Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

Dear Ms. Meyer:


My blogging partner, Jayne, commented to me a week or so ago that I had better love this book else I would die at the point of the exclamation mark considering the liberal use of them by your fans. I am prepared to be skewered because Eclipse was even a bigger disappointment than New Moon.

Eclipse Stephenie MeyerEclipse continues the saga of Edward, the vampire, and Bella, his mortal lover. Bella is the narrator of this story, as she was the narrator of the previous two, Twilight and New Moon. The previous conflict is that Edward does not want to turn Bella into a vampire despite it being the only way for the two of them to be together. Because of the danger to Bella’s life by remaining human, Edward has reluctantly given in and the date for turning Bella is set for after graduation.

The conflict in Eclipse is the bringing to a head the artificial love triangle that you attempted to create in New Moon between Bella, Edward and Jacob, a werewolf. Werewolves and vampires are ancient enemies but since Edward’s family came into existence, an uneasy truce has taken place. Edward’s family are the “vegetarians” of vampire world, feeding off of animals instead of humans. The truce remains in place unless the vampires “turn” a local which is the plan with Bella.

Jacob, Bella’s bestfriend and werewolf, is hurting because Bella has chosen Edward over him. Much of the novel focuses around Bella and her interaction with the La Push werewolves. When Bella visits Jacob because he is “hurting” (from her rejection), he sees this as an opportunity to convince Bella that he is the better choice. After all, his heart beats and Edward’s does not. Edward is an abomination and Jacob is nature’s way of controlling those abominations. Bella, despite her love for Edward, goes on long hand-in-hand walks with Jacob; spends intimate quiet moments with him in the woods, allows him to put his head in her lap, pets his fur when he is changed.

Despite these continued intimacies, Bella declares that Jacob knows that they are just friends and Edward tolerates these visits because it is what Bella wants. And in this story, what Bella wants, she gets. She is the epitome of the Too Stupid to Live heroine. Her friends are werewolves and vampires, yet, when a major battle is to take place, she wants to be on the battlefield despite being told time and again her presence could be distracting. She insists on placing herself in danger to be a “help.” She is injury prone but dislikes taking precautions such as wearing a helmet while on a motorcycle or listening to Edward when he says that she should be careful of her person. Her “oh, I’ll be fine” mantra wears thin.

There is a suspense plot that weaves its way through the story. It’s a weak one as it is obvious to me and to anyone who has read the previous two books who is threatening Bella but it doesn’t seem to occur to anyone until the last possible moment.

There are many problems in this world besides the poor suspense thread. Previous sources of conflict wink out of existence. Edward could never stand prolonged intimacy with Bella as the desire to take her blood would overcome him. In Eclipse, Edward is simply over that. Bella has always longed to be a vampire. Yet, when it is offered to her, she changes her mind. And then changes it again. And then again. Another false barrier in the form of Bella’s desire not to be married is erected presenting still another weak excuse for internal conflict between Bella and Edward. It was clear to me that once the decision to remake Bella into a vampire was made, all natural tension evaporated and thus the author had to manufacture false conflict after false conflict to keep the storyline interesting.

You present Bella as a modern day Cathy with two good choices instead of two bad choices. The problem is that the choice, like the conflicts, is false. We know that Bella has no interest in Jacob and the relationship between them is fostered artificially. Bella feels the need to “be” with Jacob because he is hurting from her decision to be with Edward. Instead of a clean break, she continues to perpetuate Jacob’s belief that he can change her mind. I think at some point we are to feel sorry for Jacob yet, as he tells the story of wolf imprinting, it becomes clear that Bella is not the one for him, but the one he wants, which ultimately means that nature will take its course and heal Jacob, creating still another false conflict.

Edward is really a prop in this book. Any serious emotional interaction takes place between Bella and Jacob. Edward becomes a caricature, lacking any range or depth. The most interesting tales were the mythology behind the werewolves and the story of how Rosalie and Jasper, two of Edward’s vampire clan, came to be turned. The rest of the story was difficult to read, in part, because of Bella’s myopia and lack of self awareness, but mostly because the conflicts were manufactured. One of the most stunning examples of this is when Bella is sleeping but awakens in a fog to overhear a lengthy conversation between Edward and Jacob about how Edward doesn’t mind that Jacob is pursuing Bella.

It is hard to say at what point I realized that this would be my last Meyer novel, at least my last Meyer novel narrated by Bella. Bella is simply too immature of a character, the conflicts too false, for me to want to continue this series. The unnatural way in which this series was elongated through the insertion of this supposed love triangle has killed even my desire to re-read Twilight, which was one of my books of the year in 2005. C-

Best regards,

Jane

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

175 Comments

  1. Jana J. Hanson
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 12:44:50

    Ugh — I just bought this book! This is my weekend reading. It’s too bad I might be disappointed. New Moon didn’t meet my expectations either.

    (And I think Ms. Meyer is writing a book from Edward’s pov. I think…)

  2. Holly
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 12:46:42

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I just posted my review of this as well, and it read basically the same as yours, though you said what I wanted to more eloquently.

    What a terrible disappointment.

  3. Devon
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 14:32:09

    I’m not listening! I’m not listening!
    (Hands over eyes. Or something.)
    That’s what I get for reading a review of a book I really want when I saw the letter grade to begin with.

    At least I know now not to read Holly’s review, although I have a sense of foreboding if the both of you don’t like it.

  4. Sarah
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 14:35:46

    This review has pretty much killed any desire I had to read this book.

    I’ll still get it at the library when my name comes up on the hold list but my expectations and hopes are gone. And that’s too bad cause I loved Jacob.

  5. Christine
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 15:10:51

    i Love eclipse! all three of them. ive never read anything to keep me turning the pages so fast.

  6. Estelle
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 15:20:19

    How funny, I’ve just posted about my huge disappointment over at AAR and I was wondering if I was the only one who did not like the book. I reserved my judgment after New Moon because I felt it wouldn’t be fair since it was so obviously a ‘middle’ book. I thought that a great third book would make a nice three-book-arc. Not so.

    What really got me angry was that Meyer had Bella be suddenly in love with Jacob (but loving Edward more *rolls eyes*) out of the blue when she’d just spent 2 and a half books thinking of nothing but Edward. I really did not understand this move.

    But I’m very interested in reading Midnight Sun, Twilight from Edward’s point of view, I hope it will be published soon. I really enjoyed the first chapter Meyer made available. Edward is a much more interesting character than what I thought from reading Bella’s point of view.

  7. Holly
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 15:27:16

    But I'm very interested in reading Midnight Sun, Twilight from Edward's point of view, I hope it will be published soon. I really enjoyed the first chapter Meyer made available. Edward is a much more interesting character than what I thought from reading Bella's point of view.

    So am I, Estelle. I’d love to read things from Edwards POV. Or even from Jacob’s.

  8. Tara Marie
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 04:01:21

    This review has pretty much killed any desire I had to read this book.

    Ditto, not that my desire level was all that high to start with. Loved Twilight, but New Moon–not so much. I wasn’t all that excited about this one to start with. To be honest I’ve wondered what Edward’s motivation has been from the start, he may look like a teenager, but he’s an adult–why is he so attracted to her, she’s immature and clueless like most girls her age. So maybe my next one will be Midnight Sun instead.

  9. Jackie
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 08:07:33

    I've wondered what Edward's motivation has been from the start, he may look like a teenager, but he's an adult-why is he so attracted to her, she's immature and clueless like most girls her age.

    An Angel/Buffy thing, maybe?

  10. Shelly@Bewitched
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 22:21:14

    I’m getting ready to read this one and I agree about Bella. She annoys the piss out of me. I like the other characters and I had hoped that this one would be about Jacob finding someone — not more Bella/Edward angst. We already know they are going to get the HEA so move on to other characters! I also have this coming in audio and if you think she’s annoying on paper you should hear her words out loud…. :)

  11. Jane
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 23:35:48

    Shelly, I can’t even imagine the torture that would be. Can’t wait to hear/read your thoughts.

  12. Vickee
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 07:17:22

    AH! i am so angry! How could bella betray edward..

  13. Kristina Cook
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 10:14:01

    I actually read Eclipse in one sitting last night–stayed up till 3 a.m. I have similar disappointments–mostly, I just don’t buy the love triangle, same as Jane. It just seems false to me, and it annoys me that Bella just continues to lead him on, knowing how he feels.

    But….that aside, I guess I’m like Bella in that I am SO seduced by Edward–that I was somehow able to enjoy it anyway (much more so than New Moon, which has regrettably VERY little Edward in it!). I enjoyed it a lot, actually. If Edward’s on the page, I’m a happy camper.

    But I do share Jane’s gripe about disappearing conflict–part of what was so dark and sexy and fascinating about Edward was the idea that he’s *constantly* battling his desire to sink his teeth into Bella; constantly tamping down the urge to lose control with her. With that conflict gone, it really takes a lot away from the tension. Here I’ve been hoping for this great scene where Bella pushes him too far (as she did in this book–trying to seduce him!) and he almost completely loses it. Instead, we’re given a restrained, totally in control (on the surface, at least), gentleman-like Edward.

    And yeah, I’d much prefer it if Edward was still dead against changing her–no matter what–right up until something forces his hand.

    Ah, well. It was still a B for me, but again, I’m easy where Edward is concerned.

  14. Sushma
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 18:21:04

    New Moon was bad, but Eclipse was just horrible. I think, Twilight was the only good one. Bella is so annoying!!

  15. drea
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 22:49:48

    i hate the fact bella loves Jacob! i didn’t like reading the book when bella and jacob were together!

  16. chic
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 00:10:37

    i actually liked the twilight series and have all the books and eclispe was a good book the only bad thing i have to say about the book was the ending i’m not gonna say it to those who haven’t read it lets just say it was quiet shocking and terribly annoying

  17. Chantal
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 08:55:54

    I read Twilight but it didn’t think it was all that great. It was just okay. It didn’t make me want to read the seocnd book. I didn’t fall for Edward. I don’t even remember much about Bella.

  18. Sandie
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 13:54:23

    I read the whole series and was so anxious to get the last book. I was so disappointed in the ending. I felt like it left you hanging. I mean you find out about the whole imprinting thing with Jake and yet at the end he is miserable and wants to stay in wolf form so he can deal with his feelings. Then you wonder did Edward really turn Bella or did she change her mind yet again. Really disappointing.

  19. Veronica
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 14:33:51

    YEA I’m Pissed….
    i mean ONE i cannot BELIEVE she is in love with Jacob now TOO
    what the heck
    i fell in love with the fact that it was Edward and Bella
    I don’t HATE Jacob but I still think that Edward is more right for her
    and OOOOOO Some of the scenes between Edward and Bella Pissed Me off
    It was like teasing!
    so lame i hope she makes Jacob find someone else and Bella stays with Edward
    cause i think thats really where her hearts at
    well at least i hope so
    That girl just really pissed me off in this book you guys are right she is way to immature for all this
    Gosh i hate this lol
    i didnt even like reading NEW MOON when it was just Bella and Jacob I seriously had to look towards the back of the book to make SURE Edward would come back cause i couldn’t deal with it the only reason i kept turning pages was because she started hearing his voice i just wanted him to come back
    I think i started crying when he left her in the beginning
    she was DEAD with out him and now her heart is torn in two??
    she loves Jacob but she loves Edward more?? please…..

  20. Veronica
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 15:05:38

    I hope the next one doesn’t disappoint me..I didn’t hate this one …I mean i finished it in less then two days…i was just disappointed with the whole love Triangle…

  21. Megen
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 18:56:41

    I was really shocked out how Eclipse turned out! I mean, I thought that the book would be just about Bella and Edward!!! I had to read New Moon twice because I was really bored with Jacob and Bella so i skipped to the back and read about Bella and Edward, then went back to Bella and Jacob. How can love Eward and kinda sorta like Jacob at the same time, wat does that mean!!!Just stick to edward!!! (GOSH!) At first I could sleep until Eclipse was out and to find that it was a disapointment…was just sad!!! Not i’m waiting For Morning Sun to be done and released!!!

  22. hannah
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 21:47:37

    *sigh*

    I wanted to love Eclipse. I really did. I did love some parts, mainly the Edward parts. I think the whole Bella/Jacob thing totally lessened the magic between Bella and Edward-for me at least. I’m a firm believer in ‘theres only one person you’re meant to be with’ So, the fact that she loved them both just… i don’t know, confused me i guess. It was hard to believe that Edward could be so calm about it all. I mean, you would expect him to at least be hurt when he finds out that Bella is in love with Jacob. He just.. doesn’t seem to react. I did like the scene where Bella is trying to tear off the bracelet- and he says “don’t. it’s part of you now” I mean, i loved that- and i hated it.

    Eclipse just confused me. I need to read it again to see what my second impression is. I hated New Moon at first, and now i don’t. So hopefully the same will hold true with Eclipse..

    i just left me with a bad taste.

  23. Lucy
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 15:27:24

    Wow…I cant believe that so many of you disliked the book and/or were dissapointed by it. I preferred Eclipse to New Moon by SOO much because New Moon had like barely any Edward, and, like some of you, I am totally in LOVE with him. I think the fact that Bella learns that she also loves Jacob is totally CRAPPY…because I would definately not choose that scum-bad DOG over such a beautiful Vampire. I mean…who would? But, the only uspide to that conflict, in my opinion, was that it really thickened the pure hatered between Edward and Jacob…and all the conversations they had were usually pretty entertaining. I think in the next book, Edward (or Bella if she FINALLY becomes a Vampire…ITS TAKEN LONG ENOUGH MRS. MEYER!!!!) should just slaughter stupid Jacob…hes totally ruining everything! I really hate the fact — along with the fact that Bella has a shallow love for him — that Bella cares if they fight or something…even if it was Jacob’s fault! Its totally recidulous. In my personal opinion…I loved Eclipse and Im almost done reading it for the third time….but I dont think that I will be able to survive a WHOLE YEAR without getting another chapter in the story of Bellas completely messed up life (god girl…stick with the sexier, cooler, AWESOMER of the two…Jacob’s just totally stupid…he broke her hand anyway :P). All in all..I LOVED the book! :)

  24. Bev
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 16:00:39

    You know what? I felt weird at the end of Eclipse. I guess I thought we would get further along in the story; I expected it would be about Bella’s new life as a vamp.

    I will definitely be hard to wait for the next one. I almost wish they were all publised when I read them.

    I like Jacob as a friend for Bella, not as a soul mate. But you know what? I buy the love triangle and I think it represents her two choices well. Anyone (who maybe is a little older) probably knows what its like to feel completely conflicted, torn, confused, at a cross-roads.

    **Sigh**

    I guess I’ll just have to be patient…

    Ps – has anyone found any exerpts online from Eclipse? I enjoyed reading those from the first 2 books as much as the first 2 books. Also, any clue what the sequel is called? Someone mentioned Morning Sun but I couldn’t confirm that online…

  25. Bev
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 20:54:08

    I found it….Breaking Dawn, out in Sept 08.

  26. anonymous
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 21:14:35

    Didn’t like Twilight. Could NOT figure out why everyone didn’t see Bella’s endless supply of TSTL. Felt like I was the only reader on earth who disliked it. And the writing was terrible — plodding, pedantic, boring, awkward. 500 pages, maybe two good scenes.

    Never read NM or Eclipse, obviously, but this might be the first time I’ve ever agreed with DA on a review — though I felt this way about Twilight, not the sequels.

    that being said, I found the excerpt from Edwards POV on her website riveting.

  27. Maria
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 05:14:08

    I disagree COMPLETELY. I rather enjoyed Eclipse. Bella has good intentions and as for her being immature, I’m sure someone fresh out of highschool would seem that way in contrast to centuries old vampires. Perhaps if you spent more time READING the book and less time trying to find fault each scene you would enjoy it. If you try, you can find fault with any book. Even a book like Eclipse. Especially a book like Eclipse because though it was good it was one of those painful, straining, awkward books. But that does not make it a bad book. Just more like life.

  28. georgia
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 06:27:10

    i think its just that bella has found new sides to her self and that she doesn’t know wich one she wants to be and act. but on that line i still loooooove edward!! but i think that jacob has some attraction because he is warm and doesn’t alwas have to be in control the way edward does. any way even if it doesn’t tell you the ending you know that bella will end up with edward. even though edward is portreyed to be the “bad guy” or sort of he is still the guy that bella met first and fell in love with first! jacob is just the guy that helped her though the love of her life leaving. if jacob was a girl but with all of jacobs peersonality, would bella choose a girl over edward. HELL FREAKEN NOOOOO!!!
    i hope…
    and to all the people who didn’t like new moon think of the book just as a lesson bella had to lean before she could really grow up and know her heart. when you read the book dont look for all the big exiting stuff. look for the emotional stuff that brough tears to my eyes because i could relate to it.
    like when bella’s father tells Alice what had happend to bella when edward had left. it is really touching and it goes back to what bella and edward had in common in twilight, why they fell in love. it also shows you how one action on edwards behalf not only effects him and bella but others as well. i think that twilight was good book even if it didn’t have as much edward in it as i would have liked.
    as you do
    keep reading vamp and fiction books and if you cant find one you like write your own i am. you might find hidden talents of writing and listening when you do.
    NO SHEEET SHERLOCK
    nerd much!! heh heh :)

    oh and about breaking dawn
    IT IS GOIN TO BE BOHEMETH
    if twilight was the size it was in bellas side of the story think what edwards is goin to be like.

  29. Susan
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 09:14:07

    I’m not quite sure how I feel about Eclipse. To me, it felt like Eclipse was emotionally superficial compared to the depth Twilight and, especially, New Moon had. The plot of New Moon was definitely necessary for the ‘middle-novel’ of the saga so that Bella would understand that Edward really was her’s. It was also nice to see her being friends with someone who wasn’t a vampire and developing some personal strength, outside of relying on Edward’s allthe time. But, keeping in mind the timeframe of New Moon and Eclipse (just a couple of weeks apart) it’s hard to understand how Jacob goes from merely being upset over Bella consorting with the Cullens, again, to declaring his undying love and devotion and Edward not really seeming to care about this.

    Dissimilary, I liked the fact that she was somewhat hesitant to marry Edward. Not that I don’t feel he’s her soulmate and all that, it’s just that, as a teenager who’s going to graduate highschool next year, it’s hard to imagine being married right away, especially with so many things up in the air in your life. Granted, she’s becoming a vampire so she can be with him forever, but it’s reasonable for her to want to wait, even just a little bit.

    I’m really not a fan of the Edward-Bella-Jacob love triangle because it’s blatantly obvious that Edward has Bella’s heart and is going to keep it. However, when Bella mentions something to the effect of her life taking it’s course with Jacob if there weren’t monsters in the world provided some form of weak justification for it. The fact that Bella proclaims her feelings of friendship for Jacob over and over again, and then suddenly realizes she loves him didn’t seem realistic at all. The fact that Edward’s emotions over their relationship range from apathy to over-powering jealousy was quite strange and hard to read.

    With the above elements of the story leaving me unsure of my feelings towards the book, the series of mysterious killings in Seattle pushed me over the fence, so to speak. I hated the looming conflict in this novel. It was obvious to anyone who’d read Twilight and New Moon what was going on with the ‘new-born’ army in Seattle. It seemed utterly convenient that Victoria began breeding her new-born army after being in the South for such a short period of time (she was running through it – hiding out; she couldn’t have spend that much time there with the timeframe of the book), very strange the Volturi never interveened with the death toll being so high (seeing as how is appears that Aro, Marcus, and Caius like Carlisle a good deal and the jealousy in Aro’s head was only a fleeting thought), and absurd that none of the supposed-to-be-genius vampires never caught on before the very last second – after Bella, who’s train of thought isn’t exactly logical or coherant, realizes that yes, everything in the Twilight-universe does revolve around her. I think the book would have been better if the Volturi really did want the Cullens to die instead of, yet another, impossible sequence of event conspiring against Bella (with every other charcter being caught in the current and being willing to die to save her).

    I’d give this book a 5/10. Hopefully Breaking Dawn is better. If this series ends with Bella whining over how she wishes she didn’t become a vampire or how she should have chosen Jacob or how she really did love Jacob more than Edward, it will be a HIGHLY dissapointing ending to what had such a fantastic beginning.

  30. us.littlefairy
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 09:34:46

    Well I love these books. I Eclipse did have a really bad ending. I’m not a big fan of Jacob so I really hated the way it ended with him insted Bella or Edward. I also felt the book built up all this stuff with Edward and Bella in the last book and then newer really got to any of it in this book. I do see how Bella could love Jacob. Jacob was there for her when she was at her lowest point in life. It was Jacob who started to heal Bella and she could have stayed with Jacob but her life felt incomplete without Edward. That doesn’t mean she couldn’t still love him. He was always way more than a friend she just couldn’t emit it to her self because it felt like a betrayal to her self and what she had with Edward. she thought that if she could move on then what she had with Edward wasn’t as strong as she really thought it was. Over all I loved this book but hated the ending. I was relived to see that was only the end of that but but not the books witch means she has a chance to show me what the end of this book didn’t. I have to emit that I told my self that if that was truly the end of it all I would rip the book in half because the ending was so bad. I love the rest of it just not the end. It left me angry because so much was missing and I didn’t get to see what I wanted to see happen.

  31. BCA
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 20:00:01

    Eclipse is an astonishing book and it follows agreeably with the previous two in the series (although nothing can quite compare to the captivating and enthralling essence of Twilight).

  32. marie
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 13:03:20

    i really should not read reviews before buying a book, I can’t wait for Edwards POV of Twilight though, I think I’ll just wait for that. I had a feeling that after New Moon that Ms. Meyer would go in this direction—though I had hope that she would not do so that’s why I hesitated in buying the book.

  33. Edward C.
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 15:20:34

    Ok, lets get something straight, these books are amazing, all of them, and if you are letting reviews determine whether you buy the books or not, let this one sway you the most. BUY THEM! Im a guy. I have never read romance books. I decided to take a change on twlight, read it in 2 days. the second, new moon, wasnt as good as twilight, but enjoyable still. The third was better than new moon, but not as good as twlight, twlight was the best out of the three, but the other two were well worth reading. I have also heard about the Edwards POV book, its on Meyers web site, she lets you read the first chapter, its edward pov on bella’s first day of school in Forks. Its simply compelling, and helps you understand edward much more. I don’t like to argue, so just take my word for it and go buy the books. Thanks.

  34. rubi
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 15:31:42

    was it that boring i mean i kindof liked new moon well i havent read eclipse yet but i hope your all wrong cause i been waiting to read it for a long time well heres to hope
    -rubi

  35. rubi
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 15:52:26

  36. sam
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 17:14:50

    I can not dissagree with you more.

  37. sam
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 17:20:50

    I can not dissagree with you more. I loved eclipse, I had to force myself to put it down and get some sleep. I feel bad for anyone who read your review and decided not to read it. I can’t wait untill the next one.

  38. Neha
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 18:48:18

    Well I’m on the edge here. You do have a point and then you don’t. Meyer’s books have a great equal amount of suspence and romance which keeps most readers like me involved. So there you are wrong because things are still not as predictable as usal! On the other side, i did love Twilight but when i read new moon and came across Jacob being a wearwolf, i lost it. As if one monster wasn’t enough, it really mad the story more unrealistic. But i am not hating the story…it’s still genius enough to keep me reading all of the sequels! That’s where you and i differ!

  39. Alissa
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 23:00:55

    I loved Twilight. New Moon was okay. Eclipse was horrible.

    It made me dislike Bella. She became a “dumb girl” with issues she won’t come out and say. She kept saying she didn’t want to marry Edward because it wasn’t what a smart girl would do, but I think that’s code for “my parents are divorced, I have a problem with marriage.” This doesn’t make sense at all though because in the previous books Bella kept saying she was eternally Edward’s.

    It proved to me that she doesn’t deserve Edward.

    I hated Jacob even more than I did before. I hate that he manipulates Bella to kiss him by threatening suicde. The thing I hate even more is that she is stupid enough to do it. The Bella from the previous books would not be dim enough to fall for that.

    I also thought the connections to Wuthering Heights were very forced and unneccessary. Someone who is well read can make the connections on their own. We don’t need the author to hold our hand and connect literature for us. The connections were poorly done.

    In fact the whole book was poorly done. Ms. Meyers seems to be trying to crank out books while she is still popular. All this has done is made her writing predictable, boring, and flat.

    The basic plot of each book in the series is basically the same. Be ready to be let down by a series that progressively gets worse. I will not read the next book just to be let down again.

  40. Emmett C
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 23:13:44

    I agree with you in the fact that i disliked bella more at the end of the book, i was disturbed by the fact that she wanted to sleep with edward and not get married. kinda made me think a little less of her. But i still think it was a great book, anyone can go through a book and find all the things they didnt like about it, and that seems like what you are doing. (No offense) I also think it was low what jacob did, and i think she shoulda stayed with edward no matter what.

    I think twilight was the best book, but i thought this one comes next, and i look forward to her next book, i dont know what im going to do all next summer. Hopefully she gets turned into a vampire so she wont have to deal with jacob anymore, and then the plot should change a bit. But bella does need to grow up a bit.

    Overall, i loved the book, these are the first romances i have read, seeing as how im a guy, but i plan on reading them again next year sometime. sorry to burst your bubble alissa

  41. madraih
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 23:40:23

    I’m so terribly disappointed with the book too! I wish I stopped at Twilight.
    There were moments when I wanted to smack Bella and put some sense into her. But since she’s only a fictional character (lol), I hope Edward finds another beautiful vampire who’ll be totally in love with him and they’ll become best friends too. I just wanted Bella to know how it must had felt to Edward while she continued to lead Jake on.

    I thought in this book Bella’s love for Edward would evolve and become more mature, deeper since she already know how it is to lose Edward. Instead it continued to be puppy love. Bella instead of getting more mature seems to be regressing to the level of Jake’s maturity. She seemed so mature in twilight (i.e. taking her of Renee and then keeping house for Charlie). Her character did not grow at all in the series. I noticed how she always thought of how perfect and beautiful Edward whenever she sees him. She even thought how she couldn’t believe someone as perfect and beautiful as Edward could want her. And that’s part of the reason she wanted to be a vampire so she’ll also become beautiful and be worthy of Edward’s perfection. How shallow! Is that really love? More like infatuation bordering on obsession. SM never did able to show why she loved Edward or why Edward loved her.

    Yet when Jake was away, she missed his smile and how he always able to make her happy. She felt that her sun has gone away. She never felt same way with Edward. If she loved Edward, shouldn’t he able to make her happy enough that she won’t even be able think about Jake? As all her her thoughts (or most of them anyway) are spent on Edward? If she’s really in love. Really, the author is totally inconsistent! Is this about Bella and Jake? or Bella and Edward? I had no doubt in twilight whose love story is it. But now, I just don’t know. I’m not sure I even wanna find out in the next book.1

  42. Lauren
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 07:39:06

    I have to say that I was extremely disapponited by Eclipse. In fact most of the time I couldn’t put the book down because I couldn’t believe what was happening. If SM wanted the love triangle she should have made it ALOT clearer in Twilight rather than make it seem as though Bella would only love Edward.

    Speaking of Bella I had no respect for the girl by the end of the book. When Jake first tried to kiss her I felt Ok about it mainly because she tried to punch him but I know if ANY guy I knew did that to me I would never see or speak to him again but it seemed like two days later she just forgot about it and then kissed Jacob when he was obviously using her emotions (didn’t need Edward to point that one out. also if she’s so brilliant as to figure out Victoria’s plan how come she can’t see through Jacob’s painfully obvious plan?) Character wise Edward and Bella seemed to have fallen far far away from the ones I fell in love with in Twilight and I only want to read the last to see if they can redeem themselves oh and btw if Bella is willingly gojng to become a Vampire but not get married that makes no logic sense in fact becomeing a Vampire is a much bigger commitment but marriage oh well noe that’s oh of the question.

    In the end I am throughly and utterly disappointed.

  43. ethan
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 09:39:43

    ugh, does anyone know when breaking dawn is coming out. i swear I’m going to kill myself if i actually have to wait a whole year!!! can anyone tell me when it’s going to come out….. thanks

  44. NA
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 15:43:09

    Hey you know that the movie is coming out right…..and ethan breaking dawn is coming next may of 2008 along with the forth book Midnight Sun so sorry…i guess you’re gonna kill yourself now….here’s the link to read all about it! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephenie_Meyer. Look at the section where it says upcoming

  45. tm
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 00:53:56

    I totally agree with the disappointed…. i was so confused and angry…. when bella said she “loved” (ha yeah rite) jacob i literally put the book down went into another room and threw a fit my brother came running in asking what i had broken.

    *(warning extreme jacob bashing)*
    I’ve always hated jacob (sorry for those who love him just venting rite now) i HATE HIM!!! he comes across to me as arogant, manipulative, self-abrobed, home-wrecker (maybe not that harsh but somewhere along the lines) new moon was hard for me i too had to look in the back to make sure edward was still there.

    anyway back to eclipse……
    the whole triangle seemed so unatural how can bella love edward as much as she does and then say she loves jacob too when he tricked her into kissing him!!!! and edward being so gentlemen-like about it but (like bella) i wanted him to fight or at least show a glimpse of what he was feeling i was at a point where i felt bella doesn’t deserve edward!!!

  46. Rachel Wagner
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 10:50:24

    I am happy to hear others that were disapointed with Eclipse. To be honest- I hated it. I liked Twilight and enjoyed New Moon, but this installment felt like a dime romance novel to me. She didn’t introduce any new characters and spent the whole book on the love triangle between Edward, Bella, and Jacob. I felt like the love scenes were cheesy and tiresome. I also felt that Bella was whiney and initiating. Doesn’t she understand that she can’t have 2 boyfriends? This seems to be a foreign concept to her. In addition, Meyer has taken Bella from a bold heroine and turned her into an annoying little girl whose eternal existence depends completely upon the men in her life. She even says to Jacob that she has no choices. For most of New Moon and almost all of Eclipse Bella acts like the fainting women in silent movies that must be carried everywhere and protected by their male companions. Do we really want to be spreading a message to young girls that without a strong man in their life they have no purpose to live? Please! This was such a disappointment for me.

  47. RfP
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 04:48:42

    Eclipse is featured in this week’s NY Times Editor’s Choice (“Recently reviewed books of particular interest.”) It doesn’t say much, but the attention these books are getting amazes me.

    ECLIPSE, by Stephenie Meyer. (Megan Tingley/Little, Brown, $18.99; ages 12 and up.) A werewolf and a ravishing American Nosferatu are unequal rivals for the passions of a relentlessly intense high school girl.

  48. Arika
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 12:35:40

    I could not agree more! I loved twilight and i loved New Moon, but the lack of emotion that Edward showed in Eclipse and Bella's immaturity and selfishness ruined this book for me.

  49. Emma
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 13:36:45

    I haven’t read Twilight yet but I found New Moon very irratating. I get that Bella can’t live without Edward but to follow him half way around the world…after he dumped her! Well it starts to sound a little needy.

    Over all the first book (Twilight) was a great hit, the second (New Moon) could use some work, and the third (Eclipse)…well it sound to me like it was a down right terror to read.

    Let me know if I should read it or start another series.

  50. Rebecca
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 21:26:29

    Have any of you ever been in a love triangle before? Because that is exactly what it is like. It is possible to love two people at once, and love one of them more so. I know it is a really messed up situation to be in, but it is a very real situation. Maybe that is why I like Eclipse. Yes, Bella is selfish and annoying but she is a teen. Most people in general who fall in love feel as if they cannot live without the other person. It is a very human reaction. Instead of readers judging the characters in Eclipse on how they think they should be, maybe the readers should just accept that this is how the characters are, flawed. I have a friend who is very close to Bella’s character and she annoys the hell out of me. Yet, I respect that we all may react differently to the same situations, so I accept my annoying friend…just like I accept the characters in Eclipse.

  51. Rachel Wagner
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 21:46:37

    Just because people exist that are as silly and melodramatic as the characters in Eclipse does not make the book well written and interesting. The fact still remains that Meyer failed to introduce any new characters and she wrote the romantic scenes in a cheesy, melodramatic fashion. I kept expecting a man with a cape and long mustache to leap onto each scene. That’s how cheesy it was. The nice part at the end of New Moon is that both Edward and Bella realized how much they needed each other. I felt that Bella belittled that undrestanding by loving Jake. Plus, Edward behaved in ways that no man let alone vampire would act. I tell you one thing if the man that asks me to marry him sees me kissing another man I certainly hope he’d put up more of a fuss.

  52. Mara
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 11:06:08

    I disliked Eclipse from the start. Mainly because New Moon was so annoying, so any chance Eclipse had at success with me was tiny at best. For one, it’s too long. The amount of Bella’s angst-ridden inner monologue could have been seriously cut down. Then there’s the forced love triangle that had absolutely no purpose other than pointing out that Bella and Edward are only really together because they’re addicted (wonderful way to spend eternity there…being with someone who replaces “I love you” with “I have to stay with you or I’ll die!” must wear after a few years). Then there’s Edward. Why people love this guy I will never know. The over protectiveness he displays only makes him some smothering, controlling jerk (who ironically is so selfless and wonderful he’ll let Bella fall for anyone else so long as she’s happy — a plot development that will never make sense). Any self-respecting person would have dumped him long ago. The first 200 pages of Eclipse put him solidly in the creepy boyfriend category. Jacob is little better.

    The most disturbing trend in this series leans toward how all the female characters are either weak, selfish, immoral, vain, or bitter whereas all the male characters are treated like selfless heroes saving the day. Even their more questionable acts are swept aside or completely misconstrued as heroic behavior. How does the story deal with Bella being selfish and weak? Well, she’ll become a vampire eventually so she doesn’t really need character development! Sure she’ll still be selfish and immoral (she’s a woman, after all, and they don’t have many positive attributes in the Twilight series), but at least she’ll help out in a fight. Fabulous!

  53. Jordan
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 13:35:58

    I can see why some people love Eclipse, and why some people hate it with a passion. I just began reading this series last spring, and I only read Twilight to appease my friends. Love stories weren’t really my thing, but for some reason once I started reading Twilight I couldn’t put it down. I finished Twilight in a day. New Moon took me longer, 2 days.
    I soon found myself rereading the 1st 2 books over and over again as I anxiously awaited the release of Eclipse. During this time I realized the reason I could love this romantic stuff, when I practiculy vomit every time I read mushy love stories, was because it wasn’t just a romance novel and it wasn’t just a SciFi book. The real genius behind this series is the fact that Meyer can take just the right amount of both these genres, add some very descriptive imagery, throw it all into a classical plotline blender, and come out with powerful books that almost everyone can get behind.
    After finally getting my hands on Eclipse, silly me I forgot to preorder, I devoured it in one sitting. This is where I might lose some people because I’m not always so good with words.
    I must agree with Jane, the whole entire who’s behind the vampire attacks is very obvious and I would’ve liked to here from Edward more, but I do not find this book disappointing at all.
    Sure I would’ve liked to see something big happen in this book like Bella getting turned or married, who wouldn’t? But I think why a lot of people are having problems with this book is that they don’t like the fact that characters are changing. For instance, I think the reason Edward is so much more laid back in this book is because he’s finally seeing that he can’t force Bella to do what ever he wants her to do. And as for the behavior of Jacob, be honest with yourself if you had to go up against a guy like Edward don’t you think you would be a little under handed.
    The biggest character issue I think people have is with Bella right now. But not everyone can grow up with out a rough patch of immaturity if you ask me. Bella had some real issues in the last book and I think by the end of Eclipse she redeemed herself.
    I can also see why people are having trouble with the whole love triangle thing. I wasn’t to thrilled about it myself at first, but now that I’ve had time to reflect I think understand it a little better. Jacob was there when no one else could help Bella. He helped save her from the edge of insanity. And who was there to protect her from Victoria when Edward was gone? I still don’t get the fact that she appearntly has 2 soul mates, but then again I don’t really understand what a soul mate is.
    All in all this may not have been exactly what some people where looking for, but seeing as I haven’t seen any great novels from the people who insist on slamming other people’s work I don’t know if they have any room to talk. I personally enjoy the freedom of speech more than I should, but just a helpful word of advice what goes around comes.
    P.S. That is not a threat or a promise. THIS IS JUST A FICTIONAL BOOK PEOPLE NOT A LIFE OR DEATH SITUATION! Thanx for listen to a crazy fool! :-)

  54. Penny
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 22:31:30

    Unlike Jane, I will read Breaking Dawn, because I still love the universe that Ms. Meyer created, particularly Edward and the other Cullens!

    However, I agree with every word of her review of Eclipse and then some. It was a huge disappointment, and I’d like to attribute it to rushed deadline and/or poor planning. I hope that’s the problem, and if so, I sincerely hope that Meyer will take a few deep breaths and extend out the publication plans for the final novel in this series. I loved Twilight to distraction, and even though New Moon is lacking much in the way of Edward time, I thought it was a necessary novel in so many ways. I also mistakenly thought that Bella and Edward understood one another after her epiphany at the end of New Moon. Alas ….

    I thought the love triangle was completely forced and poorly executed. If you’re going to do a love triangle, do it well. The reader should have been able to pick up subtle nuances that said: “Bella’s lying to herself about Jacob.” Instead, most of us took her at her word and were very taken aback by her sudden out-of-the-blue declaration of love, which she rapidly reversed in her own head and with Jacob on his sick-bed. She “loved” him for all of about 10 seconds by my reckoning, before that smaller section of her heart severed itself free or whatever the phrasing was.

    Jacob is also a completely unlikeable character. Meyer reportedly loves him and assured lukewarm fans online and at fan gatherings that we would all come to love him after reading Eclipse. I, however, found myself hating him more than ever. Forcing himself on Bella physically, half-heartedly apologizing without any real remorse or understanding, verbally abusing her intended vampire family at every opportunity and then using emotional blackmail to get Bella to kiss him and declare her “love” for him —- and I’m supposed to love him, empathize with him and “feel his pain”? Er ……..no. Not so much.

    Bella, believe it or not, actually comes off *worse* than Jacob the Horrible. Her maturity level has taken a definite nose-dive. She was painted as a bit of an “old soul” and a unique person who set her own course in life in Twilight. In NM, she falls apart, but if melodramatic at times, it’s all pretty understandable. By the end of NM, I thought she had really come into her own (demanding an audience with Edward’s family to determine her conversion into a vampire or not, her epiphany that she and Edward truly belonged to one another). Instead, we get a self-absorbed, whiny girl who can’t seem to make up her mind what she wants. All manufactured conflicts of course, as Jane suggests. For example, the whole “I don’t want to be *that* girl, the girl who gets married right out of high school.” Since when does Bella care what anyone thinks or says about her? And, if they do, she’s not going to be there to hear it anyway, if she’s a vampire off eating polar bears in Alaska and avoiding her parents with excuses. That’s a completely false barrier to marriage and intimacy (that one suspects Meyer wishes to avoid until the bitter end), and it’s definitely a false conflict that makes no sense.

    I will be reading Breaking Dawn, as I hope Meyer will take more time and/or has a better plan for the ultimate volume in the series. I want to see where she goes with it, mainly because I utterly loved the first 2 volumes of this series and I think Meyer has it in her somewhere to come up with a beautiful ending to the series. If she can put Jacob Black to the side that is. The best character you created was Edward Cullen, Stephenie. You need to shift the focus back to him; do a separate series about Jacob Black if you must. But, you’ve allowed him to take over this story and the results have not been good.

  55. Debbie
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 19:49:57

    I am SO glad that I found this website! I’ve been wanting to read a REAL review of this book not something that just quickly summarizes the story….as most reviews seem to do these days. (What a cop out!) I wanted to see if anyone else felt like I did and, as it turns out, MANY of you do. Thank goodness! While Stephenie Meyer has a very interesting and very readable writing style, the story of Eclipse was just awful…and annoying! How any boyfriend (even a vampire) could tolerate having his girlfriend constantly run off to “nurse” her “friend” over a broken heart is just absurd. Breaking old ties and committing to a relationship is a part of life Bella! Grow up already! I was constantly annoyed that Ms. Meyer spent MUCH more time on the werewolf relationship…..again!! I was under the assumption that this was the third and final book in the trilogy and that lots of questions would be answered. Specifically: would Bella become a vampire. But I guess, when there’s money to be made, you have to drag the stories out, huh? What a disappointment. Chances are, I will give the next one a try…as I said, they’re very readable…but I do hope they get back on track. Otherwise, I won’t waste my money again.

  56. bell
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 19:40:40

    do any of you know what the next book will be called?

  57. Elyse
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 04:05:50

    I feel like Meyers has given in somewhat to the cheap methods of satisfying an audience – cheesy, romantic angst. To me Eclipse read something like a poorly constructed fanfic; nothing seemed genuine, nothing seemed to support the characters she’d developed quite well in Twilight and New Moon.

    Twilight was a very promising story. New Moon (while I know the Edward addicts were irritated at his absence) added more depth, new conflicts, without being entirely predictable. It was vastly different from Twilight, in a good way. Yes, Bella is a tad whiny and impractical at times, but who isn’t? She’s human, after all.

    Eclipse, however, was nothing short of frustrating. The solid conflicts that had been so well established in the previous books were simply dissolved, and were replaced with a hollow love triangle and an obvious plot. It seemed like she lost touch with Bella and Edward and Jacob (isn’t it somewhat sacreligious for an author to get her own creations wrong?). Instead of adding depth, adding intrigue, she simply went shallow.
    It’s a fangirls dream, I suppose. They can praise Edward and despise Jacob, wish they were Bella, while the rest of us mourn the death of a once-good story. I can only hope that Breaking Dawn will offer some redemption for the series.

  58. Kara
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 12:38:12

    Well I must say that I disagree with this review in most aspects. yes there were some things that weren’t right, but, I still thought that the book was quite fantastic. It kept me turning the pages. I read it in one sitting and although there were a few flaws I still enjoyed it just as much as the first two. Edwards reluctance to care about Bella loving Jacob is because he wants her to do what is best for her and if Bella ends up falling in love with Jacob instead Edward would just back away so she could live out her human life just like he had always planned for her. That is just my opinion about this book. I do see where you thinks there are many mistakes but I guess it is just the way you look at them and how you think they mess with the story being a positive or negative idea.

  59. Katie
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 18:28:30

    Oh, I’m so surprised! I honestly thought people would love Eclipse after it was out, but I guess I’m not the only one that’s been terribly let down? I loved her first book, Twilight, and I’ve even come to like New Moon (even with its lack of Edward), but Eclipse left me feeling somehow tricked. As if I’d had my hand out waiting for some candy but all I got was an empty wrapper.

    I’m a fan of Jacob as a good friend of Bella’s, but as a runner up on the love triangle – not so much. Love triangle’s in general tend to send me running. And this series seemed so clean, like it was pretty dead set that Bella would constantly and forever just think of Edward. It’s what Edward deserves, in my opinion…

    I suppose my real angst of the book comes from my dislike of the ending. Jacob still has his “imprinting” waiting, Bella’s going to get married to Edward, and yet we still linger on Jacob as though his feelings need attention. They’ve practically been the entire book!

    I can understand Jacob’s love for Bella, but for Bella to linger on him just makes it worse for me. How could she do that, when she has Edward? It made the book feel unreal, and a bit of a joke. I still feel like I’m still waiting for the -real- Eclipse to come out. My hope is that all will be redeemed in book four’s installment, Breaking Dawn. That, or hope that Edward’s point of view evens out Bella’s wishy-washy one in Midnight Sun.

  60. Brittney
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 14:33:40

    I think whoever doesn’t like this book is CRAZY!!! I LOVED it. I’m shocked to see how many people don’t like Jacob!! Jacob is sooooo HOT to me. Not better looking than Edward, but still HOT! And I’m also shocked to see how many people don’t like Bella. Anyway like I said I think you’re all CRAZY!!! I can’t wait for the next one!

  61. Cat
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 14:36:28

    Wow! I just finished this book and it was not even close to how I expected to be. I guess my expectations were just too high after finishing Twilight and New Moon. Twilight was just exceptional! It had just the right amount of adventure, romance and plot twists. I also liked it because Jacob Black did not get in the way! I’m sorry but I think Stephenie’s worst mistake was changing Jacob from a nice little kid in Twilight who was just a family friend and had a very small part in the book, to a tall, werewolf boy in an awkward stage of puberty who annoys me so much I can’t even put it into words! I’m pretty sure if Stephenie had just put a little more time and dedication to the series she wouldn’t have to use a dumb werewolf who falls in love Bella as a plot twist. The sad thing is there are so many different things she could of put in eclipse instead of Jacob ruining it! Like many other reviewers have mentioned, Bella’s character also took a plunge to the worst. She was immature and whiny throughout the whole book. One example of this is when Edward just wanted to protect her from harm while he went hunting, so he had Alice watch over her. How did Bella respond to this? She complained way too much about her lack of freedom and never even noticed that Edward just loved her enough to protect her. And then Bella jumps right onto the motercycle with Jacob right in front of Alice. During the whole book I just wanted to knock some sense into her and have her finally get mad at Jacob! Whenever he said something mean she’d forgive him right away. The very worst part was of course, was when she willingly kissed him and suddenly out of the blue said she loved him! I started crying a little because I felt so bad for Edward. In my mind he deserves someone much much better than Bella! It’s never been made clear why Edward even loves Bella after living a century with plenty of other girls to choose from. In my mind Edward is the one redeeming thing of this book. I wish he would just leave Bella though and pick another girl so that BELLA knows how Edward felt when she was running of with Jacob. Well that’s my opinion. I’ll still read number 4 just to see what happens. I’m just sad that this series that had so much potential is going downhill.

  62. Megen
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 00:47:07

    Breaking Dawn is coming out in May 2008…………..such a long time to wait

  63. Lauren
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 21:08:22

    I absolutely loved all three of these books, and I sincerely hope that there are more to come. I really don’t want this series to end with three or four. I think those of you who don’t like these books are crazy.

  64. Michele
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 10:02:18

    Eclipse, for those not yet acquainted with the teen romance saga, is the third instalment in the Twilight series centred around Bella, a human girl, and her relationships with Edward, the unearthly beautiful and gifted vampire who is also the love of her life, and Jacob, brooding rebel and recently turned werewolf who comforts Bella when Edward abandons her. At the end of Book Two (New Moon) it transpires that Edward left Bella in an attempt to protect her from himself and his vampire family, but later returned, re-uniting the pair. Jacob, by now deeply in love with Bella despite her assertion of being “just friends”, is left vengeful and broken-hearted by the idea that Bella wishes to become a vampire herself.

    The series already boasts an impressively large fanbase and the release of Eclipse was anticipated with feverish excitement – comparisons were even being made, in hushed tones, to the famed Harry Potter.

    It is with some surprise, then, that the reception of above-mentioned tome can only be described as lukewarm. Even previously loyal fans have expressed disappointment. One ponders the question: What went wrong?

    Whilst Stephenie Meyer is certainly no Jane Austen, her writing style bears testimony to a literary background and is fueled by a rich imagination; I don’t believe this is what let her down.

    Part of the answer lies in the comparison thrust, perhaps unfairly, upon the shoulders of Bella and her beaus, with the Boy Who Lived. Unlike JK Rowling’s creations, the inhabitants of Forks, Washington, have not matured or evolved in any noticeable way. Bella appears to have regressed, if anything at all. Much of the narrative is dedicated to her internal struggles, becoming frankly tiresome at times. Her ambivalence to the idea of marriage, her uncertainty regarding the trade of her mortal life for the undead, fretting over Jacob’s hurt feelings and the resulting downward spiral of guilt and self-loathing entirely overshadows the thinly veiled suspense plot, which hardly deserves a mention. For all her introspection, she appears no wiser. Her actions remain rash, her behaviour petulant and her judgement poor.

    Edward, formerly darkly dangerous beneath his gentlemanly veneer, always torn between his love for Bella and his vampiric nature, seems to have been stripped of all depth. Apart from his ever-expressive eyebrows, he shows hardly any emotion or passion. As for his issues regarding physical intimacy: he and Bella have always maintained a chaste relationship, made necessary by the obvious risks to her. This was beautifully symbolic in its own right and needed nothing more. Sadly, in Eclipse this has been cast aside. Following what can only be described as foreplay, Edward refuses to take her virtue on grounds of his moral beliefs. The scene could have been taken from a sex education video. Furthermore, his preoccupation with her safety and meek acceptance of her “love” for Jacob portrays him more as a father figure than a boyfriend.

    As for the werewolf man-boy Jacob, he is a likeable enough supporting character, who has added an interesting dimension to the tale, but has outgrown his place like an unruly ficus. Here, I believe, lies the answer as to What Went Wrong: the unexpected success of Twilight, forcing Meyer to push the story further than she first intended. If we are honest, we must admit that boy-meets-girl-love-forever-after cannot support a series of three, let alone four volumes. So the skewed love triangle is inserted, after the fact and so obviously not part of the original plan, like bunny ears pinned to a cat.

    A lost cause, then? This will be determined by the fourth and, hopefully, last book in the series. Breaking Dawn is due for release next year. Perhaps Bella will surprise us with some powers of her own, be they supernatural or not, and earn her spot on centre-stage. Perhaps Edward will return to his former smouldering glory, causing us to forgive everything else.

    I am ever the optimist.

  65. Rhiannon
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 18:25:13

    I don’t see why people come on here just to put down the books. I mean of course there’s gonna be parts that people don’t like. Am I the only one who even slightly sees where Jake’s coming from? I do agree that Bella is freaking annoying and immature and she has no sense of preservation whatsoever lol. Hopefully Breaking Dawn is better. I used to think Bella was somewhat mature but now she’s just kinda stupid. She tries to manipulate people and always has to get her way and she’s pissed when she doesn’t. I love the rest of the characters. Stephenie Meyer should just like kill Bella off or something…maybe that’s too harsh but still…and the like Epilogue of Eclipse sucks. What is so special about Bella that makes all the guys in Forks and La Push fall for her? idk. Twilight was excellent, New Moon was ok, and Eclipse was better than New Moon but definitely not as good as Twilight.

  66. Kristen
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 14:39:12

    I think that anything that triggers such powerful reactions– whether they are good or bad, is doing something right.

  67. Cate
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 10:54:14

    I have to say, I am so glad that some people share the same views about eclipse as I do. In the last two books, I found Bella’s personality very exciting and relatable. In this book however, some of her thoughts and actions were just plain annoying and unrealistic. And i’m sad to say that I lost a little love for this character. She should have thought through what she was doing to Jacob BEFORE she spent all that time with him. She knew she was hurting him so she should have ended it sooner instead of giving him all that false hope. I hated the love triangle. I love Jacob and I love Edward. But I love Edward more. You can’t write two books about how strong Bella’s love for Edward is and then have her have doubts about it in the third. And holding Jacob’s hand and having all those intimate moments with him? She is toying with Jacob’s emotions and why would she do that to Edward? She is just taking advantage of his patience! I mean would she like it if Edward went off with another girl and became all touchy feely with her? No Bella wouldn’t stand for it. I know that Edward is a vampire and he’s been around for eons but I REALLY wish he was a more human character! I mean it’s REALLY ATTRACTIVE to have a guy be really jealous, or angry at you for doing something wrong or that hurt him. He needs emotions and faults. A character needs faults to make that character real. Edward’s problem is that he needs faults and he needs to make bad desicions. I love vampires but I do not think that they need to be some completely godly, unrelatable, boring figure, with hardly any emotions or strong thoughts. Some of my favorite parts in the book were when Edward was reminded of leaving Bella in the last book, New Moon. He freaked out. It hurt him terribly, and I loved that. It was an attractive emotion and I really wish he had more of them. But none the less, I really do love Edward. He has some attractive qualities Above are just ways to improve him. BUT HONESTLY! HE NEEDS MORE PERSONALITY. I don’t recomend reading the epilogue, it was very tragic, poor Jacob. Although eclipse was the worst of the three, I still loved it, and I am going to read the next book. I hope she makes it better.

  68. Rachel
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 12:56:21

    By the way- to the person who said that “any book that generates such strong good and bad feelings must be doing something right” I just want to point out that there are some terrible books that people loved when they first were released. An extreme example to prove my point- people cheered for Mein Kempf which is Hitlers book! A fictional example- there are great devotees to L. Ron Hubbards sci fi books but they are also considered to be some of the most poorly written novels in history. Sometimes the only thing a fervent following means is that the author is marketing themselves correctly.

  69. Betty.l
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 12:36:55

    Hi im 25. i love the books ssssssooooooooooo much
    love ya

    Betty.l

  70. lucy
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 12:42:15

    i love these books!!!!!!!!
    they’re fab and brill!!!!!!!!!!!

  71. kelsey
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 19:05:28

    wow! all this time i’ve been commenting on the New Moon webpage thingy and i never knew there was one for Eclipse! why didnt somebody tell me this? yeesh. Lucy, are you my friend from the New Moon page? hi!!! and betty l. there is a person on the New Moon page that is called Betty v. odd.

    Cate,
    what are you saying?!?!?! Edward has personality!!! silly! im in love with Edward and anybody who critisizes him is just plain wierd loller… he does have emotions he just covers them up because he just wants Bella to be happy. and he does have faults. he wasnt fighting back towards the end, he was trying to make everything happen the way he thought was right with the marrage thing, and in the beginning he forbade Bella to see Jake which was wrong but he corrected it. so he does have emotions and faults.
    well ttyl love yall

    kelsey

  72. kelsey
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 19:10:09

    Rhiannon,

    no ur not the only one who sees where Jake is coming from. i understand even though i still love Edward more. and it annoys me that people even complain about the books in any way shape or form! they are gifts from the gods! or Stephenie, who is in my opinion a godess just for creating this brilliant books. and i understand what ur saying about Bella. she was selfish, rude, and hurtfull to both Jake and Edward. but she did something that most girls like her would never do. she realized what she did, understood it, accepted it, and did her best to make it as right as possible. so she tried to fix it. i’ve never read Wuthering Heights, but from how it was explained in Eclipse, she was just like Cathy. personally i dont really think of Bella too much. I’m reading the books, I put myself in Bella’s position. so its really not Bella in the book its me, u get that? lol because it didnt make sense at all. well ttyl

    kelsey

  73. kelsey
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 19:21:56

    third time posting on this page after reading some of the comments and they are TICKING ME OFF! wtf why would u come on here just to diss the characters and crap like that? thats so stupid! and immature. 1)Bella did not betray Edward. in real life, people fall in and out of love many times. some people love more than one person. its all in diff ways. 2)Jake was not annoying. he was inexperienced in the whole love thing, so he just went with what he thought would work. he wanted Bella. 3)Edward may be adult like, but he waited for Bella for over 100 years. He was never complete until he met Bella. 4)Yes Bella made mistakes but would she be a real character/person if she didnt? HELOOOO everybody makes mistakes. and also how cool and perfect would you be in her situation?!?! finding out that nightmares and fairytales are actually real? youd make some selfish and stupid mistakes too! i dont care whether its real life or a book nobody is perfect! so if u didnt like the books why would u bother searching for things about them and commenting about how much u hate the books? um, pointless? yes.

  74. Lucy
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 22:19:00

    OHMYGOD! You totally rock! Nobody else ever felt the same way kelsey. I mean…yeah, Bella made a mistake about Edward and Jacob, she loves both of them..why is that so bad. I mean, Edward (DUH) is way better for Bella – oh and he’s a lot sexier too, and I mean, Vampires just are WAY better than Werewolves…but wolves rae still kinda cool!) I know…stop posting rude comments!

  75. Jane
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 11:48:43

    Kelsey – this blog is maintained by myself and a few other readers. It is a forum for everyone to express their opinion, whether it be for a book or against a book. I would appreciate it if you would be tolerant of everyone’s opinions, even if they disagree with your own.

  76. kelsey
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 14:08:21

    i’m being tolerant i dont care if you have a diferent oppinion but if somebody hates the book sooooo much why would they just come on here to say that? its so pointless. if somebody hates the book why would they look for websites to comment on how much they hate the book? it doesnt make sense. sorry if i was rude or blunt or which ever but thats how i think.

  77. Jane
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 14:17:09

    Kelsey – You are obviously a very bright person and have some great insights into the book. Your joy for the series is quite inspiring and you derive pleasure in communicating with others about your reading pleasure.

    Readers who are unhappy are deserving of the same community. To join together and articulate their disappointment. Sharing disappointment has the same “point” as sharing appreciation.

  78. kelsey
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 14:29:10

    ok, ok… we do all have diferent oppinions, i just feel that it is a waste of time to comment about how much you hate the book so rudely. people on this page have said very cruel things about the book, some of which arent true. of course the characters have faults. it would be incredibly surreal and boring to read if the characters didnt make mistakes. and a couple of the comments were basically just “i hate these books so much and i think that all the characters were horrible” and what not. but, its not my time that they are wasting by saying how they hate the books so much so i shouldnt care. also it is not my site. maybe i was just more offended that anybody could possibly not like this series because to me they are practically my exsistance anymore.

  79. kelsey
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 14:31:07

    also, in your review, u said that this would be the last book of the series that you would read… are you serious?because i dont think that you should not read Breaking Dawn because for all any of us know, it could be 20,000,000,000 times better than any of the other books.

  80. Jayne
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 18:51:55

    Kelsey, perhaps you should try posting at this site, it’s a fan group for Stephanie Meyer’s books.

  81. Kelsey (edward is mine not bellas.)
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 19:02:44

    i dont know i’ll look at it… i do prefer this site compared to others though. plus i dont have a yahoo account so i cant exactly join any msn, yahoo, or myspace groups.

  82. Penny
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 21:08:48

    Kelsey –

    You should visit the Twilight Lexicon. You aren’t required to have a yahoo account or anything like that. It is strictly for fans now. All of us who dared to say that we disliked Eclipse (even if we still admired the series and/or Meyer’s writing generally) were told that the site is now “positive comments only.”

    For what it’s worth, since Jane’s original review was critical of Eclipse, it probably generates more “Yeah, I thought it was awful too” type reviews than would be the case if it were a positive review. And I second what Jane was saying about people who disliked the book and/or were disappointed in it, need a support network every bit as much as people who unconditionally loved it. We need it more in fact, because fan sites like the Twilight Lexicon won’t allow us to post, even though we were confining our negative opinions to a single thread that could be avoided by others!

  83. Jayne
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 23:10:45

    Kelsey, Yahoo accounts are free. All you have to do is sign up for one.

  84. Kelsey
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 14:55:51

    well i checked out the yahoo site, and it turns out that my sis already has an account, so thats laready set up for me if i wanted to use it…

  85. Lucy
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 11:12:01

    sorry i did not tell u Kelsey it is weird hows theres a betty.v and a betty.l

  86. Lucy
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 11:19:08

    Kelsey on the newmoon site you r my best friend!!!!

    love ya
    lucy

  87. Kelsey
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 12:57:11

    i know right lucy? odd… and thanks!!! its u tiff rhiannon, and sometimes taylor if she can get on but usually not bc she’s not aloud. well ttyl!!!!!!!

    kelsey

  88. kelsey
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 14:15:08

    ohhh dear…

    the new moon site is shut down. oh dear. Lucy!!! i need ur email address so that we can still stay in contact!!!! lol

    kelsey

  89. lucy
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 04:47:29

  90. Breanna
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 20:03:25

    I found myself really depressed when I was reading New Moon. When Bella jumped off the cliff to hear Edward’s voice again, and then she almost drowned, i was hoping she would’ve just died so she’d have stopped being depressed. Other than that bit, I loved the book. I haven’t read Eclipse yet.

  91. lucy
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 02:26:41

    dear Breanna,
    i havn’t read Ecilpse yet and its driving me mad!!!
    its not out yet over here in England(at least i think so)
    i thought newmoon could have been better and i was a bit disaponited when i read it…

    write soon

    lucy

  92. Kelsey
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 08:04:35

    Brenna

    I totally know what you mean. i was crying when i read that part. pretty much when she said “Goodbye I love you” i went into like hysterics lol. i was just happy that Edward came back. Stephenie Meyer sort of used this as like a bridge to the next book, u know?

    Lucy,
    maybe you should like order it or call ur bookstores to see if its in yet.

    well ttyl!!!

    kelsey

  93. lucy
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 10:41:12

    Thanks Kelsey if you’ve been on the Newmoon website you will no that i bought it today and its really good(so far)

    Dear Breanna,

    i was sort of depressed as well so depressed that i had to read the last few pages to make sure they got back together but then i was really mad at myself…lol

    well see ya

    write soon

    lucy

  94. Megen
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 17:56:08

    Hey!!! I found chapter three, Phenomenon from Twilight, in Edward’s point of view!!!

    O.K. here’s the link:

    http://twilight.lost-star.org/c3.php

  95. Kelsey
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 18:57:28

    Megen,

    I dont think that was written by Stephenie Meyer. Im pretty sure thats just a fanfiction. bc its not on Stephenie Meyers website or anything which if it were i would have seen it bc im on there just about every minute of the day. lol. but i am enjoying it its alot like what it would have been if Stephenie Meyer wrote it… lol. well ttyl!!!

    kelsey

  96. Breanna
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 09:59:05

    Hey! I finally got the book eclipse. As much as people are opposed by it, I find myself liking it a lot actually. It’s nice to see a sort of exposed side of Bella. :]
    Ps Lucy, I saw a copy of eclipse on Amazon the other day for 5 bucks, good condition too :]

  97. lucy
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 10:48:36

    Eclipse is wonderful ins’t it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    what do u thinK of it,Breanna,Kelsey?

    see ya

    lucy

  98. Kelsey
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 14:34:57

    Breanna and Lucy,

    i love that series to death. Eclipse was a bit of a dissapointment compared to Twilight but it was still a phemominal book. i think that Breaking Dawn will deffinatly be better though, since its the last book of the series.

    ttyl!

    kelsey

  99. Breanna
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 08:59:30

    Yeah, it was a tad disappointing. I wished something exciting would’ve happened towards the ending -hinthint- But it didn’t. Haha. Oh well, guess that makes Breaking Dawn all the more worth the wait. I hope Stephanie puts up the first chapter soon on her website. I keep waiting for Alice to get pissed off at Bella’s pessimistic attitude, but it never happens.
    -Bre

  100. lucy
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 11:36:09

    i didn’t think it was a bit disapointing. It was as nearly as good as Twilight. (ok maybe not) My favorite part was when Rosalie was telling Bella about when she was human!And my worst bit was when Billie was telling his story about the third wife and the sprit’s

    well see ya

    lucy

  101. Kelsey
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 13:59:45

    i dont really have a fav chapter. i think it might b when victoria was there in the clearing… as long as bella isnt kissing jake in that part bc that was like earth shatteringly aweful. i only like it when bella and edward kiss. :-( lol

    my least fav part is obviously when jake and bella kiss for the second time. my second least fav part is ur lucy, when billy tells all the stories and what not. its boring i think lol. well ttyl all!!!

    kelsey

  102. Kelsey
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 14:00:57

    “I wished something exciting would've happened towards the ending -hinthint-”

    HAHAAAA LOL yea thats what i was hoping but im glad that theyre getting married. lol.

    ttyl! kelsey

  103. Britteney
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 18:51:02

    Yes, I couldn’t agree more. i was very disappointed that Bella was spending so much time with the filthy “dog” known as Jacob. For some reason he irritates me SO much. I hope Mrs. Meyer can make the entire series with Edward’s point of view, he is just SO much more mature, and he’s the only reason why I had kept reading the book series. I would also like to know what he had been up to while he was away, I almost skipped the entire part about Bella being with Jacob and gone ahead to the part where Alice comes in. Jacob just totally ruined my urge to read the entire series. I only PRAY that Bella, though she’s a lot like me, will think it through and realize that Edward is the best choice any girl could make. I hope eclips won’t be as disappointing as you say it is.

    ~*♥Britteney♥*~

  104. Kelsey
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 19:22:29

    Britteney

    i agree with you to an extent… Edward is the best choice Bella could make and i dont want her and Jake to end up together. for Edwards sake. but i dont hate Jake… i guess its bc of the Q&A on stephenie meyers site, for eclipse… and also i read an extra called “being jake black.” so yea….

  105. Kelsey
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 19:34:15

    sorry i didnt finish that i accidentally clicked the submit button… but yes, if you go to stephenie meyers site and go to eclipse question and answers it will explain alot in there and then in extras for new moon it has a chapter called “being jacob black” and it kinda summarises what he thinks of everything. bye!!!

    kelsey xoxo

  106. Britteney
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 20:45:57

    oh cool thanks.=] haha i hate jacob he always gets Bella into trouble but i can live with him as long as he stays well away from Edward and BELLA’S relationship. thanks!

  107. lucy
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 02:10:30

    Yeah your right Edward and Bella really suit eachother.hmm your right about something good at the end.
    Jake does get annoying(a lot)lol
    well thats my opinion…lol
    well see ya

    lucy

  108. Breanna
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 10:53:28

    Yeah! I was really annoyed with Jake at first, but after I realized she wouldn’t really choose him I was okay with him. Just think about how much it’d suck [even though it's selfish] being in love with someone who sort of loves you but chooses someone else over you.
    I hope that she writes the story too from edward’s pov. :]

  109. Kelsey
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 15:15:12

    I AGREE WITH ALL OF YOU. cept for the part about jake. i dont hate him at all. i just dont want Bella and him together. I got this from Tiffanie a while ago, i dont see it as Bella should be with Edward. i see it as Edward should be with Bella. I think that they go so well together for Edward, not Bella. ya no?

    kelsey

  110. Britteney
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 20:11:22

    omg i know!!! i totally agree with you Breanna!!! gawd that’s exactly how II felt! I mean as soon as I realized that Bella picked Edward [[what a hottie!]] over jake i was like sure i can live with it, as long as he doesn’t touch a hair on Edward’s head then i’m good. though I do want some action between them. like some fighting would be nice, and it’d be SWEETNESS when Edward kicks jacob’s ass! [[no offence Kelsey]] but jeeze i never knew so many people didn’t like jacob like me.=D

  111. Breanna
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 08:58:56

    LOL. Yeah, kelsey i feel the same. Jacob’s a bully…but the main reason i don’t like him is because i want edward and bella to be together. She’s so stubborn about his request to marry her though. It’s almost frustrating

  112. lucy
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 14:24:11

    hmm i can tell what your saying. I really do want them to be together

    well see ya

    lucy

  113. Kelsey
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 14:29:07

    omg i cant beleive that u guys feel so passionate about ur hate to jake! like sure hes not my fav but i dont hate him! and i dont want either edward or jake to get hurt!!!!!!!!!! never!!! lol

    kelsey

  114. Britteney
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 17:19:41

    lol haha! sorry kelsey! i just HATE him, like, jacob is fire, and Edward is ice. I personally perfer cold more than hot. Hot makes me irritated. just like a certain SOMEONE i know. *cough cough* jake. the only people that matter to me in the book is Bella, Edward, Alice, Jasper, Emmet, Esme, Carlisle, and Rosalie[[though she made me mad for a while]]. Charlie, in Eclipse so far is getting on my nerves with the whole “father” thing. I get mad when my dad talks to me about THAT kinda stuff!

  115. Kelsey
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 19:50:12

    ha lol my dad doesnt. thats mi madres job. loller. and im kinda like DONE trying to convince you that Jake is sooo not a jerk and whatnot loller =) =P

    i prefer cold to bc u can always do stuff to get warm but when ur hot theres only sooo much you can do ya know? lol. i was a guide at open house tonight and it was exhausting and pointless. cept for 2 out of 4 community service hours are done lol.

    well ttyl.

    <3 always xoxo

    kelsey

  116. Britteney
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 20:32:26

    lol yah i know rite? i LOVE cold weather. sure summer is fun too but it’s just TOO hott. anywho. that’s cool that you like Edward AND Jacob. *growl* but I’m gonna stick with the Cullen family. ^^

    Later,

    ~*♥Britteney♥*~

  117. Misty
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 09:07:54

    I havent finished reading Eclipse yet (about halfway through actually) and Bella is already starting to drive me nuts!!!!! its sooooooo annoying how she keeps leading Jake on…My favorite part so far has had to be when Bella broke her hand punching Jacob (yay! more pain for Bella!!! >D) but truthfully, though this has so far been a slight disappointment, I cannot wait for Breaking Dawn. Who knows, other then Stephenie Meyer, it could be better right? I just wish that in Eclipse, Edward had more emotions other than worry, anger, and angst. but idk, he COULD show more emotions as I get farther in the book…BELLA SHOULD NOT BELONG WITH EDWARD!!!! sorry shes so immature i dont think she belongs with him…..Isabella Cullen does not sound right..Isabella Black sounds better but i wouldnt put the obnoxious twit with Jake either…

  118. lucy
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 10:22:36

    you are soooo wrong. Edward and Bella sooo suit each other. they are the most perfect match ive ever come across but you are right at the end bit about Jake….lol
    well love ya

    lucy

  119. Kelsey
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 14:06:14

    Misty,

    harsh much? yeesh she has flaws. big deal. lol and if edward loves bella then he should have her bc it makes him happy. i feel bad for jake, and all but still. Lucy i love you ur so funny lol. ttyl!!!!!!!

    <3 always

    kelsey xoxo

  120. Misty
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 14:28:53

    Kelsey,
    Yeah I am harsh alittle but its also pretty much the truth…and she doesnt have “flaws” she has a lot worse than flaws, theres like no word to describe what she has….

    Misty

  121. Kelsey
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 17:56:37

    Misty,

    lol as much as i dislike the fact that u dont think that Edward and Bella should be together i think that you are pretty funny lol. i dont agree with most of what ur saying but hey. i can live with it. lol. have you seen the FAQ on stephenie meyers website for Eclipse? that might explain alot. and you also gotta take into concideration that Stephenie Meyer planned Bella to be like this. she wrote the story, and everything in it means something. maybe theres a method to the madness, ya know what im sayin?… well i guess i’ll talk to yall later

    Kelsey

  122. Misty
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 19:32:54

    Kelsey-
    i cant help but see your point…its Stephenie Meyer’s work so she has to have soooome plan for Bella other than just having her run around and making Edward and his family and Jacob and the other wolves protect her…i have yet to read the FAQs but i’ll be sure to do that..

    Misty

  123. Britteney
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:31:35

    to misty,

    girl I couldn’t agree with you more!! Bella is being a Bitch so far in the book! and she seems like she loves bother Edward AND jacob, i mean she said “kiss me jacob! kiss me!” i’m like, umm how retarded can you get? if jacob wanted to cause drama like that I’d say the hell with it, later! and he probably wouldn’t have left. cause bella did exactly what he wanted her to do. and she can’t keep leading him on like that! she wants Edward to love her, and yet she keeps flirting with That dog Jacob. Now, I keep asking myself who she REALLY loves.-_-

  124. Britteney
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:32:28

    oops i meant BOTH not bother.

  125. lucy
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 04:27:04

    lol. does anyone know when breaking dawns comimg out?
    well love ya
    lucy

  126. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 07:43:49

    Britteney

    like i said to misty, read the FAQ on Eclipse on Stephenie Meyers website. it explains alot. and also (already said this to misty) Stephenie Meyer wrote these books like this for a reason. She MADE Bella the way she was, she MADE Edward the way he is, she MADE Jacob the way he is and she MADE them all do the things they did. In Breaking Dawn, it will all probably tie together, because she wouldnt do some of these things if she didnt have a plan for them later on in the series. and i was pretty upset with Bella for a while too, but im like a twilight junkie so i go onto Stephenie Meyers website literally everyday. and i’ve read pretty much everything on there. the Eclipse FAQ helped me understand everything alot better. also, she only asked Jake to kiss her because she didnt get the fact that he wasnt that noble. she thought that he really would go off and let himself be killed. so that one was partially Jakes fault for doing that, and partially Bellas fault for not catching the fakeness of it.

    Misty,

    lol well im glad youve seen the light. lol nice line no? lol but seriously i am happy that u understand where im coming from bc i understand where u were coming from, i know that Bella was wrong alot of the time but honestly, how cool and at ease with yourself would you be if you found out that it was pretty much physically and mentally impossible for you to hang out with normal human beings and all of the sudden you are on the breaking point inbetween two mortal and mythical enemies? i would prolly make alot of mistakes and kinda freak out from time to time.

    Lucy,
    Breaking Dawn i think is supposed to come out August 10th, 2008 wooooo!!! lol

    wow this ones a long one.

    <3 kelsey xoxo

  127. Britteney
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 08:17:38

    yah it’s fall 2008. i won’t say any certain deadline cause she could go over it. but yah fall of next year. AAAARRRGGGGHHHHHHHHH I want it to come out NOW!! I’d MUCh rather hear from EDWARD’S perspective than the “””I can’t make up my mind on who I love””” Bella! Gawd and Edward is so much more patient! I still hate that one part that bella goes and says “Kiss me jacob! Kiss me!” it sounds like some really bad drama show that went totally wrong!

  128. Britteney
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 08:18:38

    i meant for the new book. the one on Edward’s perspective i just forgot what it was called.

  129. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 10:32:55

    Midnight Sun.

    and ur being like uber rude about the books lol. its like woah. seriously though if you went onto http://www.stepheniemeyer.com and went into “the twilight series” and then “eclipse” and the “faq” it explains the book.

  130. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 11:06:27

    well no… ur not exactly being rude about the books, just bella. so at least u still like the books right? loller.

    kelsey

  131. Sybil
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 11:37:22

    Can u b uber rude to books or characters since they like u know don’t have feelings?

    If you have to read a FAQ to ‘get’ the story, I think the author like wrote a bad book. JMHO

  132. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 13:16:42

    i didnt need to read the FAQ to “get” the story, i read the FAQ bc im a twilight junkie and read everything on stephenie meyers website thank you very much. and some of the stuff on there explained what she meant by certain things in the book. certain things that i took differently.

    kelsey

  133. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 13:17:14

    and i didnt say she was being rude TO the books, i said ABOUT.

  134. Britteney
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 14:31:57

    psh i have no clue what you guys are talking about anymore. but i’m not saying I don’t like the books I mean come on who doesn’t???? i just don’t like how some of the characters react to some things. like bella she can be annoying and REALLY funny. like when she punched jacob lol I kept reading that over and over again but it was so funny^^ and yes I DO love the books. it’s just that bella SOMETIMES [[barely]] gets on my nerves. that’s all=D

  135. Kelsey
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 16:12:35

    lol yea i know thats what i said earlier that u like the books, you just dont like Bella. hey idc as long as u still like the books loller :-D

    kelsey

  136. Britteney
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 22:32:37

    lol haha yah well i mean I LIKE Bella. i just think she CAN be annoying in some parts but in TwiLight she did an awesome job!!! Stephenie really did a good job with bella’s personality in that one! she was a LOT like me!=D like clumsy. i’m REALLY clumsy.

  137. lucy
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 05:25:29

    dear britteney,
    i don’t no wat there talking about either
    lol lol lol lol lol loll
    lucy

  138. Kelsey
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 09:21:15

    Britteney,

    lol i know. she did change ALOT in new moon. but i mean its to be expected right? like Edward left, and she practically died. i want to read Twilight again soooo bad im like going thru withdraw, but my friend has it and she hasnt even started reading it. if she doesnt start reading it by next weekend, im gonna snatch it back and say go to the flipping library.

    lol

    kelsey

  139. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 09:50:00

    Kelsey,

    OMG I know!!! I keep opening Twilight and reading over my fave parts over and over again! I can’t get enough of it! I like how they first met, well, when Edward had gone hunting. He was so cute! I also like the medow, and when he took her to diner. i thought those were so cute!

  140. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 09:50:31

    lucy,

    lol well SOMEONE has to be clueless[[haha me]]=DD

  141. Kelsey
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 11:30:38

    Lucy,

    we’re just talking about the books silly lol.

    britteney,

    those r my fav parts too!

    kelsey

  142. lucy
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:33:42

    you’ve lost me
    lucy

  143. missy
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:40:42

    Hi!
    i have just read twilight, newmoon and have just finished eclipse.what do you think of the books? I am 13 and i live in new york.
    i think all the books are really good. I have a annoying younger sister called Bella!
    Isnt that werid?
    well, i hope someone writes back
    love yas
    missy

  144. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:44:58

    kelsey,

    I KNOW!! SOOO MUCH LOVE!! I also like towards the end when Bella thinks she’s dead and She thinks Edward is an angel! but she was very close!!! He’s adorable!

  145. Kelsey
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:45:26

    MISSY!!!!! where in new york do u live? just give me like a general area… i live in western new york!!! wow thats so weird. i looooove the books. what about u?

    kelsey

  146. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:47:07

    missy,

    yes I only have about 20 pages left in eclips. I bought the book 2 days ago, and I LOVE [[er loved I guess?]] it! Well, I do love Twilight the most so much love!!!!!!! And yah, that is pretty weird.^^ I think New moon was the worst for me to read. It was soooo like painful not having Edward there, the moments I looked forward too was when Edward’s voice came into Bella’s head. I LOVE those parts!

  147. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 13:49:23

    oops i meant ECLIPSE.

  148. Kelsey
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 14:01:33

    Britteney,

    ohmygee you are just like mee lol. yes i made it rhyme bc im like that. Twilight was my fav, New Moon was hard and i actually couldnt keep myself from skipping to the end just to find out if Edward came back. I was as fooled as Bella the first time i read the books and then when i reread it sometimes i skip the middle parts bc Edward isnt there, and othertimes, if i actually read the whole book, half of me is saying “dont promise me anything edward” and half of me is saying “what is wrong with you Bella???????? what is wrong with you he’s telling u the truth!!!” lol. and i still cry at The End. everytime i start like sobbing when edward leaves even though i know he doesnt actually want to. ugh im such a sap

    Kelsey

  149. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 15:42:51

    kelsey,

    no no no!!!! you are just like me!!! i always skip to parts where Edward is, and I ALWAYS read the end. i can’t help it! and I usually end up pissing myself off because I saw he leaves and i’m like wtf?!?!?!?!?! so I keep doing a LOT of research to see if anyone knew if they got married, or split up, or what. and that’s how i found this site^^

  150. Kelsey
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 17:25:45

    Britteney,

    what do u mean by “no no no!!!!” lol?

  151. Britteney
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 18:26:51

    kelsey,

    cause ur saying like “your such a sap” and I’m like no cause I fall for that too.=DD it’s sad really. lol

  152. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 08:00:55

    Britteney

    ohhhh ok gotcha lol. i thought u were like “awww crap im just like her” lol. yea it is really sad…

    kelsey

  153. missy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 10:55:09

    Hi! Its Missy! Kelsy i live in the south of new york sorry but thats all i know about where i live in new york i love the books as weell as you! So youre not on your own!LOL! ill give the books a A+!
    love yas
    Missy
    P.S Which school do you go to?

  154. missy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 10:58:39

    oops! I meant well!

  155. missy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 10:59:53

    oops! i meant you are!

  156. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 11:34:20

    Missy,

    i live in western new york and go to middle school… i give Twilight an A++++++++ New Moon a B+++++++ and Eclipse an A-…

    kelsey

  157. Penny
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 12:19:20

    Just thought I’d chime in to suggest that you girls might be happier discussing Meyer’s works with lots of other fans who post on the Twilight Lexicon message boards. You can find those boards here:

    http://www.twilightlexicon.com/

    I asked to be notified of further comments to Jane’s original review of Eclipse, because I was interested to read what other reviewers thought. This seems to have become a mini-message board for a handful of people. If it’s going to continue that way, I’ll just change my settings to unsub.

  158. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 12:58:58

    Penny,

    what does that mean, “change my settings to unsub”? and i dont know how to post on the Twilight Lexicon… i already tried but couldnt figure it out.

    Missy,

    since the owners of the site probably dont enjoy the fact that we use this as a chat room which is not what its supposed to be used for, could I have your email address? and also Britteney, if u guys feel comfortable handing it out online.

    Kelsey

  159. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 13:04:38

    Never mind, i was looking at the wrong place on the lexicon. now i just have to ask if i can register for it…….. thanks! U guys can join me on there if u want!!!

    kelsey

  160. lucy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 14:13:48

    hey yeah can i have your emails (that if u want)
    lucy

  161. Missy
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 14:31:01

    It is agaisnt my religon to give my personal live out people i hardly know. I am sorry.

  162. Kelsey
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 18:22:14

    Thats ok. i dont mind at all.

  163. lucy
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 02:13:39

    yeah it doesn’t matter

  164. lucy
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 12:30:54

  165. lucy
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 13:48:48

    lol had a bad day at skool(as always)lol

  166. Kelsey
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:02:00

    y do u always have bad days @ school?

  167. Jane
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:05:29

    All Meyer related threads will be closed tonight at midnight. CST.

  168. Lauren
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:17:15

    Why? I like the meyer threads. work suc**

  169. lucy
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 15:31:01

    ahhh why
    guys email me please!!so i can get your emai’s!!

  170. Kelsey
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 16:22:38

    Lucy

    lol ur funny… I’ll miss u guys!!!

  171. lucy
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 01:53:05

    lol!
    hey why’s this website not shut down yet

  172. A Short Post: Schadenfreude Pie a la Twilight : Spontaneous Derivation
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 00:01:44

    [...] somewhat less well-received [...]

  173. TrishFish BLog » Blog Archive » Twilight - The Echo of Question Marks….
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 07:39:03

    [...] (Eclipse) [...]

  174. The Twilight Saga: Eclipse in Book Reviews - mediabistro.com: GalleyCat
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 18:25:38

    [...] L wrote this review at Dear Author: "It is hard to say at what point I realized that this would be my last Meyer novel, at least my [...]

  175. It’s not an optical illusion, it just looks like one. - Southern Fried Chicas
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 21:04:53

    [...] an article featuring some reviews of the novel that spawned the movie.  Here’s one from Dear Author.  They also cited a report they did last year on Stephen King’s controversial comments about [...]

%d bloggers like this: