Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: A Gentleman by Any Other Name by Kasey Michaels

Dear Ms Michaels,

I should have trusted my first instincts about this book. Instead, I let myself be lured by one good review into spending $7 on it. Bad move on my part. I think I will be skipping all the subsequent books in your series about 7 orphans who are adopted by an eccentric and wealthy Englishman. The names of some of them alone are enough to put me off: Morgan (girl), Courtland (boy) and Rian (boy. What? Is Ryan too pedestrian for you?) and of course the hero of this book, Chance. At least there isn’t a Damien, Demon, or Devil. So far…

A Gentleman by Any Other Name by Kasey MichaelsAnyway, the heroine of this book is like Mary Poppins. A bad, nosey, irritating Mary Poppins. At least MP gave her charges a spoonful of sugar as she bossed them around and poured noxious medicine down their throats.

The hero could have been an interesting character (even though he is working for the War Office) but I can’t stomach your book past chapter 5 to find out any more about him. Once you moved the action to Romney Marsh and brought out even more Characters (with names like Jocko), I tossed in the towel.

Perhaps some will argue that I didn’t give you enough time, but 83 pages of this was more than enough. My head was reeling and my brain about ready to explode.

I’ve enjoyed some of your books in the past but you are definitely a hit or miss author for me. And this one missed by a long mile.

~Jayne

Another long time reader who read romance novels in her teens, then took a long break before started back again about 15 years ago. She enjoys historical romance/fiction best, likes contemporaries, action- adventure and mysteries, will read suspense if there's no TSTL characters and is currently reading very few paranormals.

10 Comments

  1. Karen Scott
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 00:08:27

    I always try to go with my gut instinct when it comes to romances with sparkling reviews. If the storyline doesn’t appeal, then it’s unlikely that I’ll enjoy the book, regardless of how universally brilliant it is.

    One book that comes to mind that everybody else loved that I hated was MJ Rose’s The Halo Effect. It got five star reviews everywhere, so I decided to part with my hard earned £6.99($10.50) to my everlasting annoyance.

  2. Jayne
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 00:17:10

    Ouch, $10.50? That really sucks the big one.

    Well, I’m happy to say that my hard earned $6.99 will be refunded when I take this book back to the bookstore. Thank heavens I saved the receipt!

  3. Jayne
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 00:24:38

    And I just noticed that amazon has it listed as only a trilogy. For that, let us be thankful. Though I admit I’m looking at that with a skeptical eye, much like when a performer announces a farewell tour only to be followed by the second farewell tour which is then followed by the final farewell tour which is capped by the ultimate-we-really-mean-it-this-is-it tour.

    And I didn’t even mention the ghastly stepback cover with the h/h in a clinch on a beach with waves about to crash into them and a particulary malevolent seagull perched in the foreground.

  4. sybil
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 09:22:35

    Refunded? Do you return books you couldn’t finish?

  5. Jayne
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 17:09:28

    Oh yes. If returned within a month’s time of purchase in sellable condition, Waldenbooks will refund the entire purchase price. Yippee!

    If I do manage to slog my way through a book, even if I end up not liking it, I don’t return it, though.

  6. sybil
    Apr 10, 2006 @ 17:31:53

    If I do manage to slog my way through a book, even if I end up not liking it, I don’t return it, though.

    LOL I think those are called libraries ;)

    Good to know about Waldenbooks, although I am too lazy I think. I have returned one or two books and because I forgot I already owned them.

  7. Jane
    Apr 11, 2006 @ 07:41:55

    In Jayne’s defense, I think she buys something like 20 new books a month and waldens probably cries with joy every time she comes in to return a book because they know she is going to be walking out with three more.

  8. Daniela
    Apr 13, 2006 @ 13:27:43

    1. I love this blog.
    2. I have no idea about the Waldenbooks return policy. Good to know. I bought Eloisa James’ new series and haven’t started one yet. The last one got so so reviews and now I just want to throw all the books out. WHat to do?
    3. Thank you. I wanted to buy the Michaels book but something stopped me. Now I know..instinct. Thanks for the review.

  9. Jayne
    Apr 13, 2006 @ 15:55:28

    1. We love that you love our blog. Really!

    2. Well, now you know. And that is a good thing to know. What, with prices as high as they are now who can afford to pay for something they can’t even finish. I used to just take DNF books to my local UBS and only get 1/4 the price or try to sell online but now I have no shame. None. ;)

    3. You’re welcome. I’m glad my suffering paid off for you.
    Tell us what you’ve enjoyed lately. Maybe you can save me some bucks or give me a good tip.

  10. Rae
    May 07, 2006 @ 07:10:26

    Sorry you didn’t care for this book. The further in I got, the more I liked it. The change of locale really brought the characters “home” (eg) for me. Chance is a completely different person at Romney Marsh, and Julia demonstrated surprising depth of character by the end of the novel. The second book is even better and now I am impatiently waiting for the third to appear on the shelves.

%d bloggers like this: