Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Guess That Book

In the grand tradition of the Smart Bitches Trashy Books’ Guess That Lonely Heart, Dear Author presents its first (and probably last) book quiz.

What famous romance author’s book features a lesbian love scene and concludes with the heroine having her cake and eating it too. (pun kind of intended).

Excerpt:

“Are you going to marry him?”

“I imagine.”

“What about me?”

Eugenia put the bathroom light out and felt through the darkness for Theresa’s hand. When she found it, she clasped it and led her to the bed. Then she pulled her down beside her.

“I also love you, Theresa,” she said. “Please sleep with me tonight,” she added. Eugenia knew full well that she would say “yes” to Drew, and would be sleeping with him every night after this one.

“But how?” Theresa asked, cuddling up next to Eugenia.

Eugenia sighed. She would have it both ways. Drew had played his games, she would now play her own.

“We’ll manage, my sweet,” Eugenia said, kissing Theresa softly on the lips.

Guess the author and the book and we’ll send you a copy of the book and $5.00 gift certificate from Fictionwise.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

24 Comments

  1. Susan/DC
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 12:53:51

    The first book that comes to mind is Jennifer Crusie’s “Fast Women”, although the lesbian scene is quite mild. What I love about the book is one of my favorite scenes in a romance novel: Nell, the heroine, looks around the restaurant table and sees her lover, Gabe, his cousin, Riley, her best friend, Susie, her ex-husband, and his new wife. She remarks that, with the exception of her ex’s new wife, she’s had sex with everyone at the table. Both her announcement and the reaction are hysterical, and I’ll go to my grave swearing that this is one of the best First Wife’s revenge scenes ever.

  2. Meljean
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 13:05:36

    Note to self: go buy Fast Women

  3. Chantal
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 13:48:06

    Fresh in my mind is Succubus on Top by Richelle Mead.

  4. Ann Bruce
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 13:56:37

    I’m with Susan/DC. I love that restaurant scene!

  5. Meredith
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 14:21:45

    well, Cooking up a Storm by Emma Holly sort of has this…not sure if that’s right or not.

    But there is a lesbian scene and she does end up with the guy who is a chef, who then says it’s ok if she sleeps with other guys/people as long as he has the right of final refusal.

    That’s my guess.

  6. ames
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 16:39:00

    LOL @ Meljean. That was my thought too. :P

  7. Rosario
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 03:37:51

    Also thinking of Emma Holly here, but Ménage. There’s a lesbian scene, and the ending fits Jane’s description.

  8. Rebecca
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 13:00:02

    I’m guessing lynne cheney’s famous attempt at a romance novel.

  9. Rebecca
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 13:01:46

    sorry.. it’s called Sisers by Lynne Cheney

  10. Lisa W
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 13:36:28

    I think I read this book waaay back in the 90′s. I can’t recall the name but maybe this will help someone else to do so.

    The plot was this couple (Drew and Eugenia?)going to live and work on a farm where Eugenia’s sister also lived. Somehow Drew got injured and Theresa had to work the farm by herself. I don’t know why the sister couldn’t help, maybe she was taking care of Drew? Than she began to really “take care of Drew” if you know what I mean and I think you do. Anyway I think the sister got pregnant and Eugenia left the farm and when to the city. Where she inherited or won a whore house. I believe this story takes place in the late 1800s or early 1900s.

    Anyway Eugenia falls into love/lust with Theresa one of the working girls who specializes in the ladies. Eugenia’s sister dies in childbirth I think and Drew finds her and wants to put the past behind them, he’s always loved her, he was just weak etc etc etc.

    Now as I said I read this a long time ago and I could just be pulling this out of a million different books but I think this is the one. Now if only I could think of the name.

  11. Janine
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 15:14:18

    I want to read this book!

  12. Shannon Stacey
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 15:20:31

    I know it!

    It’s Eugenia’s Embrace by…*drum roll*…Cassie Edwards. (Or whoever happened to write it first.)

    When I was a teenager, I devoured this one. Ever so scandalous.

    I’m so embarrassed.

  13. Ann Bruce
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 15:52:20

    I’m so going to hell for this…

    Janine, if you get your hands on the book, please post a review.

  14. Shannon Stacey
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 16:01:49

    Oh, and if I should be correct, please substitute Janine’s name for mine. *evil chuckle*

  15. Lisa W
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 16:19:03

    Thank you Shannon Stacey, I would have never remembered the name of that book. I think it is the only Cassie Edwards book that I have ever read.

    Don’t be embarrassed, I too was a teenager when I read this book. I think it was because it was scandalous at the time that drew me too it. I mean come on you have a hero who was an unadulterated jerk to put it mildly. A heroine who spent her time watching her employees, who I think were sisters if not twins have sex with customers. The first girl on girl I’d ever encountered in romance, and a whore who seemed to be too good for all of them. Or at least too good for Drew and Eugenia.

    Janine, save your self the misery, even at 15 or so I knew it wasn’t good. But like a car wreck you just can’t look away.

  16. Lisa W
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 16:22:20

    Oh, and by the way I only read this book once a good 20 years ago and yet it's burned into my memory

  17. MoJo
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 16:33:14

    Or whoever happened to write it first.

    That made me laugh for night on 2 minutes.

  18. Janine
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 16:51:58

    Okay, it doesn’t sound like something I should read. Maybe I’ll try Fast Women instead.

  19. Lisa W
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 17:28:24

    Fast Women is a much better book in every way.

  20. Jane
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 20:08:20

    Shannon – you are right! ding. ding. ding. and Lisa, you are right as well about the plot of the book. Frankly, though, I thought it was much better written than the stilted excerpts that included the copying. I think Robin is considering reviewing it.

    I have to admit I was completely gobsmacked when I read the book. I had to read the ending about three times to see if it said what I actually thought it said. For a book published in the early 80s in the romance genre, I certainly thought it was cutting edge.

  21. Charlene Teglia
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 21:23:11

    Holy cow. Cassie Edwards wrote girl on girl? *blink blink blink*

  22. Robin
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 16:16:47

    For a book published in the early 80s in the romance genre, I certainly thought it was cutting edge.

    Which is why, I think, we were both so surprised and even impressed, which at least for me was no easy feat in the midst of everything else associated with Edwards these past few weeks. In a way it deepened the mystery of the copying, but it also made me curious about Edwards in a different, less frustrated, way. And yes, if I can squeeze in reading it, I’ll definitely review it.

    Than she began to really “take care of Drew” if you know what I mean and I think you do.

    I don’t know why, but this is still cracking me up.

  23. Sherry Thomas
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 20:08:57

    Color me shocked. Frankly I thought it might be Lynne Cheney too, except I was under the impression that it was some sort of a western and the *ahem* Sisterly love happened under a wagon.

  24. Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary » Blog Archive » Winners
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 20:53:30

    [...] check your spam folder if you don’t see anything from Dear Author. The second winner of the “guess that book” contest is Shannon [...]

%d bloggers like this: