Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Scream for Me by Karen Rose

I have 20!! copies of this great hardcover to giveaway. Drop a comment and let me know why you are interested in reading this book.

Dear Ms. Rose:

Congratulations on going hardcover. It’s a tough time to make the move, what with the cratering economy and all. Even before it cost be $10 to drive from home to work and back again everyday, I always held hardcover books to a higher standard. After all, at the increased price, the book had to be 3 times as good as other books because of the foregone opportunity cost. (e.g. I could buy 3 paperbacks at the price of 1 hardcover). While Scream for Me isn’t a perfect book, I’d still rather read it than three other romantic suspenses on the market.

Before I talk about what I liked (which was most everything, particularly the romance), I’ll state what I thought was the major flaw of the story. This book is part two of a set of three stories. The first is Die For Me and without having read it, I do wonder whether readers will be lost. The second problem I had with the story was the murky motivations of the villian. I can’t really state more without giving much of the mystery away, but I felt like his choice of victims weren’t consistent.

Daniel Vartanian is a special agent with the Georgia State police. He’s just been part of a high profile case where his brother, Simon, who had been presumed dead, had been caught killing a number of people in Philadelphia, including Daniel’s parents. Simon had a lot of secrets, some of which Daniel knew, but most he did not. The one secret that he knew was that Simon had photographed fifteen girls being raped. One of those girls was murdered thirteen years ago in Dutton, Georgia – Daniel’s hometown. When a body of a young woman is left wrapped in blanket in a ditch in Dutton with the details markedly similar to the previous murder, Daniel requests to be put on the case. He feels that perhaps he can find vindication for these unknown girls.

Alex Tremaine is the twin sister of the girl was who killed thirteen years ago. She had left Dutton after her sister’s murder and her mother’s suicide to go live in Ohio with her aunt’s family. But when her stepsister, Bailey, goes missing and leaves her four year old daughter alone, Alex returns to Dutton to face the demons of her past.

This is confusing when I write it out in this review, but it actually makes sense in the book. It’s a twisty and convoluted story of a villian who was done wrong and bided his time to gain revenge. His revenge is two fold, though, and that’s where it gets confusing. The two fold revenge is necessary to involve Alex and to ratchet up the conflict. Could it have been done differently and less confusing and still be full of suspense? Hard to say.

Because all of your past books have had themes, I looked carefully for the connecting thread here. Both Daniel and Alex suffer from survivor’s guilt and in some cases, it is warranted. They both suffered mightily as kids and escaped when they had the chance, not looking back. The failure to look back, the determination to keep running ended up hurting people close to them.

Alex and Daniel have great chemistry and even though this story takes place over a compressed period of time (a few days), I still believed in both their connection and their future together. I thought the sex scenes, which are so often contrived and somewhat superfluous, were very well placed and tender. I loved their first kiss.

He’d put his car in gear when the bungalow door opened and Alex stepped onto the porch and his breath caught in his throat. She wore a sensible robe that covered her from her chin to her toes. It should have made her look dowdy and plain, but all he could think about was what lay underneath. The wind had kicked up, tossing her glossy hair, and she scooped it back with one hand to stare at him across the tiny front yard.

There was no smile on her face. The thought registered as he killed his engine and crossed her yard, single-minded in his intent. To leave her, to drive on by, never entered his mind, only to have now what he’d wanted earlier, what the call from the Fun-N-Sun security chief had kept him from taking. He needed to see that wide-eyed wonder again, the look in her eyes when she’d finally understood what he wanted from her. He needed to see that she wanted him, too.

Without slowing for a greeting, he took the porch stairs in one step, took her face in his hands, covered her mouth with his, and took what he needed. She made a hungry sound deep in her throat and leaned up on her toes, trying to get closer, and the kiss exploded into motion and heat.

She let go of her hair and her robe to clutch at the lapels of his coat, propelling her mouth into his. Daniel let go of her face to pull her arms around his neck. He splayed his hands across her slender back and pulled until her body was flush against him and he took what he wanted as the wind whistled and screamed around them.

It had been too long, was all he could think, all he could hear over the wind and the pounding of his own pulse in his ears. Too long since he’d felt like this. Alive. Invincible. Too damn long. Or maybe never.

Alex and Daniel shared similar pasts, ones marked with tragedy, and they served as a good foil for one another. My blogging partner, Jayne, talks about how much she enjoys the “real guy” talk and there is certainly some of that in Scream for Me. In fact, the points of levity in this suspense book come from Daniel’s interaction with his male co-workers and friends.

Daniel watched her go, wishing he could make her sorrow and fear go away and a little guilty that he couldn’t quite get the picture of her in a proper bed out of his mind. He turned back to find Chase looking at him with scornful disbelief.

“You just couldn’t stay on that sofa, could you?”

Daniel couldn’t stop the grin that seemed to take over his face. “Actually, I did.”

Chase rolled his eyes. “Oh, for God’s sake, Daniel. On the sofa?”

Daniel shrugged. “It seemed like the right thing to do at the time.”

His eyes were that piercing blue that made her shiver. “You’re beautiful.”

“So are you. I hope I didn’t get you into any trouble, answering the phone like that.”

He got out of bed, stretching his shoulders one way and then the other while she watched for the simple pleasure of doing so. “No,” he drawled. “Chase already knew.”

Her eyes widened. “You told him? Daniel!”

“No,” he drawled again. “I’m a guy, Alex. When we have head-banging sex on a sofa, it’s written all over our faces. Everybody knows.”

The two leads are so likeable, even though they may have been less than responsible earlier on, that I could not wait for their happy ever after to arrive. They certainly deserved it.

I’ve read every book you’ve written so far (except for the novella) and I don’t think I’ve rated any lower than a B- (if that). Your consistency in writing good suspense paired with good romance is to be applauded. A-

Best regards,

Jane

This book can be purchased in mass market from Amazon or Powells or ebook format.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

82 Comments

  1. Mary
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:06:39

    Wow, this sounds like a great book. I’m always looking for new-to-me authors to read and would love to be considered for this giveaway! Plus, I think I’m the first person to comment. *grins*

  2. Kat
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:12:23

    I’d loved to read the book! It sounds great!

  3. CathyG
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:12:42

    Hi. The book does sound great, and I love this author. Because I am on a serious budget right now (three teenagers = money pit), buying a hardcover is not in the cards for me, so consider this an obvious, unashamed plea – take pity on me!

  4. Maered
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:27:37

    I love Karen Rose and think she is definitely one of the best, if not the best, RS author writing at the moment. Her books have just the right mix of romance and suspense. And this book has had excellent reviews. So, please put me in the contest!

  5. Danielle
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:39:48

    This book sounds sooooooo good. I can’t wait to read it.

  6. Maya Reynolds
    May 14, 2008 @ 05:45:47

    I haven’t read Karen Rose’s books before, but I’m intrigued by the A- you’ve given it and the serial killer premise.

  7. Caitie
    May 14, 2008 @ 06:42:10

    I’ve always heard great things about Karen Rose, but haven’t ever read her to this point. I’m glad to hear you found the leads interesting – that’s always my problem with r.s. If an author focuses too much on the suspense and not enough on the characters + their romances, it loses me. Plus, the quotes hooked me the rest of the way in!

  8. Sandy D.
    May 14, 2008 @ 06:49:05

    I’m interested – I haven’t read a good contemporary romance for soooo long. I’m going to see if my library has the first one, though.

  9. Kristie(J)
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:05:13

    I’ve just discovered Karen Rose. I’ve read two of her books so far and have two more in the TBR pile. She does a wonderful job of combining romance and suspense – a bit heavier on the suspense. RS seems to be my genre I’m reading the most of these days.
    And *laughing* I have these wonderful new bookshelves in my living room that hold hardcovers just perfectly. Between that and my discovery of Karen Rose – Scream for Me would have an ever so wonderful home. AND, being anal retentive when it comes to shelving them, it would be between my Nora Roberts/JD Robb hardcovers on one side and Barbara Samuels on the other side!

  10. Sarah
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:10:21

    Frankly, it takes a lot for me to read romantic suspense books because I find more often than not, the romance seems secondary which bothers me. You’ve done a good job of detailing the romance, without giving anything away, enough so anyway that I would like a chance to read the book.

  11. Terry
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:18:51

    I’ve read all of Karen’s books. I was first drawn to them because she doesn’t put the hero and heroine together on page one, and at the time, I was being told I “had” to do that if I was writing romance. I like the way she structures her stories. I like the stories themselves, and the balance of romance and suspense. And, of course, the characters.

  12. Tabitha
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:46:57

    I would love to try this book by Karen Rose. I’ve never read anything written by her but I’m open to reading new authors. Lately, I’ve discovered quite a few new ones through your site and would love to try more…I can’t get enough of reading!! I constantly buy but it’s wearing many holes in my pockets. I keep all books I read because I like to go back to re-read them and having them on hand is great. Good books gets re-read so many times I can’t even keep track!

  13. Bethany Allinder
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:50:05

    This is definitely something I’d be interested in. Please put me in the running. Thanks!

  14. BookBoor
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:51:10

    I’ve read all of Ms. Rose’s books and every time I’m amazed at how she is able to balance the suspense and developing romance between the hero and heroine. The suspense never seems contrived to advance the romance. She is a tight rope acrobat! I was going to wait to get this when it was released in paperback (who knows when that’ll be). So pick me!

  15. Keri M
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:57:23

    I would absolutely kill to get my hands on this book! (oh ok not really, kill per se), but if you wanted me to stand out in front of a store with a sandwich board sign on, to get the book, well by cracky were is my board?!! :-) I truly enjoy Karen Rose’s books and like that way she handles tough women in tough situations with a balance of strong men. I have them all except for this one. So I hope you will consider me for one of the books. Keri

  16. nath
    May 14, 2008 @ 07:58:58

    I loved Scream For Me and I agree with your review. I think great book and perfect for Ms Rose first hardcover release. I really liked the plot and twist :)

  17. stp
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:05:14

    I’m interested in reading anything that gets an A review at this site. Not too many of those! You know they’ll be great!

  18. Throwmearope
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:17:23

    Ooh, I’m on my way to BN to pick it up! I really enjoyed all of her other books. Thanks for the give away, but I’m unwilling to wait!

  19. katiebabs
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:21:15

    I have never read a Karen Rose novel, so why not now? *hint hint*
    :D

  20. AngelaL
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:36:38

    This review caught my eye because of the A rating! I would love to have the chance to read this book – I’ve only read a few romantic suspense novels so I’m still trying to feel out the genre(I’ve read a few of Sharon Sala’s books and really enjoyed them). My mother also enjoys this sort of book, so if I am selected to receive a copy it will reach at least 2 readers in my household. :)

  21. Tamar
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:37:25

    I read my first Karen Rose last year and had to do a glom of her. Unfortunately the HC price is out of budget range at the moment, so I’d love to have a copy. Thanks for the chance!

  22. Denise
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:39:48

    I love mysteries and romantic suspense. I did read Ms. Rose’s first book when it came out however long ago. But I’ve so many books on my TBR pile that I haven’t kept up with her books. I’d love to read her latest and catch up.

  23. Lucy
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:39:56

    Sounds like a great book! I love romantic suspense and would really like to read this. Thanks for including me in the drawing!

  24. Kathy
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:51:01

    I discovered Karen Rose after finding a book in the seat-back-pocket on a business trip. I really enjoy her work and am working my way thru the backlog. I’d love the opportunity to give this one a spin!

  25. MichelleR
    May 14, 2008 @ 08:51:43

    I love Karen’s books and I’m very excited about this one (even though it’s in hardcover). Great review!

  26. Christy
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:05:59

    I’d love to have this because my husband’s a special agent with a state police agency. He doesn’t read novels, but likes to hear about them. This would make interesting dinner conversation.

  27. SandyO
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:08:51

    I’ve never read Ms Rose and after that glowing review I would love to give her book a try.

  28. Bonnie
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:18:20

    Put my name in the drawing! KR is a new-to-me author but I’ve heard a lot of buzz about her books and am looking for something out of my ordinary reading habits!

    -’ Bonz

  29. TLS
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:24:52

    Sounds great. Please enter me for the giveaway.

  30. Christine
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:26:33

    I’d love to read Scream For Me. I haven’t yet read a novel by Karen Rose, the plot sounds thick and the romance sweet-I adore the snippets you shared. Plus, you gave it an A-!!!! :)

  31. ag
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:35:46

    Hi Jane,

    You’ve got me interested in not just this book, but the whole series. While I busy myself tracking down the first, having this wouldn’t hurt. {{wink}}.

  32. Sarai
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:38:54

    Wow sounds interesting. With a grade like that it is a must have! Sign me up for the contest ;0)

  33. azteclady
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:39:54

    Okay, I confess I have not read anything by Ms Rose, but this one sounds excellent. Please toss my name in the hat!

    Thank you.

  34. Sarai
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:41:26

    Sorry my computer is wacky and cut off half the comment. What I was tryng to say is Karen Rose has been one of those must read authors that I haven’t read yet. I would love to try her with this book!

  35. Shannon
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:45:50

    Oh! I would love a copy of this book. I have never read anything by Karen Rose. It would be my first ever. Why not start with the best? In addition, I am a sucker for heros in law enforcement. Mmmm… men in authority. Don’t believe me? My Desert Island Keeper Harem is chock full of law enforcement and military heros. I just luvs them!

    Also? The name. How could I pass on a book titled Screm For Me?

  36. Steff
    May 14, 2008 @ 09:47:43

    I have been a Karen Rose fan from the beginning and have all of her books. I think she is one of the best romantic suspense authors around and would love to receive a copy of her book.

  37. Liviania
    May 14, 2008 @ 10:17:41

    The last paragraph intrigued me the most! I enjoy RS, but it’s hard to find good authors. I would love to read Scream for Me and have a large, well-written backlist waiting for me if I liked Rose’s style.

  38. Bonnie L.
    May 14, 2008 @ 10:24:14

    I’ve really liked Ms. Rose’s previous releases and I am glad to know that her hardback is worth the money. I’ll never refuse a free book!

  39. Zee
    May 14, 2008 @ 10:35:29

    Please continue to feed my growing addiction to romantic suspense/thrillers based on your website’s reviews. I read “Bad Girl” based on your review and loved it and am now racing through Anne Stuart’s Ice books. Need another fix, please…

  40. Amy Graham
    May 14, 2008 @ 11:03:47

    I am interested in this book because I love suspense and I have never read Karen Rose before. Also I am getting ready to study for the Minnesota Bar Exam and will need something to help turn my brain off of the bar exam at night.

  41. vanessa jaye
    May 14, 2008 @ 11:10:20

    I want to say I’ve been on the Karen Rose bandwagon for awhile, but it might only seem that way. I discovered her last year or the year before, and, yup, I’ve pretty much read all her stuff. Although, I have to say that her earlier books weren’t as strong/enjoyable as her last 4.

    If any author could lure me into buying hardback, it would be Karen, but my pocket book cries at the thought. I think I’ll be getting the hardback from the library and buying the paperback when it comes out. Great review of a wonderful author.

    ETA. oops, didn’t see this was a contest. No need to enter me. :)

  42. Little Lamb Lost
    May 14, 2008 @ 11:20:46

    I am interested in reading this book because I read Die for Me not long ago and was impressed. The romance and the suspense were both strong and well done. Have been looking forward to Daniel’s story and am hoping that Daniel and Simon’s sister will also be a main character in her own book.

  43. Anji
    May 14, 2008 @ 11:21:43

    Wow, what an awesome review! I’ve been (re)reading more historicals, after a romantic suspense overload. But this sounds like a great romance together with the suspense plot.

    I haven’t read any of Karen Rose’s books yet, although I have Die For Me on my TBR pile. I’m gonna move it to the top of the pile asap. And I’d love to win a copy of Scream For Me.

  44. Jace
    May 14, 2008 @ 11:57:05

    I read Die For Me and I was blown away, by the story and by the writing. That was my first Karen Rose book, and I’ll definitely read more of hers.

    I see that Daniel Vartanian is the hero of this story and I’d love to read more about him. He was such a desolate character in Die For Me.

  45. Tracy
    May 14, 2008 @ 12:50:35

    I’ve never read a Karen Rose book, but this sounds wonderful! The bits you interjected from the book were great and truly made me want to read the book!

  46. Elizabeth
    May 14, 2008 @ 12:53:26

    I would like to develop a cake design based on the characters and events in Scream for Me. It sounds like the perfect subject for adaption to the icing-fondant medium.

  47. KarLyn
    May 14, 2008 @ 13:12:51

    I would LOVE a copy of this book. She is one author I have yet to read but really want to try. Her books sound fantastic.

  48. KarenT
    May 14, 2008 @ 14:34:20

    I have read and loved all of Karen Rose’s books. She writes great romantic suspense and I think is among the best in the genre. I really loved “Count to Ten”. I knew when I read “Die for Me” that Daniel would be the hero of the next book.

  49. Diane V
    May 14, 2008 @ 15:08:12

    I love Karen Rose’s books too…and was disappointed that “Scream for Me” was going to be hardcover. So hopefully I’ll win a copy here so I don’t have to wait for the paperback version.

  50. Jewel
    May 14, 2008 @ 15:21:40

    I have never read Karen Rose but would love chance to win this book.

  51. cyclops8
    May 14, 2008 @ 15:27:29

    I love Karen Rose. “I’m Watching You” is one of my favorites. Can’t wait to read Daniel’s story.

  52. Lynn
    May 14, 2008 @ 16:02:07

    I have enjoyed all of Karen’s Rose’s books (even though the body counts are usually pretty high).

  53. Stacie Mc
    May 14, 2008 @ 16:06:42

    I love Karen Rose’s books. The mix of romance and suspense is just right. The story-lines are seat-grabbing. When I read her books I feel like I know the characters and love that they pop up in future novels.

    I have had this book on my wish list since it was first announced. I would just love to win it.

  54. Julie D
    May 14, 2008 @ 16:34:55

    I’d like to read a book by Karen Rose.

  55. StacieH4
    May 14, 2008 @ 16:42:45

    I’d like a chance to win one of these…I haven’t read Karen Rose yet but her work seems right up my alley. Pleeeeeeeze put my name in the hat too. Thanks!

  56. Stephanie
    May 14, 2008 @ 17:28:39

    This book sounds great! I’d love to get a chance to win it.

  57. orannia
    May 14, 2008 @ 17:35:25

    I’ve never read a Karen Rose book before, but after a very interesting review (thank you BTW Jane) I will definitely be looking her up on my local library system (just looked and they have eight of her books, including Die For Me :)

    orannia

  58. Cathy
    May 14, 2008 @ 17:37:42

    I’ve been hearing that Karen Rose was good – and this book sounds great. Please put my name in the hat!

  59. Leslie G
    May 14, 2008 @ 19:24:18

    I have never read any of Karen Rose’s books but have been hearing a lot about her lately – all good. After reading your review I’m definitely interested in reading this author.

  60. Tory
    May 14, 2008 @ 19:28:01

    I can’t wait to read this book. The first Karen Rose that I read was Die For Me. I have been waiting for this book to come out since I then. Now after reading your review, I’m really excited to read it! Please add my name to the drawing.

  61. Josie
    May 14, 2008 @ 19:53:34

    I would love to win this book because I’ve loved everything I’ve ever read by Karen Rose. IMO she is one of the very best writers of intelligent and genuinely thrilling romantic suspense.

    If I don’t win this I’ll still be buying – and I rarely follow authors when they change to hard cover. My poor bank balance!

  62. Sara
    May 14, 2008 @ 20:18:22

    I love Karen Rose’s books, but I felt a little disappointed that she was going to hardback, since that’s definitely out of my price range. However, it would be great to win a copy rather than have to wait for the library to get it or for the paperback to come out!

  63. ChRiStY
    May 14, 2008 @ 20:43:50

    I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve haven’t read any of Karen Rose’s books ~ I’d love to though.

  64. Sambangs
    May 14, 2008 @ 21:01:51

    I have been trying to find a new romantic suspense writer. I used to enjoy Linda Howards more, but her latest have been rather blah to me. I haven’t read a Karen Rose yet, but would love to give her a shot considering the kudos you gave her. If I win a copy, I’d definatly buy the first in the series.

  65. Rosario
    May 15, 2008 @ 01:15:30

    I’d love a copy of this one. I’ve been working my way through KR’s backlist these past few months. Fortunately she seems to be Big here in the UK, so I’ve found many of her titles in my library. In fact, I’m reading I’m Watching You right now. Die For Me was my introduction to her and I thought it was fantastic -and was very intrigued by Daniel. Can’t wait to read his story.

    BTW, I’ve been struck by how she’s promoted very much as a crime writer here, not romantic suspense. If you compare many of her UK blurbs to those of the US editions, you can see the difference… they barely mention the romance. Take Nothing to Fear, which is my next read, just borrowed from the library.

    UK blurb:

    Sue Conroy is out of control. Recently released from prison she is determined to find the people responsible for putting her there and to give them a taste of what she has had to endure. When Sue kidnaps an eleven-year-old deaf boy it’s only the first stage in an elaborate plan. Running to Chicago, Sue poses as a battered woman and it leads her to Hanover House, an inner-city women’s shelter, run by Dana Dupinsky. Dana safeguards many secrets in her own life and in the lives of those around her but she would never harbour a murderer, that is if she knew that one was living at the shelter. Distracted by the presence of a new man in her life, Dana only realises the danger when those around suddenly start dying and she is thrust into the middle of Sue’s dangerous and evil game!

    US blurb:

    NOTHING TO SEE

    As director of an inner-city woman's shelter, Dana Dupinsky safeguards many secrets. Some are new identities; some are new addresses; and some are even hidden truths about herself. Passionately dedicated to Hanover House and the women she protects, Dana has always been reluctant to look for love. But now, just as a case puts her and a child in mortal danger, it seems that love has come looking for her.

    NOTHING TO HEAR

    Security expert Ethan Buchanan learned to stalk men in the Afghan desert. Now he vows to track down the ruthless woman who kidnapped his godson-’and falling for Dana is not in the plan. Yet her very presence seems to chase away the ghosts that haunt him, and her skillful evasion of personal questions raises his hunting instincts. For there's a deadly new secret at Hanover House. A brutal killer is weaving a web of revenge with a stolen boy at its center. And Dana is the next victim on the list…

    Interesting, no?

  66. Allison Brennan
    May 15, 2008 @ 01:32:09

    SCREAM FOR ME is an outstanding book. I was lucky enough to get a galley a few months ago. I didn’t read DIE FOR ME beforehand, and it didn’t impact my enjoyment of the book one bit. My mom is a huge Karen Rose fan. I bought Karen’s books for her at RWA in 2005 (when she was up for a double rita and won) and ever since we’ve been hooked (I’m just way behind on my TBR pile!) I ordered two copies–one for me and one for my mom–from Amazon because for a hardcover, this was a great price (I think $11-12 with the Amazon discount, which is the price of a trade book.)

  67. Paula
    May 15, 2008 @ 03:16:16

    Hi, I have read all of Karen Rose’s books and would love to have a copy of Scream for Me. Please put my name forward and I will hope that I’m lucky.
    Thanks and it sounds a great read.

  68. Bethany Allinder
    May 15, 2008 @ 07:52:03

    Rosario on May 15th, 2008 at 1:15 am:

    BTW, I've been struck by how she's promoted very much as a crime writer here, not romantic suspense. If you compare many of her UK blurbs to those of the US editions, you can see the difference… they barely mention the romance. Take Nothing to Fear, which is my next read, just borrowed from the library.

    UK blurb:

    Sue Conroy is out of control. Recently released from prison she is determined to find the people responsible for putting her there and to give them a taste of what she has had to endure. When Sue kidnaps an eleven-year-old deaf boy it's only the first stage in an elaborate plan. Running to Chicago, Sue poses as a battered woman and it leads her to Hanover House, an inner-city women's shelter, run by Dana Dupinsky. Dana safeguards many secrets in her own life and in the lives of those around her but she would never harbour a murderer, that is if she knew that one was living at the shelter. Distracted by the presence of a new man in her life, Dana only realises the danger when those around suddenly start dying and she is thrust into the middle of Sue's dangerous and evil game!

    US blurb:

    NOTHING TO SEE

    As director of an inner-city woman's shelter, Dana Dupinsky safeguards many secrets. Some are new identities; some are new addresses; and some are even hidden truths about herself. Passionately dedicated to Hanover House and the women she protects, Dana has always been reluctant to look for love. But now, just as a case puts her and a child in mortal danger, it seems that love has come looking for her.

    NOTHING TO HEAR

    Security expert Ethan Buchanan learned to stalk men in the Afghan desert. Now he vows to track down the ruthless woman who kidnapped his godson-’and falling for Dana is not in the plan. Yet her very presence seems to chase away the ghosts that haunt him, and her skillful evasion of personal questions raises his hunting instincts. For there's a deadly new secret at Hanover House. A brutal killer is weaving a web of revenge with a stolen boy at its center. And Dana is the next victim on the list…

    Interesting, no?

    I hope I did this quoting thing right…anyway…what I find interesting is that the UK blurb seems more plot-driven whereas the US blurb is absolutely character-driven. I wonder at the different approaches and why one formula is marketed to one country and not to the other (and vice-versa). Does contemporary romance suspense (ie: NR, Julie Garwood, Heather Graham–jeez I don’t read this stuff so much)not have a solid following in the UK?

    I think I’m going to try and see if I can find some more examples of this.

  69. anne
    May 15, 2008 @ 10:52:30

    Love to have the chance to read this new release. thanks for this great giveaway.

  70. Mary M.
    May 15, 2008 @ 13:36:14

    I must confess I never so much as heard of Karen Rose before. Then, I have read VERY few contemporary romantic suspenses in the last…well, thath would be years :-D. But your review really grabbed my attention.No matter whether I won the giveaway or not, I’m putting this title on my wish list. Thanks for making me discover another new author!

  71. Jennybrat
    May 15, 2008 @ 14:45:00

    Oh my, what a tantalising glimpse into the book. I’ve never picked up a Karen Rose book before but I like what I’ve seen of her her voice here and given your high praise, I’m now keen to do so. Please put me in the hat.

  72. nemo
    May 15, 2008 @ 19:16:21

    I haven’t read anything by Karen Rose, but the review has definitely interested me. I’ve also been on a hardcover kick recently. Sounds like a great book!

  73. Julia B.
    May 15, 2008 @ 20:21:14

    I haven’t read anything by Karen Rose yet, but I am going to look for some of her books soon since I have read so many great recommendations about her lately. This one really sounds intriguing.

  74. Fiona
    May 16, 2008 @ 01:36:32

    I am an avid Karen Rose fan and I have LOVED all of her books. She has great character development and amazing plots twists. She draws me into her stories through the fantastic characters. Even her secondary characters are interesting and well drawn. The balance of romance and suspense/thriller is perfect for me. I can’t wait for the third in this series to come out. It makes sense to me that she went hard cover–her books belong on the keeper shelf and a hard cover makes for a sturdy book to stand up to being read over and over again.

  75. Jane
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:47:12

    WINNERS ARE:

    # 38 – Bonnie L
    # 42 – Little Lamb Lost
    # 54 – Julie D
    # 69 – anne
    # 21 – Tamar
    # 72 – nemo
    # 55 – StacieH4
    # 70 – Mary M
    # 45 – Tracy
    # 2 – Kat
    # 48 – Karen T
    # 67 – Paula
    # 14 – BookBoor
    # 43 – Anji
    # 39 – Zee
    # 5 – Danielle
    # 50 – Jewel
    # 26 – Christy
    # 19 – katiebabs
    # 30 – Christine

    Please send snail mail to jane at dearauthor.com as soon as possible. Thanks.

  76. azteclady
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:49:28

    Congrats to the winners–you lucky ladies you!

  77. Shannon
    May 16, 2008 @ 09:18:42

    I am jealous! :( Ah well, I really should make a dent in my TBR pile instead of adding new books to it.

  78. Christine
    May 16, 2008 @ 10:06:38

    Thank you! :)

  79. Mary M
    May 16, 2008 @ 20:31:21

    Thank you so much! I just sent you my address :-D.

  80. Winners of the Karen Rose Giveaway | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    May 16, 2008 @ 22:50:23

    [...] winners of the Karen Rose, Scream for Me, Giveaway are listed [...]

  81. Paula
    May 18, 2008 @ 14:18:52

    oooh I can’t believe I WON. I never win in competitions.

    THANK YOU

  82. Top Ten Things Publishers Could Do to Help Readers Buy Books | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 04:00:46

    [...] an internal “If You Like” so that if the reader did really enjoy Karen Rose’s Scream for Me, then Warner could tell us what other books from its house we might also enjoy such as Sharon [...]

%d bloggers like this: