Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

REVIEW: Dangerous Games by Lora Leigh

Dear Ms. Leigh:

My friends love you. Generally, I love things my friends love. Unfortunately, the categorical syllogism ends there. While this story features a stronger, more emotionally secure heroine than I have seen in previous Leigh books, the implausability of the plot and the tiresome machinations of the hero left me deflated.

Morganna Chavez has always loved Clint McIntire, her brother’s best friend. For years, however, he’s been seemingly immune to her charms. Seemingly being the operative word. Clint is as attracted to Morganna even before it was appropriate for him to do so. He’s never acted on it because he does not believe he can love anyone given his terrible childhood. However, when Morganna, a newly minted DEA agent, is spotted at one of his favorite BDSM haunts and placed in danger, Clint is forced to confront his feelings for Morganna.

What makes this work, when it does work, is when Morganna is standing up for herself. She knows that Clint is attracted to her and she knows that he fights his attraction. She just doesn’t know the reason. She calls him on his emotional cowardice instead of being hurt by his intentional pushing her away from him. Morganna is a heroine you can get behind.

Where this book really stumbles is everywhere else. The DEA plot is convoluted and breaks every law out there. How a CIA operative can just rustle up his own team, take over a DEA sting operation, go around killing people and suffer no consequences (not to mention the club owner engaging in this operation) strains even the most generous suspension of disbelief.

Much is made of Clint’s BDSM tendencies but it is never really acted upon with Morganna. A person so devoted to Clint’s purported BDSM lifestyle to the point he retains the rights to an exclusive room in an high priced club but never once engages in BDSM activity made it seem like the author was playing at being Dangerous but never really following through. Finally, Clint seemed to be quite whiny and at times I wondered why a strong and vibrant heroine like Morganna would want to tie her wagon to such a brooding horse.

This story has action, suspense and plenty of sex but requires the reader to completely give herself over to the author. I wasn’t able to but others might. C.

Best regards,

Jane

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

14 Comments

  1. Shiloh Walker
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 17:49:30

    I loved it, but then again… I’m a Lora Leigh junkie. :O)

  2. Janine
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 18:20:44

    Where this book really stumbles is everywhere else. The DEA plot is convoluted and breaks every law out there. How a CIA operative can just rustle up his own team, take over a DEA sting operation, go around killing people and suffer no consequences (not to mention the club owner engaging in this operation) strains even the most generous suspension of disbelief.

    I haven’t read this or any of Leigh’s books, but that is the kind of thing that often ruins a book for me.

  3. Danielle
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 18:53:19

    I read this book in less than two days, I couldn’t wait to find out what would happened next and who the villian was. I agree that Clint was an over the top Alpha. This book had me in tears espcially the scene when he finally went back and visited his mother for the first time in five years. If there was ever a woman I wanted to slap it would be her.

    I do agree with you about the DEA – CIA sting operation and the owner of the bar participating in the operation. Could th owner really be a CIA — DEA agent?

  4. jmc
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 19:40:16

    Convoluted plot, pointless/aimless BDSM, violation of procedural rules all over the place. And the sex was just boring. I swore after Megan’s Mark that I wouldn’t read Lora Leigh again, but I couldn’t resist (in addition to being a book pimp, I’m a bookslut). :sigh: I think the lesson has been drilled into my thick skull — LL is not an author to my taste.

  5. nath
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 09:13:25

    Well I haven’t read the book yet, but I appreciate the review :) I’m in the same situation as Jane, my friends love LL, and so I’ve bought 3 of her books, but still haven’t gotten to read them… sigh, this is review is not going to make me rush and read it either. ah well…

  6. Teddy Pig
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 10:51:40

    Well, I am glad I did not waste the money I wanted a BDSM storyline not a tease with no payoff. Would it be too much for me to ask Jane… Was Lora’s idea of BDSM butt secks? I only ask due to the traditional Breed series story line reg sex, love sex, butt sex, baby making sex found there.

    It’s like a formula, I swear!

  7. Chantal
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 11:56:42

    I had some problems with this one, too.
    It was still a good read though.
    Lora Leigh will always be one of my fav’s.

  8. seton
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 12:31:10

    I was going to buy this but I thought the plot sounded too much like previous LL stories and I am getting a little tired of the formula. I thought HARMONY’S WAY was a rehash of every other Breed book.

    The good thing about LL is that she cranks out a new book almost every month so there is always next time . . .

  9. Jane
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 13:54:08

    Teddy Pig – there was anal, but I don’t know that it was related to BDSM because well, I’ve read BDSM books and this isn’t one of them.

  10. Janine B
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 17:37:10

    I loved this book! Alpha males are my fav. Whiny? No. Didn’t see that in there. Fun plot, lots of action, hot scenes, great heroine, tough hero. Couldn’t put it down. Looks like a winner of new series to me. I’m a buyer for the next one! :D

  11. Charity
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 17:45:58

    Well, it’s in my TBR&R pile, I picked it up last week sometime, it’s moving to the bottom, I’m hearing very mixed things about this one. I’ve never read LL before, but liked the cover so I bought it. Sigh. We shall see.

    Thanks for the review!

  12. TeddyPig
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 20:08:06

    “Teddy Pig – there was anal, but I don’t know that it was related to BDSM because well, I’ve read BDSM books and this isn’t one of them.”

    Yeah, I was reading one of her up-coming excerpts about the flying breeds.
    Anyway, when in the sex scene the tail feathers wrapped themselves around the girl so she was not only getting it from the front using the normal equipment but from the back using the suddenly snake like tail feathers…

    Well, I just knew I was reading yet another Lora Leigh EPIC. I figured his appendage was gonna have a screw shaped head next but I have to admit to not being able to finish.

    The tears of laughter and the belly ache were killing me.

  13. Fox
    Feb 22, 2007 @ 17:42:37

    I enjoyed it.

    It was so refreshing to have a strong female dealing coherently with emotional issues and baggage. Clint’s emotional vulnerabilities were in direct opposition to his sexual preferences. Which was not spelt out but there for the reader to ponder.

    I like that LL is now writing stories that require us to look deeper into motivations, and dosen’t spell everything out.
    It is a reflection of how I think her writing is changing and growing and becoming more interesting with each book. I am happy to watch the developments of this writers skill, as she already has something very charasmatic about her style.

  14. glasses
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 09:47:00

    I recently ordered this book from amazon but hearing all the revies has got me slightl worried can some one give me the real storyline behind this book. I DO AGREE TO SPOILERS.

%d bloggers like this: