Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

DA BWAHA Tournament Begins

64 Books Enter. One Book Leaves.

Dear Author and the Smart Bitches present the DA BWAHA Tournament. We
have fielded a slate of 64 “best” books in 8 different categories:

  • Young Adult
  • Paranormal
  • Erotica/Erotic Romance
  • GLBT
  • Historical
  • Contemporary
  • Novel With Romantic Elements
  • Category

Today through Wednesday 7 am EST, you are allowed to fill out your bracket. The bracket is found here.

On Wednesday, you’ll begin to see polls, both here and at the Smart Bitches, pitting books against each other. The goal, when filling out the bracket, is to guess which book is going to win each poll. The winners of the poll advance against each other until one poll contains only two books.

You will need to enter a tiebreaker number (anything from 1 to 1000) in case your bracket ties with someone else’s brackets. Please use the threads both here and at the Smart Bitches to bemoan our picks, to engage in speculation regarding the winners, and to generally have a good time.

Please enter only once.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

23 Comments

  1. Laura Vivanco
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 05:57:36

    I took a look at the nominees, and I was a bit surprised to find Beverly Jenkins’s Topaz in with the contemporaries because according to the excerpt on Jenkins’s website the novel is set in 1884.

    I also notice that there are currently only 7 books in the historical category (there are supposed to be 8 books in each category), so I wonder if maybe Topaz should have been in the historical category, and whether one of the contemporaries got overwritten by Topaz?

    I’m also wondering about the publication date of the book. Topaz was first published in 1997 so the edition depicted on the DABWAHA site is the new, 2007 edition. The rules of the contest, as far as I could tell, say only that the book had to have been “published in 2007,” so presumably this is OK, but I thought I'd mention it anyway.

  2. Angela James
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 06:37:18

    So my first instinct was to try and type in each box. In case anyone else was a little confused, you just click on the title you want to send through to the next round. No typing required with the exception of your name and address!

  3. Laura Vivanco
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 06:41:07

    Ah, on closer inspection, I see that there are 8 books in the historical category: “PLEASE NOTE: “Samburu Hills” by Jennifer Mueller is no longer for sale, but it is also among our nominees.” So I made a mistake in thinking there was a missing historical.

    But as I pointed out, Beverly Jenkins’s Topaz is in with the contemporaries, and it’s set in 1884.

  4. Sunita
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 08:32:07

    THIS. IS. SO. AWESOME.

    So, just to be clear, we are voting for the books we think are going to win the polls? Will the poll voters be visitors to the websites? If that’s the case, then an understanding of how the books have fared in the blogosphere should help. Also, the numbers don’t correspond to actual seeding positions, do they? Because either I have a really skewed idea of how popular/good these books are or the numbers are there for versimilitude.

    And like the other, lesser tournament, voting for teams (books) that you don’t want to advance is probably necessary if you want to stay competitive in the pool.

  5. Jayne
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 08:48:17

    And like the other, lesser tournament, voting for teams (books) that you don’t want to advance is probably necessary if you want to stay competitive in the pool.

    Absolutely and it’s something I came up against when I filled in my brackets. Never count a Cinderella book/team out but some concessions to ranking and reader opinion/regular season standings must be factored in.

  6. Jane
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 08:56:48

    Laura – Ugh. What a mistake. Unfortunately, I think Topaz came up as a highly ranked “contemporary” on Amazon. It will have to be an error this year.

    Sunita – Yes, you need to move the books forward that you think you are going to win rather than voting for who you want to win. You can, of course, have a sentimental favorite. There is also the bracket buster. The Cinderella team that no one gives a chance and totally breaks the bracket.

  7. Kim
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 10:42:10

    I have a question. On the Bracket sheet you have Demon Angel listed but if you go to the other page that lists the full names of books and authors you have Demon Night. Is it Demon Angel or Demon Night?
    Thanks.

  8. SB Sarah
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 10:58:01

    Kim: OOPS. It’s “Demon Angel.” I just fixed it in the full listings page. My boo-boo — thanks for catching it.

  9. whey
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:31:24

    Waaah. I’m going to place my picks, but I’ve only read about five and heard of maybe five others (in only two of eight categories), so I’m left with making random uneducated picks on 80% of the choices. Eerily similar to how I pick horses at the races based on their names. (Anyone catch The Onion article about the Novelists Strike?)

  10. Maya
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:53:19

    argh! why can’t i enter my own name! the field just keeps saying the same original message!

  11. Janine
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:58:45

    You will need to enter a tiebreaker number (anything from 1 to 1000) in case your bracket ties with someone else's brackets.

    Forgive my ignorance, but how does this work? How many points are given and for what? In other words, are we trying to guess at something with the tiebreaker points? I have no clue what number to put in there.

  12. Kay Webb Harrison
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 14:00:02

    Maya,
    Click on “New.”

  13. limecello
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 16:04:33

    Oh – this sounds very interesting. I’m definitely going to have to look into this, and probably come back here for a lot of “how to” advice! :P

  14. HelenKay Dimon » Blog Archive » Sunday Round-Up
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 17:04:04

    […] Dear Author, The Smart Bitches and some other sites are hosting a March Madness contest. This parallels the […]

  15. Writers Blog » Blog Archive » Motivating characters and March Madness
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 18:12:54

    […] Smart Bitches and Dear Author have teamed up for March Madness! 64 books competing in categories from YA to contemporary romance. Wild Wild West is among the […]

  16. eliz.
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 12:27:09

    What? No “Spymaster’s Lady”? I thought that that book would steal the show in this contest, and I don’t even see it on the list of nominees . . .

  17. Jane
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 12:29:30

    It was a 2008 release. It’ll be on the 2008 DA BWAHA for sure.

  18. eliz.
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 12:30:26

    Ah, okay. I forgot that little detail. =)

  19. Jennifer Estep
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 13:06:12

    How can we go back and look at our picks?

  20. Jane
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 13:11:43

    You can go here to player listing. Everyone is listed by first name and last initial, for privacy reasons.

  21. Sarai
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 13:36:05

    Okay well I entered it was hard at the end simply b/c I hadn’t read them but Oh well bring it on!!!

  22. lisabea
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 17:57:47

    Oh the pain. My Fair Captain vs. Demon Angel. The PAIN!

  23. REVIEW: Wicked Gentlemen by Ginn Hale | Dear Author: Romance Book Reviews, Author Interviews, and Commentary
    May 11, 2008 @ 19:31:20

    […] first heard of your book, Wicked Gentlemen, when it was nominated in the GLBT category of our DA BWAHA March Madness tournament. Wicked Gentlemen made it to the third round of the tournament, which means it was the […]

%d bloggers like this: