Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

Contest, contest, contest!

A Ruined seasonAnd we all love that, right? This is for one copy of Jennifer Mueller’s latest book, “A Ruined Season,” a charming Regency with a non nobleman hero. Yes, Virginia, such books do exist! Just leave a comment here by the end of Saturday, June 27th at midnight EST to be eligible.

Edited to add: Sorry but due to shipping costs, this is limited to residents of the US or Canada.

Another long time reader who read romance novels in her teens, then took a long break before started back again about 15 years ago. She enjoys historical romance/fiction best, likes contemporaries, action- adventure and mysteries, will read suspense if there's no TSTL characters and is currently reading very few paranormals.

135 Comments

  1. Sharon
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:09:19

    I’d like a copy!

  2. Dana
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:12:18

    I love her ebooks, and this sounds excellent as well. Thanks for the contest.

  3. Lala-chan
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:21:25

    Hum… Id like to enter the contest but I dont know if I can. Is it only for people who lve in USA and Canada??? ‘Cause I live in Brazil

    Anyway I read your riview and the book looks interesting ^_~

  4. JHeller
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:23:11

    I was disappointed to read this isn’t offered in ebook format because it’s exactly up my alley. :) I’ll throw in my hat for a chance to win a copy. Sounds fabulous.

  5. AnimeJune
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:24:06

    Ha ha, I can never resist a contest!

  6. AnimeJune
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:24:28

    I meant to add more than that….:P Your review made it sound right up my alley.

  7. Jayne
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:24:52

    Sorry, I should have included that it’s only for residents of the US or Canada.

  8. jep
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:28:59

    I would like to win a copy too:)

  9. anne
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:38:05

    Sounds wonderful. Thanks for this chance.

  10. senetra
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:39:47

    If I win, I’ll share!

  11. Robin Bayne
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:41:44

    Throwing my name in the hat. Sounds intriguing!

  12. Daria
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:41:48

    Ooooh, a contest! I’d love to win this book!

  13. Janet W
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:46:12

    Fingers crossed: I put this on my hunt-down list and I’m going to suggest my library buy it.

    Thanks!

  14. Bonnie B
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:51:08

    Your review had me adding this book to my to-be-found list. But hey, maybe I’ll win a copy!

  15. Gail Shelton
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:04:00

    I love Regencies, and I love non-aristocratic heroes. (Loved THE SURGEON’S LADY by Carla Kelly!) Would you please put me on the list?? Thanks. :)

  16. Renee
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:18:59

    Throwing my hat in the ring!

  17. Laurie Ryan
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:25:02

    Sounds like a great story. I’d love to win a copy. :)

  18. Jane O
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:27:42

    Your review made it sound like a book I will enjoy. Add me to the list please.

  19. Bonnie
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:30:49

    I’d love a copy!

  20. Kimberly C.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:33:07

    Count me in, please!

  21. Kathleen MacIver
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:46:35

    This one caught my interest when you guys reviewed it the other day, so please add my name to the pool!

  22. Ashwinder
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:48:32

    I’d love a copy.

  23. Rachel
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:49:02

    I’d love a copy, your review really caught my interest. :-)

  24. Marial
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:49:08

    Hi Please enter my name. Wow a working class hero in the olden days :0

  25. jillyfae
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:57:14

    ooh, it sounds lovely, please enter me in the contest too.

  26. Cybercliper
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 09:59:26

    It sounds like a good book…a regency Scarlett O’Hara

  27. Sela Carsen
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:00:13

    Trying again because I think I got stuck in the spam filter.

    Anyway, yes! Would love to win this! I’ve only recently stuck my toe back into historical waters after the awesomeness that was “The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie” and this just sounds too intriguing to pass up.

  28. Aoife
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:00:56

    I’d love to read this, so add my name to the list, please.

  29. vicariousrising
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:04:20

    I would love to win this. I have it in my Amazon cart, but I’m waiting on a used copy that is a wee bit more affordable. It’d be cool to win it.

  30. Lori S
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:09:36

    Raising hand! The review posted made me immediately think of books along the lines of Austen – all those characters intertwining, getting up in each other’s business, a more gentle type of book. Sounds fabulous!

  31. Melanie
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:10:00

    I’ve just discovered Regencies in the past year or so, and this one sounds good. Please enter my name.

  32. Barb
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:15:39

    Yes, yes, oh please, oh please. I would love to win this book. I had already planned to start bugging my library for it, but my Very Own Copy would be soooo much nicer. Thank you for the contest.

  33. Jody F.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:17:25

    I love Regencies and this one sounds really good. I love the dream-like look of the cover too. So please throw my name in the randomizing hat.

  34. Carolyn H
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:19:37

    I love Regencies please I would love to win a copy.

  35. Missy Ann
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:20:45

    I’d love to get my hands on this one.

  36. Shanna
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:30:34

    I haven’t read a regency in a while, I’d love to win a copy.

  37. Camilla
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:38:10

    This book sounds great…would love a copy!!!

  38. Carolyn
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:39:51

    I would love to win this book. Thank you for giving me the chance. :-)

  39. Theresa
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:41:32

    Please include me in the chance to win!

  40. Christine M.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:42:54

    I’d also love to get a copy!

  41. Karen
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:43:16

    I love a good Regency! Please include me in the contest.

  42. Catherine
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:51:48

    It sounds great, I’d love a copy.

  43. evie byrne
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:55:54

    Me too, please! Sounds great.

  44. Phyllis
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:58:21

    me please!

  45. Susan Laura
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:59:06

    Thanks! Count me in, please.

  46. Erin
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:10:03

    Please enter me, too! Thank you!

  47. LauraB
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:11:36

    Please, Please, Please pick me!

  48. Kerensa Brougham
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:23:55

    I love a good Regency, and a non-noble hero?? Kewl!

  49. RLJ
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:34:27

    Contests always bring out the commentator in me. Please enter me – I had starred the reviewed to check into reading. Owning it would make that easier.

  50. MaryK
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:35:16

    I’d love a copy. The review made me want to read it and then – sticker shock!

  51. Julia M
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:50:31

    Sounds great – I’m in! :)

  52. FoolsErrant
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:51:41

    Ooooh, I’d love a copy! *begging puppy face*

  53. Valerie
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 11:57:47

    Oh, me me me, pick me!

  54. lw
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:01:10

    Me, me, pick me! (she said, greedily)

    I was intrigued by your review the other day and had a card all ready to request a copy for the library, when the director announced that for the foreseeable future all purchases are suspended.

    That’s the reality of Ohio’s libraries these days … now our readers are offering to buy books for us! (Also put on hold until we find out if we’ll be staying open past July 1)

  55. CurlyQ
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:11:18

    I’m interested in this book. I’ve heard good things so even if I don’t win a copy I think it’ll be on my shopping list!

  56. Mary Beth
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:13:55

    I love a contest! I also really like the cover of the book and your review made it sound great.

  57. azteclady
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:16:40

    *raising hand* Please put my name in the drawing!

    I’m always game for something a bit different.

  58. vanessa jaye
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:19:25

    Count me in! I made a note to check my library for this one, but it sounds like something I’d like to own.

  59. Keilexandra
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:24:59

    Count me in!

  60. smr
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:25:44

    sounds cool to me.

  61. May
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:27:38

    Please count me in – it looks wonderful.

  62. Jen
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:38:44

    Ooooh, oooooh, me, me, me!

  63. willaful
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:44:22

    I’m starting to feel really sorry for those non-Northern Hemisphere folks. If I have that right? However, I am not one of them, so put my hat in the ring. :-)

  64. KeriM
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:46:23

    I am just easing back into historicals and this books sounds really good. So sign me up, please. :-)

  65. SonomaLass
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:49:53

    I was very intrigued by your review of this book. I’d love to win a copy!

  66. LizC
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:51:44

    Comment! I added this to my wishlist as soon as I read the review but I can’t afford to purchase it yet so I’m not above groveling for a free book.

  67. Elaine Willis
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:55:53

    I remember a series years ago about a Bow Street Runner. I really liked that the focus wasn’t on the Ton.

    Please enter me for the copy.

  68. Elizabeth
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:57:59

    I would love to get this book! I’m too poor to buy books after graduating from college 2 weeks ago with student loans up to my eyeballs. I’m dying for a good read, and this sounds like it would satisfy!

  69. Kate
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:08:02

    I never win anything, but I’ll cross my fingers!

  70. Katie
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:09:18

    Ooooh, prizes. And a Regency prize, at that. Count me in!

  71. votermom
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:13:34

    Count me in!

  72. Sally
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:20:15

    I loved the review and would clearly like to own this book. Thank you for making it available to some lucky winner.

  73. Caitie
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:22:57

    I read the review too and it does sound great! Would love to be entered, thanks:)

  74. Trish
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:23:27

    Oh, I really would like to have a copy of this book. I’ve been wanting to try Ms Mueller’s books for a long time, now.

  75. Andrea S
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:26:04

    Books!

    Having spent way too much on them already this month, getting one for free would be lovely.

  76. joanne
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:52:43

    Yes, please, I’d like to be entered in the contest.

    A hero who made it the old fashioned way… he earned it… love that!
    (and the cover is sooooooooooo pretty)

  77. Bev Stephans
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:59:45

    Count me in (the contest, that is)!

  78. Babs
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:03:54

    Oh, yippee! I read the review, was intrigued and immediately went to check on price. Which honestly stopped me cold since it seemed a wee bit high…Throw my name in the hat for the drawing!

  79. cc
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:14:14

    Regency? Hero not a nobleman? You just hit two of my buttons.

  80. Maureen
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:14:16

    I would love to win this book.

  81. diana
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:22:53

    I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since the review! Woohoo!

  82. JulieD
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:41:02

    Please include me in the contest. This books sounds great.

  83. Lizzie (greeneyed fem)
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:41:14

    Holy crap! Possible free book!

    It sounded so good from the review. Count me in!

  84. Helen L.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:53:55

    Pls count me in. Happy Weekend.

  85. catslady
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:07:49

  86. Wishverse
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:11:54

    Would love to read this book since I have just resumed my relationship with Historical after a year long romance with Para & some intense flirting with Urban.

  87. Alea
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:19:09

    Sounds quite interesting, so here’s another hat in the ring.

  88. Karen T.
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:37:34

    Looks good to me too. Pls. count me in.

  89. Danielle
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:38:38

    I would love a chance to win this book.

  90. Bianca
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:49:52

    Yay for contests! I’d love to win a copy of this book. :)

  91. NancyB
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:18:15

    Please put my name in the hat!

  92. Sherry Haut
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:29:09

    I would love to win a copy too!!

  93. Eliza
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:33:16

    Oh, I’d like to be entered! Thanks! I’ve been wanting to read this one since I read the review.

  94. dag888888
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:57:33

    I want to win this book, thank you!

  95. Nadia Lee
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:59:37

    I’d love to win a copy! :)

  96. Beth Miller
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 17:05:56

    Jennifer – I love your books. Thanks for offering this contest!

  97. Cristiane
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 17:44:22

    Ooh! Me! Me! Pick me!

  98. Estella
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 17:49:02

    I’d love to win this book!

  99. amyann
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:11:35

    I’d love to win it too — count me in!

  100. Karin
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:14:13

    Everyone loves a good contest. This book sounds really interesting, especially with the review that was posted. Definitely count me in.

  101. Lynette
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:16:36

    Pick me, pick me.

  102. Jane A
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 18:30:33

    I saw this book reviewed earlier and wanted to pick up a copy. But it’s price sure put me off. Hopefully, my library will carry it (or I win it in a contest!)

  103. Moth
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:03:51

    This book sounded fantastic. Put my name in the hat, definitely!

  104. Collette
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:09:55

    Yes, please, add me to the list of those who’d love to win this book. I would happily take it off my wishlist where it already resides!

  105. Trumystique
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:22:13

    Never read a book by this author. But the premise sounds great. There should be so many Regencies like this. I mean didnt folk think Lady Chatterly’s Lover was hottt! Anyway is the lady getting on with a footman or the stablemaster or the butler? My inquiring mind wants to know!!!

  106. Virginia Hendricks
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:48:02

    Sounds very intriguing!

  107. Castiron
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 20:15:52

    It sounds like a fun book; count me in!

  108. Tili
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 20:35:44

    Oh boy! Sounds great!

  109. hapax
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 21:12:25

    Well, I’ve already ordered it for my library on the strength of your review, but I’d love my own copy — smart, elegant Regencies being a bit thin on the shelves of late.

  110. Heidi
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 21:25:30

    Me too me too! I put it in my cart at Amazon, so save me from paying for it! :)

  111. Karen in TN
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 21:43:47

    Please enter me in the giveaway.

    Karen
    Books On The Knob

  112. Caffey
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 22:18:54

    I love historicals and would love to read this one!!! Too just read the review too!

  113. Sandy M
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 22:20:00

    I love finding new authors to read! I’d love the opportunity to win a copy!

  114. Pam S
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 22:22:55

  115. Ann
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 23:16:29

    Why not me. Add me to the drawing. Thank you.

  116. wandergurl
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 00:09:23

    yes, I would love this book! thank you.

  117. Shan
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 00:17:43

    This book is on by TBR list. It would be great if I win it, but if not I will read it eventually. Looking forward to it.

  118. Jet
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 00:48:03

    I’d love to toss my hat into the ring.

  119. catie james
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 02:55:34

    *cheers* Bring on the non-nobleman heroes!

    WHEEEEEEEEE!!!

  120. Lorraine
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 03:37:43

    This story sounds interesting. Please enter me in the drawing!

  121. Peggy P
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 06:59:38

    Please throw my name in for the contest, too.

  122. JC
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 08:04:22

    enter me too!

  123. Jane
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 08:18:41

    For those who are fans of the non nobleman hero, Courtney Milan’s novella coming out in October has one that I’ve read and really enjoyed.

  124. Susan Reader
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 08:36:24

    This sounds very interesting!

  125. Jodi
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 09:37:44

    I’m going to read this whether I win it or not!

  126. Emma
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 09:42:20

    Jennifer Mueller's book, “The Ruined Season,”sounds wonderful.Please enter me in the drawing. Thank you.The review for this sounded really wonderful.

  127. Mara
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 09:45:56

    Not a nobleman?? How does she pull that off? Cool. Even if I don’t win, I’d look for this one in the bookstore…

  128. Juanita Stender
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 11:38:09

    I LOVE Regency Romances. I want to read this book. Please enter me in this contest. Write on Sisters!

  129. Jody
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 11:56:48

    I loves me some Regencies, and I especially LOVES me some anything with “Ruined” in the title!

    Since the Ohio governor has proposed a 50% cut in library funding that’s already below the 2006 level and we’re therefore teetering on the brink of the New Dark Ages, I know my library will never get it. So thank you very much for this contest!

    Read on!

  130. Joan Woods
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 12:40:58

    Please enter me in the contest. I am an avid reader and would love to read this book.

  131. Leslie Jane Fahrney
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 13:10:29

    Me too, I want to win. After I read it, I can pass it on to my Mom, who loves Regencies. So will be well loved.

    Plus, I made a New Year’s Resolution to win at least one contest a month. Have to keep my average up.

  132. Jocelyn Redel
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 14:28:36

    I’d love a copy of this book! It sounds like a good read.

  133. Pat Lieberman
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 17:17:38

    A free book. YAY. Count me in. Thanks.

  134. Gillian
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 19:06:31

    Oh, me, me! Sounds very interesting.

  135. PhyllisC
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 23:55:46

    I would love to have a copy. I love her books.

%d bloggers like this: