Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Friday Midday Links: Tributes to Monica Jackson; S&S Settles with State...

Karen Scott wrote a lovely tribute to Monica Jackson as did Laura Vivanco.  They are worth reading and remembering.

Deals

All Romance eBooks is offering a rebate of 30% on all Kensington books.
Books on Board:  All “qualifying” fiction titles with a min list price of $4.00 AND with a street date sale before January 1, 2012, is 40% off.
  • Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes * $1.59 * A | BN | K | S – these two books are YA stories featuring a female alpha.
  • Trial by Fire by Jennifer Lynn Barnes * $1.59 * A | BN | K | S
  • The Duchess of Love by Sally MacKenzie * $1.99 * A | BN | K | S
  • Dark Whispers by Samantha Garver * $1.99 * A | BN | K | S
  • What A Woman Needs by Caroline Linden * $2.99 * A | BN | K | S

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

12 Comments

  1. Brie
    May 18, 2012 @ 12:05:43

    “This is the second self published book to be optioned for a movie in as many weeks.”

    Which one was the first?

  2. Courtney Milan
    May 18, 2012 @ 12:17:23

    @Brie: It was probably Hugh Howey’s WOOL. Which is, incidentally, really good. It reminded me of post-apocalyptic Ray Bradbury.

  3. Jane
    May 18, 2012 @ 12:19:39

    @Courtney Milan: @Brie: Yes, it was Wool. I never reported it because it wasn’t a romance. Wool was optioned by none other than Ridley Scott:

    http://screencrush.com/ridley-scott-wool/

  4. Robin/Janet
    May 18, 2012 @ 12:44:10

    I know Monica struggled with various health issues over the years, but, as others have pointed out, her life force seemed so expansive that it’s difficult to believe she would die, let alone so prematurely. True activists are rare, I think, in part because it takes an incredible, almost myopic focus, and also because it keeps you so unremittingly in an provocative, even adversarial position, sometimes with those who share your general views. Monica was a genuine activist, one of the very, very few in the genre, I think. Definitely a unique and powerful voice.

    Condolences to her daughter and her family.

  5. Annemarie
    May 18, 2012 @ 12:52:29

    How about some sweeping historical epics adapted from romances? Espionage movies adapted from romances? Gritty crime adapted from romances? I’d amputate a finger for a big screen adaptation of “Silent in the Grave.”

  6. Lada
    May 18, 2012 @ 13:44:21

    Has anyone here read On the Island? (Didn’t find a review, sorry if I missed it.) I’d never heard of it and am surprised to see so much interest in a 30 year old heroine with an “almost 17 year old” hero. Not sure I care what the circumstances are…still find it kinda sqwicky. The writing must be hella good.

  7. joanneL
    May 18, 2012 @ 14:25:29

    I just bought the novella The Duchess of Love by Sally MacKenzie because I’ve never read anything of hers.

    I don’t normally care much what another author says about a book she recommends but Lisa Kleypas said it was “The romance equivalent of chocolate cake…” and honestly, at least it will be calorie free. Thanks for the link.

  8. MaryK
    May 18, 2012 @ 14:54:18

    @Lada: I’m pretty sure they’re stuck on the island for a while and he’s 18 before anything significant happens. I haven’t read it yet but I enjoyed the Kindle sample enough to buy it. There are several reviews at Goodreads.

    http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/276502974

    There’s another one I liked but now I can’t find it. Wish Goodreads would let me see what I’ve “liked.”

  9. Kristi
    May 18, 2012 @ 15:36:26

    I read On the Island and it was amazing. I was squeamish about starting it but my online bookclub was RAVING about it so I finally started and just fell in love. Emotional and awesome!

    Makes me glad that I try new things once in awhile!

  10. Bitchie
    May 18, 2012 @ 16:40:14

    On The Island was amazing, one of the BEST books I’ve read in years, and definitely the best self pubbed book I’ve ever read. The story was excellent, I loved the characters, and the editing was rock solid. It made me laugh, it made me cry.

    I was kinda iffy too at first, on the age thing, but the way the story unfolded was just beautiful. I hope the movie gets the proper treatment.

  11. Brie
    May 18, 2012 @ 17:05:35

    @Courtney Milan: @Jane: thanks! WOOL sounds like a great book.

  12. MaryK
    May 18, 2012 @ 23:13:33

%d bloggers like this: