Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Cold Magic by Kate Elliott

Dear Ms. Elliott,

I first heard of your book while linkhopping across various reader blogs. I can’t tell you exactly where I learned of Cold Magic but the description stuck with me: an Afro-Celtic post-Roman icepunk Regency novel with airships, Phoenician spies, and the intelligent descendants of troodons. I later discovered this description was taken from the author interview included in the back of the book but in terms of hooking me, it was very effective! That was such a mishmash of different ideas and concepts, I had no idea how they could possibly work together. I had to see it for myself, and I’m so glad I did.

The history of the world begins in ice, and it will end in ice.

So begins Cold Magic, the first novel in your Spiritwalker trilogy. Set in an alternate Europe populated by the various unions of Celtic tribe and West African diaspora formed after the fall of the Roman Empire, Cold Magic tells the story of Catherine Hassi Barahal, a child of Kena’ani (aka Phoenician) merchants. Orphaned as a baby when her parents died during a river crossing, Catherine was raised by her aunt and uncle, along with their own daughter, her cousin, Beatrice.

Cold Magic by Kate ElliottThough both girls are close in age, Catherine is the elder cousin and she is nearing her legal majority. This is a key point because at some point in the past, the Hassi Barahal family made an enemy of the powerful Four Moons mage House and to escape destruction, they forged a contract. In that contract, they promised Four Moons House the eldest Barahal daughter and they could claim ownership of her at any point before her legal majority. They thought they’d somehow managed to escape that contract unscathed but unfortunately, it was not meant to be.

Catherine is then taken from her family and forced into married to Andevai, the most powerful cold mage of his generation. What follows is a journey across cities, the countryside, even the spirit world, as Catherine struggles to make the best of her situation while trying to discern the details of the contract that landed her in this mess, the truth behind her parents’ deaths, and her destined role in the impending conflict between magic and technology.

I haven’t been this excited about a traditional fantasy novel since Kushiel’s Dart. And while this is a very different book from that one, it does something similar by taking familiar concepts and putting a new spin on them. Here, it is the impoverished upper class family, the orphan raised to be a companion and replacement for the true daughter, and the forced marriage. I think anyone who’s read a few Regency novels will recognize these elements.

I also really liked the concept of this alternate Europe. Not only did Rome and Carthage fight each other to a standstill, instead of European colonialism, a salt plague (and more than a few ravenous ghouls who climbed out of those plagued salt mines) led to the mass exodus of West African tribes from the Empire of Mali across the Mediterranean Sea (on Phoenician ships, no less) to Europe where they intermingled with the Celtic tribes that had established a sort of feudal system after Rome’s fall. In a genre where the default is often assumed to be that of white European, you cannot make that assumption here and I found that incredibly refreshing. I loved how equal weight was given to the Celtic and Mande traditions, and how in this world, both cultures are respected.

Catherine is a wonderful heroine. She is competent and pragmatic, and I particularly appreciated her loyalty to her family. Despite the startling turn of events, she didn’t question the terms and accepted the price of the contract. Even at the novel’s turning point, when the truth of Catherine’s heritage is revealed, she doesn’t bear any true malice against her family and the injustice they’ve dealt her. Her first thought, instead, is that of Beatrice.

Can I also say that I adored the relationship between Catherine and Beatrice? It’s wonderful to see cousins-raised-as-sisters have a genuinely affectionate relationship — not only as family but also as friends. They aren’t the same. In fact, they’re the classic trope of being opposites: Catherine is nosy and tomboyish while Beatrice is charmingly beautiful. In another story, we wouldn’t be surprised to discover Beatrice is a spoiled brat who torments Catherine or the like. But that doesn’t happen here.

In many ways, I thought the bond between Catherine and Beatrice was the major driving force of the story. It’s Catherine’s concern for Beatrice’s welfare that helps her accept the forced marriage, and it’s Catherine’s concern for Beatrice that brings her back even when she didn’t have any real reason to return. And I was also thrilled to discover Beatrice had a spine of steel as well in the second half of the book.

As for the romance, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect of the forced marriage between Catherine and Andevai. I’m ambivalent on this trope so I like to think I approached that aspect with an open mind. I was very surprised. It was nice to see Catherine and Andevai discover each other’s strengths and weaknesses, especially since Andevai was as much a victim of the contract as Catherine. It’s not a major aspect of the plot but it’s there.

This is the first installment of a trilogy, and like many fantasy trilogies, the story is not complete in this single volume. I did think the book ended at a good stopping point, but I definitely see why some readers might feel like they were left hanging. Speaking for myself, I’m very impatient for the next book but that’s because I want to see what comes next for Catherine, Beatrice, and Andevai.

Cold Magic is touted as Regency icepunk although if it’s set in 1837, shouldn’t it be early Victorian icepunk? Regardless, I hesitate to call this steampunk although I can see why that label could also fit. I actually think gaslight on the verge of becoming steampunk is more accurate. While the novel is very much devoted to Catherine’s story, we are treated to rising tensions in the background between the established order of the cold mages and the impending Industrial Revolution which promises flying dirigibles and other technological wonders. I suspect these will come to the forefront in the sequels.

In the end, I’m pleasantly surprised to discover that description which introduced me to Cold Magic was accurate. I understand that it could put off potential readers because the various elements seem so discordant but I thought you made them work. I felt like you packed a lot of stuff into 500+ pages, and it resulted in something nuanced and layered. I like that in my fantasy, and I’m thrilled to have discovered you. So much so that I’m going to look up your backlist. A-

My regards,
Jia

Book Link | Kindle | Amazon | nook | BN | Borders
| Sony

Jia is an avid reader who loves fantasy and young adult novels. She's also currently dipping her toes in the new adult genre but remains unconvinced by the prevalent need for traumatic pasts. Her favorite authors are Michelle West and Jacqueline Carey. YA authors whose works she's enjoyed include Holly Black, Laini Taylor, Ally Carter, and Megan Miranda. Jia's on a neverending quest for novels with diverse casts and multicultural settings. Feel free to email her with recommendations at [email protected]!

33 Comments

  1. Isabel C.
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:38:11

    I will have to check this out. I’ve read Kate Elliott’s other books–Spirit Gate etc–and she does terrific world building and characters.

  2. Julia Rachel Barrett
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:46:36

    This looks interesting! Just sent a sample to my kindle.

  3. KMont
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:01:09

    Can’t say how thrilled I am that you liked this book. I enjoyed it as much as you and will be looking up Elliott’s backlist as well. Cold Magic tops out at my most favorite read of the year so far.

  4. KMont
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:02:56

    Also, I’m glad you addressed what fantasy subgenre it might fit in. I thought I remembered someone, maybe on the publisher’s end, saying it was steampunk, but I didn’t feel that quite fit either. I didn’t realize there was such a thing as icepunk. This whole steampunk movement in fiction is still a little confusing to me, as to what actually fits within it.

  5. Jia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:08:08

    @KMont: Cold Magic is definitely my favorite read of the year thus far as well!

    I think it’s the publisher who’s calling it steampunk. I’m almost positive I read that somewhere on the ARC or maybe with the publicist letter that came with it. I don’t actually think there is such a thing as icepunk but if Cold Magic wants to pioneer that, I’m all for it if the books it puts out are this good.

    And to be fair, I don’t think you’re alone in your confusion about steampunk as a genre. It doesn’t help that the label keeps getting applied to fantasies that are more accurately described as gaslight or to novels in which the only thing “steampunk” is that a character wears goggles.

  6. MB
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:08:55

    I’m glad to see that you rated it so highly Jia. I have it on hold and am looking forward to reading it, especially after your review.

    I’ve had mixed feelings about other Elliott books I’ve read, so wasn’t sure about this one.

  7. Randi
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:52:26

    Sounds very intriguing, especially this idea of “Icepunk”. Putting it on my wish list.

  8. celi.a
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:54:40

    Glad to see this review – I agree with all of it. It’s also one of my favorite books of the year. SO GOOD.

  9. gwenny
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 13:34:24

    ooooooh looks really interesting…thanks for pointing this one out!

  10. Carolyn
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 14:01:19

    Jaran was the first book I read of Eliott’s and I loved it, loved the whole series. I’ve been looking forward to Cold Magic, it’s on my wish list.

    Thank you for the review, I’m glad it’s as good as the cover looks. :-)

  11. Karenmc
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 14:05:55

    Kate Elliott’s two older sisters are long-time friends of mine. The talent and smarts oozes out of that family.

  12. Jo
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 19:09:34

    This sounds so interesting. I confess complete ignorance about steampunk or icepunk. What in the world? Or what in the other world? Explain to the uninitiated, please.

  13. Dana
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 19:41:30

    I love the idea of ice/steampunk. I really want to read this but I’m holding off until I know the series is going to be finished. I was always disappointed that her Jaran series was never concluded.

  14. orannia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 19:59:32

    Ohhh. Between your and KMont’s reviews Jia I can’t wait to read this!

    I haven't been this excited about a traditional fantasy novel since Kushiel's Dart.

    But first I have to read Kushiel’s Dart, which is my challenge for next month :)

  15. Jia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 20:37:19

    @Jo: Steampunk is a subgenre of SFF, usually set in an alternate Victorian English and the Industrial Revolution has taken place except in steampunk, steam-power has taken the place of electricity to drive technological advances.

    Icepunk isn’t really a subgenre (as of yet) but in the world of Cold Magic, from the cues I picked up in the text, the ice shelf didn’t recede as much as it should have after the ice age. When the West African diaspora crossed the Mediterranean, their nobility forged alliances with the Celtic princes while their sorcerers forged alliances with the Druids. From those alliances arose the Mage Houses, home of the cold mages. Essentially, their magic is based on cold: they can make temperatures drop, fires go out, call up snowstorms, kill living things with a touch simply because they freeze them. That is what it meant by icepunk here.

    With that kind of power, they’ve ruled over Europe but the impending Industrial Revolution is threatening that, and I suspect that will play a larger role in the sequels.

  16. Jia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 20:38:48

    @Dana: It wasn’t? For some reason, I was under the impression it had been. I thought it was the series preceding this one — Crossroads? — that was ended prematurely.

  17. Dana
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 20:47:46

    @Jia: I’m not sure about her other series. But Jaran was never finished, I think she switched publishers and the series was left undone.

    I check her website maybe twice a year to see if there’s any news on Jaran, but haven’t paid much attention to her newer books. Jaran, the first book in that series, works really well as a stand-alone book, but I still want to know how how the series ends.

    I can’t help keep checking Elliott’s (and Melanie Rawn’s, still waiting for Exiles to be finished) website, hoping that there might be some news.

  18. Jia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 20:51:17

    @Dana: Oh, I’m almost positive Exiles is going to remain unfinished. I don’t think Rawn is ever going back to Captal’s Tower, which is sad but if she’s in a better place mentally, I can’t find fault with that.

  19. Dana
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 20:59:30

    @Jia: Oh, I don’t think Exiles is every going to be finished either, but I still can’t help checking her website every once in awhile. :p

  20. orannia
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 21:20:53

    Oh, I don't think Exiles is every going to be finished either, but I still can't help checking her website every once in awhile.

    Ditto – as in I keep checking the website, but I don’t think the series will ever be finished. I am very happy that Melanie Rawn is in a better place and I definitely think she should write what she enjoys, but…a small part of me wishes for just a one-page synopsis so I know how things turn out. Then again, I guess this is a great opportunity for me to decide how I would like things to end (all in my own head of course :)

  21. Estara
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 23:46:38

    If we recommend great sf by Kate Elliott, please don’t forget the Highroad trilogy she wrote when she still used the name Alis Rasmussen (it’s even set in the same universe as Jaran).

    Her single fantasy under that name, The Labyrinth Gate, is also a very good book.

  22. Tweets that mention REVIEW: Cold Magic by Kate Elliott | Dear Author -- Topsy.com
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 13:35:14

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Trent Jamieson and Kate Elliott, dearauthor. dearauthor said: NewPost: REVIEW: Cold Magic by Kate Elliott http://bit.ly/d6QMVM […]

  23. Book news, reviews, and musings 29 September 2010 | Read in a Single Sitting - Book reviews and new books
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 09:06:59

    […] Dear Author reviews Cold Magic by Kate Elliott, the first in Elliott’s Spiritwalker trilogy, and is impressed with her world-building and the quality of the characterisation. […]

  24. Cold Magic by Kate Elliott – Review
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:46:16

    […] Dear Author says: […]

  25. The Literary Horizon: The Snow Queen, Cold Magic « The Literary Omnivore
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 06:06:05

    […] Jia at Dear Author points out Eliott’s apparently amazing worldbuilding; there’s a very large helping of alternate history even before we get to the steampunk, and she loved the two female leads. Lexie at Poisoned Rationality points out the same things, as well as the earnest friendship between the two girls that feels real and refreshing. […]

  26. Cold Magic: a review « By Singing Light
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 20:00:02

    […] reviews: Dear Author Charlotte’s […]

  27. Review: Cold Magic by Kate Elliott | Smexy Books
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 22:36:46

    […] Reviews Dear Author – A- Lurv ala Mode – 5/5 […]

  28. REVIEW: Cold Fire by Kate Elliott - Dear Author
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:00:17

    […] first novel of your Spiritwalker trilogy, Cold Magic, was my favorite read of 2010. To say that I’ve been eagerly anticipating the sequel might be an […]

  29. Yay, Cold Fire! Wait, Cold Magic. Yay, anyway! | planet pooks
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 15:00:09

    […] I continue, let me say this in my defense. Here is a quote from Jia’s Dear Author review of the first book in the series, Cold Magic: I can’t tell you exactly where I learned of […]

  30. The Spiritwalker Trilogy af Kate Elliott | FantasyB
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 10:52:41

    […] Cold Magic (2010), Cold Fire (2011) og Cold Steel (arbejdstitel, endnu ikke udkommet). På dearauther.com beskrives verdenen i Kate Elliotts fantasy bøger på denne måde:“an Afro-Celtic post-Roman […]

  31. Daily Deals: Fantasy, hallucinatory books, and romance
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 14:02:11

    […] Jia is a big fan of the Kate Elliott books. I even believe that one year, Kate Elliott’s book was a DABWAHA finalist. Jia reviewed the book: […]

  32. Daily Deals: Older woman / younger man and a couple of oldies but goodies
    May 27, 2013 @ 14:02:21

    […] Jia is a fan of this series and I believe the end of the trilogy is set to be released shortly. Jia wrote in her A- review: […]

  33. REVIEW: Cold Steel by Kate Elliott
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 08:02:08

    […] loved the first novel in your Spiritwalker trilogy, Cold Magic. It introduced us to an alternate earth in which the ice shelf never receded, the Empire of Mali […]

%d bloggers like this: