Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Monday Night Links of Ebook Opinion

  • Ars Technica has a fabulous (but lengthy) post about ebooks and the evolving publisher response (mostly not helpful). Ars is waiting for Apple to take up the mantle of ebooks like it did with music. I think it won’t. Apple’s focused on gaming and why not? Video game sales were about the only entertainment item that was up last year.
  • From a different perspective is Lavie Tidhar of Apex Magazine. Her argument is that the lack of a future proofed format and the fact that paper lasts longer than bits and bytes means that print isn’t dead. Print books aren’t dead. It’s the print publishing model that seems to be on its last legs. [Thanks D Cross]
  • According to this article in the Guardian, staying away from Revolutionary Road because it looks too depressing (and for the record, the book is super depressing and therefore the trailer is being true to the story) is the only way to live a happy life because if you are seduced by happy endings you are bound for real life disappointment. [Thanks Bec].
  • Jessica from RacyRomanceReviews ordered a Kindle. It will be delivered in 5-6 weeks. She debated between Kindle and Sony but ultimately choose the Kindle because of the wireless feature, ability to annotate, and that she could return it if she didn’t like it. I know that SB Sarah has become increasingly irritated with Sir Fusspot as she has nicknamed her Kindle.
  • And in the ultimate wardrobe malfunction, Comcast gave viewers a 10 sec peek at a porn channel during the SuperBowl.
  • Someone is imagining covers of movies made into books, sixties style. I love it. My favorite might be Shaun of the Dead. [Via Scalzi]

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

13 Comments

  1. Angela James
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:13:58

    I know that SB Sarah has become increasingly irritated with Sir Fusspot as she has nicknamed her Kindle.

    I don’t miss the Kindle.

    But I do think Amazon offers better customer service than Sony for issues with their respective readers as well as returns.

  2. Fae Sutherland
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:45:30

    And in the ultimate wardrobe malfunction, Comcast gave viewers a 10 sec peek at a porn channel during the SuperBowl.

    Comcast did the same thing during a wrestling ppv several months ago lol. It was…quite the eye-opener and “LESBIAN PR0N WUT?!?” has become a running joke amidst all my friends who were at my house to watch it that night. Oh, Comcast, how you fail.

  3. Bonnie
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:51:40

    I know that SB Sarah has become increasingly irritated with Sir Fusspot as she has nicknamed her Kindle.

    What? When? Where? What’s happened with her Kindle?

  4. Jessica G.
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:57:05

    So are those existing book covers and they picked movie titles for them? Or did someone make them?

    Either way, that is pretty cool.

  5. Jessica
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:57:05

    Jane,

    Now that I think on it, the deal breaker for me was the lack of Mac support from Sony. I guess I don’t want to reward Sony with my business when they have turned their back on Apple.

    All Kindle eyes are now on February 9. Will it signal the emergence of Bubble Boy? Or a design Kindle owners can be proud to wield?

  6. Samantha
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 20:57:59

    The pr0n clip was actually closer to 30 seconds, one website had up clip of it, someone video-ing their dvr’d screen. While I’m glad it didn’t happen here I so don’t want to have that talk with my 7 year old yet….. it was freaking hilarious!!! No penetration or anything but he literally stood up and waggled it around. I’m kinda embarrassed cause the actor’s name is Evan Stone, he does skinimax and regular pr0n please don’t ask why I know his name but seriously couldn’t we get him on some covers?

  7. Jane
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 21:01:33

    @Jessica Technically, the Kindle has no Mac support either. It is completely untethered so it has turned its back on both the Mac and the PC.

  8. Jane
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 21:01:54

    @Jessica G. The blogger I linked to made the covers up.

  9. (Jān)
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 22:52:05

    I added a link to the Ars Technica article. Hope you don’t mind.

  10. Jessica
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 06:02:04

    @Jane: I hadn’t thought of it that way. You’re right. Although, since the Kindle is independent of any computer, this doesn’t pose an issue for me the way Sony’s lack of support does. I can unbox the Kindle, turn it on, and start using it. That’s very appealing to me. We’ll see if ease of use is enough of a positive to overcome the negatives of the Kindle.

  11. Jane
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 10:32:35

    @Jessica I think there are only two real downsides for the Kindle. The first is not being able to bargain shop as much (at least that is one of the things that SB Sarah mentions). The second is the lack of organization on the Kindle itself. It has no folder, tagging, collection support so the books are dumped onto the memory and you have to sift through them. It’s harder (but not impossible) to manage your TBR collection that way.

  12. Jane
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 10:48:34

    @(Jān) thank you!

  13. XandraG
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 13:06:12

    Wow…if some of the comments in the Ars Technica post are true, and that the bookstores are leaning on the publishers to shy away from ebooks…then they’re both circling a drain that leads nowhere good. Failing bookstores leaning on struggling publishers props up nobody. And the pirates are winning. Sheesh.

%d bloggers like this: