oh, I really really loved Never love a Lawman. So nice to hear there’s another novel in that setting. I’ll definitely get the ebook myself, so please don’t enter me for this drawing.

  89. Karenmc
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:36:52

    Goodman writes intriguing characters and wonderful stories. I hope oodles of readers try her books.

  90. E.D. Walker
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:54:23

    I love Western settings and this book sounds great. :)

  91. Goldie Hale
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:56:51

    I always read and keep Jo Goodman’s books. One of my favorite series was North, South, East and West.

  92. Phyllis
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:56:51

    Ooooh! It’s on my wishlist, but I’d love an early copy!

    “Lawman” was one of my favorite books of last year. I’m not a huge fan of westerns, but Jo Goodman really sells me on them :)

  93. Lori Ann
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:59:04

    I have read two Jo Goodman books: If His Kiss Is Wicked and The Price of Desire. I loved them both, and I would love the chance to read another book by her. I think she is a great storyteller, and this review makes me excited to read Marry Me.

  94. Ridley
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:21:28

    I didn’t love the one Goodman I read, Never Love a Lawman, but I do love western romance and the book wasn’t so bad I wouldn’t try the author again, so a free copy might change my mind on this author.

    The A rating here seems a bit inflated, though. Is this really among the best of the best romance novels ever written? Completely and utterly flawless? Containing characters made so completely lifelike that you will never forget them, ever?

    Compared against the other book of hers that I read, I have a hard time believing the above.

  95. Carin
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:28:21

    I really enjoyed Never Love A Lawman. When I saw the header on the review I was hoping for the same town again! I’d love a copy.

  96. orannia
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:31:10

    Not only does she feel inferior to and unworthy of Cole in some ways, she also has experiences in her past that have put her out of touch with her femininity, her sexuality, even her identity. (You handle these issues with sensitivy and insight.)

    This really intrigues me…and I do like the setting and the sound of the developing relationship. Thank you Sonoma Lass!

  97. Anne
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:31:25

    Oh, I love me some Jo Goodman. I too enjoy American historicals, and I’d love to read Goodman’s latest. I’d love to win a copy.

  98. orannia
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:33:41

    Forgot to say – please don’t include me in the giveaway. I just checked and my library has Never Love a Lawman AND Marry Me (I *heart* my library) so I would rather someone else has the opportunity to win :)

    I’ll start with Never Love a Lawman I think, as I know the DA review of that intrigued me :)

  99. Pat T
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:35:31

    I adore Jo Goodman’s books. I scoured the web until I found each copy of the Delaney sisters books. American Western historicals are so scarce these days that I treasure each one she writes.

  100. alicet
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:54:31

    Please include me in the drawing for Jo Goodman’s book. I glommed her backlist last year and enjoyed the Compass series and the Dennehy sisters series. She writes great novels that sometimes deal with dark and serious issues so that could turn off some readers.

  101. Jen J
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 15:01:56

    I agree with Sonoma Lass and even did a double take when I saw the cover, thinking it was MJ Putney's Bartered Bride. I haven’t tried Jo Goodman yet, with my book budget I have to keep a short list that doesn’t leave a lot of room for trying ‘new’ authors, but I’ve been tempted. Although I haven’t read too many Westerns that I loved (I think Harper’s Bride was the last one I read and it was really good) I do find the period fascinating – there’s so much potential and so many different elements to play with.

  102. Colleen M.
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 15:48:31

    Jo Goodman is one of my go to authors for Historical Westerns and I’d love to be included in the drawing.
    Colleen M

  103. RRRJessica
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 16:02:23

    Wonderful review! I am so glad it didn’t spoil the book, but actually made me that much more excited for it to appear on my Kindle on the morning of Dec 1. It will be a terrific first night of Hanukkah present!

    *no need to enter me in the contest

  104. SonomaLass
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 16:18:51

    @Ridley: Yes, it was an A read for me. It was 90% or more successful in meeting my highest expectations for a romance novel. I’m a teacher, so that’s how I grade. It definitely meets the DA definition of an A book: I would cry if someone took it from my library and would need lots of chocolate to console me. I’ve read it three times now. Obviously for someone who doesn’t like Goodman’s other books, that’s less likely to be the case.

  105. Shannon
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 16:29:52

    I’m interested because it takes a lot for a book to get such a great rating on this blog. =)

  106. Jo
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 17:29:28

    I need to jump in and say how much I appreciate a review that doesn’t retell the story, so thank you, SonomaLass, for that! I find that so often what amounts to a review on the web is merely a recounting of the plot with all the interesting words left out. Not so here. One of things I value as a reader (and a as problem solver in general) is that moment when understanding hits. Eureka. Epiphany. Light bulb. Whatever. I like that brain rush. I’m certainly no master at delivering those kind of moments to readers, but I make a sincere attempt not to be too obvious, so when a reviewer just blows the whole thing up front it’s really discouraging. I wrote a story once, hmmm, let me think…it was More Than You Wished…and the heroine was blind. It was revealed early on in the story but not immediately. Amazon “reviewers” dumped on that right away. Sigh. Thank Jane for Dear Author.

    @Ridley: Whatever you have to say, I will always read it with a grin because you have the best gravatar EVER!

  107. jcp
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 17:51:14

    Plwase enter me. I love westerns

  108. Collette
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 18:20:41

    I’d love to read Marry Me early!

    Why? Well, I really adored Never Love a Lawman, keeping it on my ebook reader after I was finished so that I could reread it at will (a high honor since that sucker is already packed with books) and I’ve been enamored of her writing ever since I read If His Kiss is Wicked, reading parts aloud to my husband because they made me laugh. I think he heard the whole first chapter. I’ve since gone back and glommed a huge chunk of her backlist.

    I’d read her if she wrote copy for the back of cereal boxes.

  109. Rosie Nguy
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 18:31:19

    Jo Goodman has been a favorite author of mine ever since I randomly picked up a copy of If His Kiss is Wicked from the new release shelf at the library. I don’t remember why I chose this book, but I am so glad that I did because I breezed through the book and proceeded to collect every book of hers that was ever published. My keeper shelf contains Sweet Fire, If His Kiss is Wicked, and The Price of Desire. Goodman has a sophisticated, subtle style that is unique and captivating, and I look forward to every new release.

  110. Barbara Elness
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 18:32:48

    I enjoy Jo Goodman’s books and Marry Me sounds like a wonderful story. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  111. Sotheara
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 18:36:14

    I’ve never read any books by Jo Goodman and woundn’t mind giving this author a try.

  112. Kate K
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 19:35:46

    I think Goodman’s writing is so vivid and unique… I’d love to win this!

  113. Nan O'Berry
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 20:03:13

    First I’m blown away by the story line and second by the number of people commenting. Its so good to see a western romance writer getting this attention. I will be on the lookout for the books mentioned.

    Nan

  114. SaraC
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 20:46:42

    I only started to read historicals set in the US, and I’m really enjoying them so far!

  115. Playing In the Big Pool « Sonomalass's Blog
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:06:55

    [...] wrote a guest review of Jo Goodman’s fabulous December release, Marry Me, for Dear Author.  There’s also a giveaway of 8 advance copies of the book. That review will soon have more [...]

  116. Karen Witkowski
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:30:58

    I’m definitely interested in this book because I’m a big fan of Jo Goodman’s, and I love western/American historicals! This book is on my “wish list.” :)

  117. JessW
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:33:56

    I love the books of Jo Goodman and have been looking forward to “Marry Me” since I saw it in the Borders upcoming romances listings. She provides such an emotional journey for the reader in the development of characters and their relationship. Having to wait for her books makes me savor them more when I finally read a new release. So glad Sonoma Lass liked the book.

  118. Jen Merry
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:40:20

    I love a good western romance. Plus I like that the hero is a doctor. It seems like the doctor is usually a supporting character not the lead.

  119. ChrisO
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:54:16

    A lot of the books I pick up nowadays are are like chinese takeout – I’m hungry for something else when I’m done. But Jo Goodman’s books are always as satisfying as a really great meal.

  120. Tracy S
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 21:57:24

    I love American Historicals!!

  121. msaggie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 22:27:26

    I really liked Never Love a Lawman, and would love to re-visit Reidville again and read about Cole and Rhyne, and catch up on the couples from the previous book. I am very much looking forward to Jo Goodman’s newest book, as I have really enjoyed her recent books.

  122. ritu
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 23:02:28

    I too liked Never Love a lawman. The other books were a bit of hit and miss. Even the ones that were graded highly here in DA. But would love a chance to win this book!

  123. Chelsea B.
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 00:17:45

    I’ve never read a Jo Goodman book. This one sounds wonderful.

  124. Pamela H.
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 02:07:06

    A new Jo Goodman is out? I can’t wait to get my hot little hands on it. She’s always such a joy to read, I try to make sure I have most of a weekend free before starting one of her books.

    Why am I interested? Because I have a hankering for an American Western. I’ve been on a kick lately for reading and TV/movies. Anyone imagining Timothy Olyphant in some of these Western hero roles?

    Thanks for the contest.

  125. Amy
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 02:27:39

    Jo Goodman is one of my favorite authors! I think I have read every one of her books, many of which remain on my keeper shelf, and I wish more of her backlist were available as ebooks. I do NOT want to participate in this giveaway because I want to continue to support her by buying her new release; she remains one of the few authors who remains on my auto-buy list.

  126. Lobo
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 04:11:44

    I’ve never read anything by Jo Goodman so this sounds interesting. Also I am always curious if I can join, understand and love a series when not starting it from the first book.

  127. Megs
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 05:44:27

    I don’t really read Western historicals but this sounds like exactly the kind of hero and dynamic that I love best in romance, and I’ll be adding it to my “to read” list right away. But I’d love to win a copy so I don’t have to hunt it down!

  128. Victoria Zumbrum
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 08:23:47

  129. Frannie
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 10:47:42

    I’m like Marsha way up at the top. I adore your books and would love to win this one.

  130. maered
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 13:25:24

    I love well written character driven romances. Count me in!

  131. Lana
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 15:32:02

    I love Jo Goodman! Would be thrilled to get a copy of this book.

  132. Marsha Jones
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 16:24:42

    I read all of Jo Goodman’s earlier books, but haven’t read any within the past couple of years. Just her name on the book is enough to make me want to read this, but your description of the characters has me very intrigued. @goalmom5

  133. josieh
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 18:48:35

    I can’t wait to read this one! I’m actually rereading Never Love A Lawman in anticipation of this one and it is just as good the second time around.

  134. Pam Hager
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 19:31:30

    She is a new author to me. The story sounds very interesting.

  135. Anne
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 09:28:26

    Oooo this book sounds so great!

  136. Maureen
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 10:40:35

    I have read a bunch of Jo Goodman’s stories and really enjoy her writing.

  137. Maija
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 12:24:01

    I’ve read one book by her and was very impressed! Would like to try more :) And this was already on my TBB-list…

  138. Maria.Maria
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 16:55:47

    I want it!!! ME ME ME! I LOOOOVE Jo Goodman. She gives such a great heart squeeze. And her Heros are sooo supportive and steady and her characters have COMMON SENSE!!! I would like to ask Jo Goodman to Marry Me! (bad pun and exclaimation points intended)

  139. Lorraine
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 20:50:21

    I used to read Jo Goodman way back in the day and really enjoyed her books. I believe I have Never Love a Lawman in my TBR. I’d love to read the two books in sucession.

    Count me in, please.

  140. Lam
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 15:14:53

    I have long been a huge fan of Jo Goodman, and would love to read her newest. So count me in please :)

  141. Juliette
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 09:59:32

    If the drawing hasn’t already happened, sign me up.

  142. Karen
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:09:56

    Count me in pls!

  143. Amy P.
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 14:51:00

    I have never read Jo Goodman and this one sounds great!

  144. Danielle
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 19:21:50

    I love Jo Goodman’s books and would love to read her latest.

  145. Jane
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 23:36:28

    Here are our winners. We have 8 ARCS and we will also send 5 digital copies via Amazon once the book is released. Please contact me jane at dearauthor dot com

    Paper ARCS:

    • Merrian
    • Julie
    • Karen
    • lakaribane
    • Joy
    • lada
    • Cybercliper
    • Shannon

    Digital books:

    • Leslie
    • Marsha Jones
    • Frannie
    • srs
    • Anne

  146. Wot I Read In November « Sonomalass's Blog
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:38:32

    [...] this book cover to cover when I thought I’d just be skimming through it for my review over at Dear Author. It sucked me right back in, and I loved every page. [...]

  147. stephanie
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 00:19:47

    @Marsha: I am the same only discovered her last year and have read 16 novels by her so far. She is to me one of the top 5 romance writers I can’t get enough of her books. I have 3 novels which I am rationing over the next 2 months. Going to reread One forbidden evening soon my favorite so far.

  148. etv13
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 03:28:55

    I’m coming at this way late; I bought Kissing Comfort on the strenght of the review here and have yet to read it. Then I found Never Love a Lawman at the library and read that, and when I saw “Reidsville” on the back cover of Marry Me, I read it at once. The rest of the blurb was kind of misleading, but the book was great. I really liked that Cole is an excellent doctor, for his time, but he didn’t perform miracles. The cover though — it’s pretty, in its way, but it doesn’t convey anything about the story. I think it and the blurb are a gigantic failure.

  149. What-to-Read Wednesday: Marry Me | Ruthie Knox
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 10:46:48

    [...] in fact. Marry Me is wonky, mostly (but not always) in a good way. As Sonoma Lass points out in her review at Dear Author, the romance part of the story seems to be drawing to a close, and then the plot picks up again and [...]

%d bloggers like this: