Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

ACE/ROC Fall Fantastic Preview and Giveaway

Thanks again to Dear Author for giving me this opportunity to let you know about some of our terrific forthcoming titles. As always, there are too many great books for me to mention all of them, so you can look at our site (http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/specialinterests/scifi/index.html) to see everything we publish.

September 2009

HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs is familiar to the readers of Dear Author, so I won’t say too much about the plot. This is the latest in the "Alpha and Omega" series, featuring the mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham. The story kicks off when Charles and Anna go to Seattle to present the North American wolves’ plan to "come out" to the public. This may not sound interesting on the surface, but you’re always in good hands with Patricia Briggs. When she first told me she wanted to write a novella about Charles for ON THE PROWL, I wasn’t sure, since he wasn’t the most immediately obvious character from the Mercy Thompson series to center a novella on. I should never have doubted-’I loved Charles and Anna so much I asked Patty if she’d like to tell more stories about them (which resulted in CRY WOLF and HUNTING GROUND).

ARIEL by Steven R. Boyett

The romantic elements in this are not a major part of the plot, and be warned, the ending is downright bittersweet, but I am so obsessed with it I could not resist sharing. I first read this book when I was around fourteen, and I fell completely in love with it-’I had never read anything quite like it, before or since. It’s essentially post apocalyptic fantasy, where suddenly all our tech stops working-’and magic does. It’s written in a gritty, realistic, and utterly believable way. And it’s about a young man named Pete Garey who managed to survive this Change and the madness that followed. He spent two years wandering and scavenging the near-deserted cities and towns alone, until the day he encountered an injured unicorn and an unlikely friendship was formed.

ARIEL has been out of print for years, but I never forgot it, and I was thrilled when I found out Steven Boyett had written a sequel (and that it was stellar). It’s been so exciting to be a part of bringing ARIEL and its sequel ELEGY BEACH (out November 09) to a new generation of readers.

TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman

Rob Thurman is best known for the Cal Leandros novels, a snarky, action-packed urban fantasy series featuring the half-human Cal and his brother Niko. With TRICK OF THE LIGHT, Rob begins a brand new series set in a different corner of the world-’Las Vegas.

Bar owner Trixa Iktomi deals in information, and she knows better than most that creatures beyond human understanding exist. After all, she’s got a few secrets herself. But while demons are sexy as all and useful sources to boot, they have a nasty habit of stealing souls and dealing in death and destruction. Las Vegas may be Sin City, but it’s still Trixa’s home, and she’s not about to let demons take over. So she and her friends make a habit out of–discouraging–the demons that overstep their bounds.

October 2009

ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews

First off, this is not a Kate Daniels book. But you should not let that stop you, because it is really, really good. It’s got a stronger romance component than the Kate books, and plenty of the terrific worldbuilding and characterization that Ilona Andrews is known for. It’s about a young woman named Rose Drayton who lives between worlds, on the border between the Broken (where people drive cars, shop at WalMart, and magic is a fairy tale) and the Weird (where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny). She’s been struggling, working a minimum wage job in the Broken just to get by, when Declan Camarine, a blueblood noble straight out of the deepest part of the Weird, comes into the Edge on the trail of dark magical creatures-’and into Rose’s life.

QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn

I am a big Sharon Shinn fan (with a special fondness for her Samaria novels, where angelic beings take human lovers), and I am really excited about Quatrain. It’s a collection of four romantic fantasy novellas, each set in one of the different worlds she has created (including Samaria!). Sharon’s books are an irresistible blend of fantasy, romance, and adventure, and this book is a great way for readers to sample her different worlds.

November 2009

MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS by Devon Monk

This is the latest in Devon’s Allie Beckstrom series, and these just keep getting better and better. Allie lives in an alternate Portland, Oregon, where the use of magic is as commonplace as electricity. But in Allie’s world, the price you pay for using magic doesn’t come out of your checking account, but your body and soul. Every time she casts a spell she’ll pay for it with a migraine, a fever-’or the memory of her first kiss. In fact earlier in the series, she lost the memory of the man she fell in love with, and in this book Allie’s taking steps toward redeveloping her relationship with the mysterious, sexy, Zayvion Jones-’while dealing with the ghost of her father.

HEART’S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier

Juliet writes beautiful historical romantic fantasy, and HEART’S BLOOD is no exception. I really go for stories with new takes on fairy tales, and in fact the first book of Juliet’s I read was DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST. I was attracted to it because it’s a loose retelling of one of my favorite fairy tales, the one about the girl whose brothers are transformed into swans.

Like DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST, this book is set in ancient Ireland. And it also has elements of a fairy tale-’in this case, "Beauty and the Beast". Caitrin is a young scribe forced to flee her abusive relatives. She finds shelter in the fortress of a cursed chieftain-’but to free him, she must first unravel the web of sorcery woven by his ancestors.

****

Anne Sowards is an executive editor at Penguin Group (USA) Inc., where she primarily acquires and edits fantasy and science fiction for the Ace and Roc imprints. Some of the great authors she works with include Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Jack Campbell, and Rob Thurman. When she’s not reading, she listens to Chinese rap and spends way too much time playing video games. Follow her at http://twitter.com/AnneSowards.


Here’s how to win:

  1. Read the post
  2. Note which 2 books you would like the most
  3. Tell us in the comments which 2 books you would like the most.
  4. Mention what gratuitous favor you would do for Anne. (again, four is totally optional)

We are giving away the following:

HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs (2 finished copies, 1 ARC)
ARIEL / Stephen R. Boyett (2 finished copies)
TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman (3 ARCs)
ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews (3 ARCs)
QUATRAIN / Sharon Shinn (3 ARCs)
MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk (3 ARCs)
HEART’S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier (3 ARCs)

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

225 Comments

  1. Ina
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:37:42

    HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier
    ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews

    voila – my favorite books ;)
    Anne, I would love to review all your books *g* yeah, I know – that’s a lot of work but for you I would do it ;)

    Wish you all the best,
    Ina

  2. Crystal
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 09:28:33

    I’ve already read Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light, which are both awesome by the way.

    The two I would really, really, really love to read next are On the Edge, and Magic in the Shadows. I am a big fan of both of those talented ladies.

    What would I give? Well I guess anything short of children, although that also depends on what day of the week you ask me.

  3. Crystal
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 09:34:53

    I’ve already read Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light, which are both awesome by the way.

    The two I would really, really, really love to read next are On the Edge, and Magic in the Shadows. I am a big fan of both of those talented ladies.

    What would I give? Well I guess anything short of my children, although I could be persuaded to part with them depending on the day of the week that you ask me. LOL

  4. Leslie Witwer
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 09:55:12

    Pretty-please wish list:

    ON THE EDGE
    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS (I’m the Supreme Devon Monk Fan-Girl)

    I’d learn Chinese so I could rap for you, Anne (oh, wait, that might actually DISQUALIFY me with my voice!)

  5. May
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:08:22

    Please add me to this draw. My picks are TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman and ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews. Thank you

  6. Misti
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:26:06

    Quatrain by Sharon Shinn and Hearts Blood by Juliet Marillier.

    I’ve already read Hunting Ground and it was fantastic. And I will be buying On The Edge the second it’s available.

  7. Jacqueline C.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:55:53

    I would love to have Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk and Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier.

  8. Sharon Shinn
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:03:16

    Wow, what a cool thing for both Ace and Dear Author to do! I confess, when I saw you were giving away THREE of my ARCs, I said a silent prayer that at least three readers would ask for QUATRAIN! Once I hit that number, I stopped counting. :-)

    The book on this list I’m most looking forward to is Juliet Marillier’s HEART’S BLOOD. (But don’t add me to the drawing!)

  9. Amy Huber
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:28:38

    I am dying to get my hands on ON THE EDGE and have also been craving some Rob Thurman.

    Thanks for the contest!

  10. Julia M.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:29:18

    I pick Ariel and Heart’s Blood, though I don’t love the others any less!

  11. kai charles
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:31:16

    I would loves Hearts blood and Magic in the shadows. As for the favor If anne is ever near my office in calabasas california there is a complimentary massage waiting for her ! :)

  12. Eva S
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:07:03

    I’d love to read On the Edge and Heart’s Blood! Thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Dawn
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:33:01

    Wow – lucky person who gets to read through these all.

    On my gimme list –
    Ariel – because the description sold me (although I’m wincing at bittersweet ending, I like my HEAs)
    Magic in the Shadows – I really enjoyed the first one. Second one sounds good too.

    Bribes, bribes, bribes – hmmm – would you rather have triple chocolate brownies or the recipe for my awesome oven-roasted crispy chicken? I’d offer to mail the chicken, but I don’t think that would work very well…

    Thank you,
    Dawn

  14. Andrea
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:42:26

    I would LOVE Magic in the Shadows or On the Edge. I have been a huge fan of Ilona Andrews for a while and cannot wait for her new series! I am a newer fan to Devon Monk, but was absolutely blown away by her Allie Beckstrom series. All in all what great fun reads that have all the elements a girl could want!

  15. Terri W.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:08:35

    I would love to have “Hunting Ground” by Patricia Briggs and “Quatrain by Sharon Shinn.

    Thanks for the great contest!

  16. Lisa N.
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:19:00

    I’d love to read On The Edge and Magic in the Shadows.

  17. Andi
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 13:45:37

    Trick of the Light or On the Edge would be great. As for what I would do, let me think. How would you like to be immortalized in a bust completely made of bubble gum and nerds?

  18. Janine
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 14:20:55

    @Sharon Shinn:

    I’m halfway through Quatrain now and so far, enjoying it, “Blood” especially. Review to come next month.

  19. Michelle
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:04:08

    I’d love to get Magic in the Shadows and On the Edge. But all of the books sound interesting. Just wish I had even more time to read.

  20. Andrea S
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:18:26

    I have much wants for Hunting Ground and On the Edge. Both are by authors I already totally love…

  21. Elise
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 15:21:19

    I’d love a chance for On the Edge and Trick of the Light. I love Ilona Andrews and I’ve been meaning to check out Rob Thurman.

    Hmm for a bribe I’d send over a homemade pound cake and throw in some whipped cream and strawberries.

  22. Joslynn
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 16:53:48

    I would love On the Edge and Quatrain. Ilona Andrews is a great storyteller and Quatrain looks very interesting (:

  23. Ann K
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 18:41:07

    I would love a chance for Quatrain and and Heart’s Blood.

    (Yey! New Sharon Shinn!)

  24. Brenta
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 19:06:40

    I’d love:
    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk
    TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman

  25. Kayla
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 19:47:12

    I’ve never read anything by Sharon Shinn, but Quatrain sounds fascinating and I’m always on the look-out for romantic fantasies. The cover is really beautiful, too. I’m also very excited for Hunting Ground! I loved Alpha and Omega.

%d bloggers like this: