Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

ACE/ROC Fall Fantastic Preview and Giveaway

Thanks again to Dear Author for giving me this opportunity to let you know about some of our terrific forthcoming titles. As always, there are too many great books for me to mention all of them, so you can look at our site (http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/specialinterests/scifi/index.html) to see everything we publish.

September 2009

HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs is familiar to the readers of Dear Author, so I won’t say too much about the plot. This is the latest in the "Alpha and Omega" series, featuring the mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham. The story kicks off when Charles and Anna go to Seattle to present the North American wolves’ plan to "come out" to the public. This may not sound interesting on the surface, but you’re always in good hands with Patricia Briggs. When she first told me she wanted to write a novella about Charles for ON THE PROWL, I wasn’t sure, since he wasn’t the most immediately obvious character from the Mercy Thompson series to center a novella on. I should never have doubted-’I loved Charles and Anna so much I asked Patty if she’d like to tell more stories about them (which resulted in CRY WOLF and HUNTING GROUND).

ARIEL by Steven R. Boyett

The romantic elements in this are not a major part of the plot, and be warned, the ending is downright bittersweet, but I am so obsessed with it I could not resist sharing. I first read this book when I was around fourteen, and I fell completely in love with it-’I had never read anything quite like it, before or since. It’s essentially post apocalyptic fantasy, where suddenly all our tech stops working-’and magic does. It’s written in a gritty, realistic, and utterly believable way. And it’s about a young man named Pete Garey who managed to survive this Change and the madness that followed. He spent two years wandering and scavenging the near-deserted cities and towns alone, until the day he encountered an injured unicorn and an unlikely friendship was formed.

ARIEL has been out of print for years, but I never forgot it, and I was thrilled when I found out Steven Boyett had written a sequel (and that it was stellar). It’s been so exciting to be a part of bringing ARIEL and its sequel ELEGY BEACH (out November 09) to a new generation of readers.

TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman

Rob Thurman is best known for the Cal Leandros novels, a snarky, action-packed urban fantasy series featuring the half-human Cal and his brother Niko. With TRICK OF THE LIGHT, Rob begins a brand new series set in a different corner of the world-’Las Vegas.

Bar owner Trixa Iktomi deals in information, and she knows better than most that creatures beyond human understanding exist. After all, she’s got a few secrets herself. But while demons are sexy as all and useful sources to boot, they have a nasty habit of stealing souls and dealing in death and destruction. Las Vegas may be Sin City, but it’s still Trixa’s home, and she’s not about to let demons take over. So she and her friends make a habit out of–discouraging–the demons that overstep their bounds.

October 2009

ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews

First off, this is not a Kate Daniels book. But you should not let that stop you, because it is really, really good. It’s got a stronger romance component than the Kate books, and plenty of the terrific worldbuilding and characterization that Ilona Andrews is known for. It’s about a young woman named Rose Drayton who lives between worlds, on the border between the Broken (where people drive cars, shop at WalMart, and magic is a fairy tale) and the Weird (where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny). She’s been struggling, working a minimum wage job in the Broken just to get by, when Declan Camarine, a blueblood noble straight out of the deepest part of the Weird, comes into the Edge on the trail of dark magical creatures-’and into Rose’s life.

QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn

I am a big Sharon Shinn fan (with a special fondness for her Samaria novels, where angelic beings take human lovers), and I am really excited about Quatrain. It’s a collection of four romantic fantasy novellas, each set in one of the different worlds she has created (including Samaria!). Sharon’s books are an irresistible blend of fantasy, romance, and adventure, and this book is a great way for readers to sample her different worlds.

November 2009

MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS by Devon Monk

This is the latest in Devon’s Allie Beckstrom series, and these just keep getting better and better. Allie lives in an alternate Portland, Oregon, where the use of magic is as commonplace as electricity. But in Allie’s world, the price you pay for using magic doesn’t come out of your checking account, but your body and soul. Every time she casts a spell she’ll pay for it with a migraine, a fever-’or the memory of her first kiss. In fact earlier in the series, she lost the memory of the man she fell in love with, and in this book Allie’s taking steps toward redeveloping her relationship with the mysterious, sexy, Zayvion Jones-’while dealing with the ghost of her father.

HEART’S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier

Juliet writes beautiful historical romantic fantasy, and HEART’S BLOOD is no exception. I really go for stories with new takes on fairy tales, and in fact the first book of Juliet’s I read was DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST. I was attracted to it because it’s a loose retelling of one of my favorite fairy tales, the one about the girl whose brothers are transformed into swans.

Like DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST, this book is set in ancient Ireland. And it also has elements of a fairy tale-’in this case, "Beauty and the Beast". Caitrin is a young scribe forced to flee her abusive relatives. She finds shelter in the fortress of a cursed chieftain-’but to free him, she must first unravel the web of sorcery woven by his ancestors.

****

Anne Sowards is an executive editor at Penguin Group (USA) Inc., where she primarily acquires and edits fantasy and science fiction for the Ace and Roc imprints. Some of the great authors she works with include Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, Anne Bishop, Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Jack Campbell, and Rob Thurman. When she’s not reading, she listens to Chinese rap and spends way too much time playing video games. Follow her at http://twitter.com/AnneSowards.


Here’s how to win:

  1. Read the post
  2. Note which 2 books you would like the most
  3. Tell us in the comments which 2 books you would like the most.
  4. Mention what gratuitous favor you would do for Anne. (again, four is totally optional)

We are giving away the following:

HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs (2 finished copies, 1 ARC)
ARIEL / Stephen R. Boyett (2 finished copies)
TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman (3 ARCs)
ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews (3 ARCs)
QUATRAIN / Sharon Shinn (3 ARCs)
MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk (3 ARCs)
HEART’S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier (3 ARCs)

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

225 Comments

  1. Julie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:12:02

    Wow, I would love to have Hunting Ground; I’ve been on the edge of my seat waiting for the latest on Anna and Charles! And because “Beauty and the Beast” holds a special place in my heart, Heart’s Blood, please!

    Having grown up on traditional Chinese music, I personally find Chinese rap a tad weird, but that wouldn’t stop me from supplying you with whatever auditory goodies you needed. :D

  2. Tabitha
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:16:09

    I am interested in checking out Ilona Andrews so I would pick On the Edge by her and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk.

  3. jmc
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:17:04

    I would *love* Trick of the Light and On the Edge.

    Favorwise…hmm, how about a chocolate cake with fudge icing from scratch? It’s the bribe that works best in my family ;)

  4. BrookeReviews
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:24:31

    I’m interested in On The Edge and Quatrain. :) I’ve never heard of the author for Quatrain, and it sounds good.

    Whatever your least favorite chore is, I’ll do it! :D

  5. Rylie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:31:19

    The books that I’d like the most are On the Edge and Heart’s Blood.

  6. Angela T.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:31:45

    HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs and TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman. I love all of Patricia Briggs and Rob Thurman’s books. All of the books on the list looked good. My to-be-read list is getting longer.

  7. Lori S.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:32:21

    Sign me up for Ariel by Stephen R. Boyett and Hunting Ground by Patricia Wiggs! Pretty please!

  8. Leigh Ann Baird
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:34:25

    If I won, On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk, I would rub your feet!

  9. dancechica
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:34:39

    I would really like On the Edge and Trick of Light. I’ll give you chocolate! :D

  10. Tiffany Clare
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:35:17

    OH! A new Juliet Marillier book! I love her work so much. And I’m game for anything werewolf… throw a girl a bone, or a book with Patricia Briggs and I’m good to roll (not in dirt).

  11. Eshani
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:37:33

    I would love to read Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier because I could never resist the lure of a fairytale, and On the Edge by Ilona Andrews because I love her writing style.
    Hoping you’re a food addict like me, I will happily share my collection of all-time favorite recipes (I have to warn you though, most of them lean toward the sugar and chocolate department :)

  12. Lexie C.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:40:41

    Hart’s Blood and Ariel. She had me at Ancient Ireland and bittersweet ending XD

  13. Amy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:44:15

    *Crosses fingers* Here’s to hopin’!

    The two I would like the most would be Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman and Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier.:)

  14. KMont
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:44:32

    I see I’m not the first to offer up food, but I make a mean fresh lemon curd tart if you’re up for that, the crust from scratch and everything. I’ll even fluff up some fresh whipped cream for it if you stop by.

    On the books, I’m interested in every single one of them, but would pick On the Edge and Heart’s Blood in a pinch.

    Thanks for yet another great giveaway op.

  15. K. Z. Snow
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:48:40

    The stranger and grittier, the better. Ariel and On the Edge both sound fascinating.

    How’s about going out for a beer and a gab with all my friends in low places? (Yes, I lead a humble life.)

  16. stephanie h
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:54:08

    ARIEL by Steven R. Boyett and HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier. Marillier is one of my favorite authors and Boyett’s story sounds wonderful. I’d do your laundry!!! (speaking of which, I have to go do mine…)

  17. Bella
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:56:24

    Thank you, Anne, for the awesome giveaway! These books look terrific!

    I would love to have Hunting Ground — I LOVE this series! I have to admit I’ve never read any of the other authors, but I would love to try Devon Monk’s book, Magic in the Shadows, and I am definitely adding her to the TBB list!

    A gratuitous favor? I’m an excellent party planner and I can organize everyone in the world’s closet but mine — either of those appeal? ;-)

  18. Joanne O
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 11:57:29

    As I’ve already bought two of the three September titles, I would like the third one Ariel which is on my wishlist. My second choice would be Quatrain please, as I already have On the Edge on pre-order. Thank you

  19. Rebecca B
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:00:01

    Fantastic.

    Quatrain by Sharon Shinn (a favorite author) and Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs (another favorite) look amazing. I’m in!

  20. blodeuedd
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:00:48

    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk
    HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier

    The first cos I have her two first books and the second because I just love marillier, I cried when reading Daughter of the forest

  21. Kristen Painter
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:02:23

    ARIEL by Stephen R. Boyett and QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn – not that I won’t be buying most of these anyway.

  22. RStewie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:04:09

    I am interested in Hunting Ground and Ariel…I love Briggs’ writing, and I’m a sucker for a post apocolyptic fantasy.

    I can review some contracts for you…I also happen to have some puppies at my house…in case you’re interested?

  23. ms bookjunkie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:13:05

    Should I win, I’ll take HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs and ARIEL by Stephen R. Boyett.

  24. Ruth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:19:09

    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk
    HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier

    I can bake a mean challah. Mmmmm bread.

  25. Cybercliper
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:20:36

    I would love ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier. I just discovered Juliet and I love her work.

  26. Jody F.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:22:21

    I just made some cookies as bribery. Will it help me win TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman and ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews? If not, I’ll just have to cross my fingers and toes to see if that works.

  27. Jan van Es
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:27:13

    I would totally LOVE to have Magic In The Shadows by Devon Monk and Quatrain by Sharon Shinn

  28. katiebabs
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:27:38

    Hunting Ground and Ariel would be my picks.
    Thanks for the awesome contest! :D

  29. Missy Ann
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:29:22

    Hunting Ground and Trick of Light.

    Hmmm… a favor… I would take 1/2 your TBR pile and pre-read them for you. So you’d know which ones not to bother with.

  30. HappyTwilighter
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:30:25

    Oh… to choose only two… On The Edge by Ilona Andrews and Magic In The Shadows by Devon Monk… both authors on my TBR list :-)

    As for the favor… next year at Comic Con… I can walk around the exhibition hall wearing one of those giant poster board flappy things that hang over the shoulders that reads ACE/ROC ROCKS… AND SO DOES ANNE SOWARDS :-)

  31. Carolyn H
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:34:36

    I would love to win ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier. I will give cookies.

  32. Lisa J
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:34:59

    My choices – ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs.

    I would be willing to dust Anne’s entire house, which if you knew me is the equivalent to giving her my heart for a transplant. I hate dusting!

  33. Estara
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:37:07

    I already bought and loved Hunting Ground and I’ll be getting the new Ilona Andrews as well – eventually most likely the Sharon Shinn, and maybe the Marillier and the Thurman.

    Please don’t enter me in the contest, as I won two books in the last round.

  34. MaryK
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:39:40

    ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews … It's got a stronger romance component than the Kate books

    Or, to quote Jeaniene Frost,

    ON THE EDGE has hot sex in it, people! Not just off-the-page, fade-to-black sex, either. I mean whoa-damn, detailed hotness that will make you want to fan yourself as you read. …
    Of course it also has Ilona’s trademark excellent worldbuilding, fast-paced plotting, and three-dimensional characterization, too. But people already expect that …, so I felt the need emphasize what this new series has to offer that’s different from Kate’s series to date *cough, hot sex, cough*

    So, I guess my “gratuitous favor” is blatant fangirling about one of her authors? ;)

    I would love to have any of these books except for the HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs which I’ve already purchased. If I had to choose, I’d pick HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier and QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn.

  35. Cher Swanson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:39:49

    I would appreciate Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk & Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman. As a favor, I can talk the books up at my workplace, which is a bookstore. Wait, I do that anyway. Hmmm, I would send a Thank You note & good coupons I’ve clipped.

  36. Pamela
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:42:32

    I’m going to have to pick Hunting Ground for the love love love of Charles and Anna. They have a great relationship in progress.

    And On the Edge. I haven’t tried Ilona Andrews but have heard great things.

    I don’t have much to bribe with but I am prefecting my chocolate chip cookie recipe. Maybe she would like my test batches?

  37. Jorrie Spencer
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:46:42

    I already bought Hunting Ground. Ariel and On the Edge sound fascinating!

  38. Amanda Haffery
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:51:39

    OMG I would totally love to win MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk and/or ARIEL / Stephen R. Boyett. I LOVE Devon Monk and would love to check out a new author and Ariel sounds amazing. I would totally clean Anne’s toilets for these books lol. Oh and I would bake her fudge brownies with marshmallows and carmel drip icing.

  39. charibdys
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:53:53

    I’d love Magic in the Shadows and HUNTING GROUNDS, or … well, they all look awesome.

    And, Anne, I’m working on becoming an illustrator, and I could definitely do some art on demand. :)

  40. Jennifer
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:55:06

    I’d be ecstatic if either Sharon Shinn’s Quatrain or Juliet Marillier’s Heart’s Blood found their way to me! It’s been too long since I finished Shinn’s Samaria books, and I’ve been hoping more of her angels would find their way into print.

    Hmm… I don’t listen to much Chinese rap (although Mandarin is my native language) so I don’t have much to offer on that front, but I will do the dance to Korean boy band Super Junior’s latest single for Anne. But please don’t ask me how I came know it… it’s a rather embarrassing story!

  41. kathybaug
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:55:58

    I would like Ariel and Trick of the Light. As a favor, I would make a digital scrapbook page of all your favorite book covers.

  42. driftsmoke
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:56:06

    Actually, I’d like a copy of each of these. :D However, since the rules are that I indicate only two I’d like, I’ll play fair. I’d most love to read HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs and TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman.

    As for the favor …. hmmm. I could offer to clean your bathroom, but we both know I wouldn’t really do it. How about this, though: I will never, ever send you unsolicited emails begging you to read my unpublished work.

    (Actually, I’d never do that anyway. I was just making an attempt at humor.)

  43. Ashley V
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:57:25

    Ariel sounds good, I’d like to get that one. I also want Quatrain…I love the Samaria books

  44. ~ames~
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:57:28

    Hmm…I would like On the Edge and Heart’s Blood.

    And a favor…dog walking? Book sorting? LOL

  45. Oyce
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:00:36

    Ooo, I’d love the Ilona Andrews (been meaning to try her for a while) and the Sharon Shinn.

    Favors.. Um, I’d probably try to foist them off on my friends if I like them?

  46. Kimberly B.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:02:21

    Ooh, I would love to win Trick of the Light and Ariel (have heard amazing things about the latter since I was a teen-don’t know why I never picked it up!). And I would start a cult in Anne’s honor—or maybe just post reviews of the books I won online!
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  47. Allison
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:03:38

    I already have Hunting Ground (Wonderful!)and have On the Edge on order(can’t wait!), but one of each of the rest would be fabulous! If that is unreasonable how about Trick of Light and Heart’s Blood? By the way… I make some awesome homemade bread… just saying…

  48. Jocelyn
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:03:57

    Okay, I’ve been stalking Anne Soward’s Twitter feed for book recommendations since I realized that she edits fully half of the authors on my auto-buy list (the only other editor so good I actually noticed the echoing name in the dedication and thanks pages is Patricia Wrede, they’re both amazing), and I would love any of these books, except “Hunting Ground” which I bought the day it came out. I would especially love Illona Andrews’ “On the Edge” or Devon Monk’s “Magic in the Shadows” because I’m already addicted to those authors and would be overjoyed to cut down my wait time on those books.

    I’ll be buying the rest of these as they come out, based on Anne’s recommendation, anyway.

    Gratuitous favor: I’d clean out her sink drain-catcher. Or I’d get her a klondike bar.

  49. votermom
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:04:03

    WOWOWOW.
    Really tough choices here!

    Juliet Marillier is one of my all-time favorite authors. I had heard a while back that she’s really sick — I had to go run over to her website and get the latest. Praying for her complete recovery and I am VERY EXCITED that she has a new book!
    So I have to put HEART’s BLOOD as my first pick.

    That leaves me having to pick between three other favorites: Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews and Sharon Shinn. Being completely ruthless, I will eliminate Shinn since it is a collection of short stories and I prefer novels. I think I will pick ON THE EDGE as my second pick simply because I am very curious about Ilona’s new novel.

    I will totally do your dishes and vacuum your house.

  50. Erin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:04:25

    This one’s easy: Hunting Ground and On the Edge. I love Charles and Anna forever. Since reading the Kate books, I’ve decided I’ll read anything that Ilona writes up to and including her grocery list.

    *crosses fingers*

  51. joykenn
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:04:48

    I’d like Hunting Ground by Briggs since I have all her other books. I’d also like to try an author new to me so Heart’s Blood sounds good. In fact, These ALL sound like something I’ll want to read so any of them would be fine. As for a favor,….I was going to offer….well, never mind.

  52. Carol
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:05:27

    I would soo love On The Edge or Magic In The Shadows
    Both are new ones from a couple of my most favorite authors!

  53. Patrice
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:09:31

    I have read, lusted after and determined I would like On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Magic in Shadows by Devon Monk.

    I have already read Hunting Ground and love, love, loved it! And for the favor to Anne, I will convert additional readers to fans of ACE/ROC authors and I am adding the other titles to my gotta get them list!

    :) Thanks for the opportunity to win!
    Patrice

  54. RachaelfromNJ
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:11:13

    I would love Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk and On the Edge by Ilona Andrews. I’ve read the previous Devon Monk books and the cliff hanger is a killer and I am dying to know what happens next! As for Ilona Andrews, I’ve never read Andrews before but it sounds great!

    Anne I will totally cook and clean for you for a year! :) LOL

  55. Sandy (Strlady)
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:12:05

    Okay.. Anxiously awaiting HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs and would love to give ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews a whirl.

    As for a bribe? I’m going to think on it.

    Thanks!

  56. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:14:22

    Oh goody, two giveaways in one day! (Or at least found in one day…) I would choose On the Edge, and Hearts Blood, because I haven’t read the first of the Allie Beckstrom novel, but may have to check it out now!

    Oh god, gratuitous favor? Hmm… I could help on almost any computer work? Or if she needs help sorting her books or something? I could use my awe inspiring archivist skillz! (See, I’m so good, I spelled it with a “z”!)

  57. JulieD
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:16:27

    I choose ON THE EDGE and TRICK OF THE LIGHT.

    I already bought Hunting Ground (just finished it last night and loved it). And in a strange twist, I actually have a copy of Ariel by Steven Boyett buried somewhere in my box of scifi and fantasy books from (probably) my high school days. Cool to see it coming back, and with a sequel no less.

  58. Suzie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:18:51

    I would like to have On The Edge and Heart’s Blood.

    I haven’t tried Ilona Andrews yet, but I’ve read
    rave reviews of her Kate Daniels books. (Which I’ll
    be adding to my TBR next month, since I’ve just spent
    more than I budgeted for books this month)

  59. Bethany C.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:19:03

    I would love MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS or TRICK OF THE LIGHT. I’m already into both authors’ books. I noticed that a lot of people offered food, but since I’m 8 months pregnant I don’t think of anything else sooooo…I make really good margarita pie. Mmm, pie.

  60. Rosie Carlo
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:24:20

    Okay, after reading the blurbs, I would love to get copies of Trick of the Light and On the Edge!!

    I can’t offer much up as a bribe (oops, I mean favor), except maybe a pan of homemade brownies? And and maybe some free ice cream to go with the chocolate brownies? And maybe some hot fudge to go on top of the ice cream and the brownies? Of course, there would have to be whipped cream and nuts and cherries to top off the hot fudge brownie! :-)

    Thanks!

  61. Jillian Reichenau
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:25:48

    Definitely, without a doubt, Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk. Though I will admit it was a hard choice they all look good, and I’m kinda in book shock right now as I have too much time and not enough books instead of too many books and not enough time. It’s a very odd feeling for me, and I don’t really like it, so anything you can do to make it stop would be greatly appreciated.

    As for bribery… I dunno, be more specific on what she wants and I’m pretty sure I know someone that can get it done.

  62. Jennifer K
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:27:12

    HUNTING GROUND and ON THE EDGE.

    I have epic knit and crochet skills. I would commit gratuitous favors in yarn.

  63. sandy l
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:27:58

    I would love On the Edge and Heart’s Blood. I’m a big fan of Ilona Andrew’s and can’t wait to try Juliet Marillier

  64. Maija P.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:29:07

    My two choices are:
    QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn
    HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier

  65. ArkansasCyndi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:29:51

    I want Hunting Grounds by Patricia Briggs because Deb Dixon says she wonderful and I haven’t read her yet.

    and

    Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman.

    and if you give these to me, I’ll review them EVERYWHERE!

  66. Christin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:30:33

    I’d love to have QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn and HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier!

  67. Suzanne
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:32:18

    I would choose ARIEL by Stephen R. Boyett – it sounds like a really great book, and y’know *unicorns*! And TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman as I love the Cal Leandros novels. [I'm a big, big fan of Ilona's and Patty's books, so I've already got their books on order! Can't wait! :-)]

    Gratuitous favour . . . umm all these books are so *hot* I’d have to offer chilli flavoured chocolate *g*

  68. Ashley N
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:32:31

    Ooh! Ooh! On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk! I’m beyond excited for both of them!!

    I can offer some wonderful chocolate. Who can resist chocolate? :)

  69. Natasha G.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:33:31

    Very exciting giveaway, thank you for a chance! :D Um… out of these I’d love to end up with a copy of Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk. Monk is the one that led me on to this little giveaway via her Facebook account, so I am most certainly a huge fan of hers! <3 <3 I've been waiting for the next book since the moment I finished the last word of the second book. @_@ I am an addict to literature. The other seemed interesting and if I recieved it I'd certainly find more by that author!

    Anne… the favor I would grant you is… art! I like to doodle and draw very much. :D You can ask me for anything. My website is a link to my DeviantArt where I post all my drawings and such. n_n

    :D Hope you have a lovely day no matter what way this goes.

  70. Bonnie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:34:40

    I would love Hunting Ground and On the Edge!!

    I make a really good homemade apple pie, or I can offer to be an official ARC reader to monitor quality control of course. :)

  71. Wendy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:36:22

    I would like Trick of the Light and On the Edge!

  72. Kryianna
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:37:06

    I’d love On the Edge and Trick of the Light! Those sound like fantastic new series.

    As for what I’d do….well, I’ll buy Elegy Beach as soon as it comes out — hubby just finished reading Ariel, and loved it!

  73. E
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:39:12

    I would love Ariel and Heart’s Blood…

    I can offer a hand-made genuine crocheted book cozy ;)

  74. Jackie O'Mullane
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:39:43

    I would have to say Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk and Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs.

    My Favor: I can be a dedicated follower.

  75. C.J. Redwine
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:40:23

    I’d love to get my hands on Ariel and Magic in the Shadows!

    As for gratuitous favors…I’ll be traveling to China w/in the next year. I can grab some authentic black market rap for you! (Provided, of course, there is such a thing as authentic black market rap in China…)

  76. AnimeJune
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:41:38

    I just finished “Magic in the Blood” and LOVED the worldbuilding. I love the idea of the price of magic and the heroine just got me. I’d love a copy of “Magic in the Shadows.”

    …and “Quatrain” by Sharon Shinn sounds awesome. I have “Mystic Rider” on my TBR.

  77. Samantha
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:42:47

    On the Edge and Heart’s Blood!

  78. Tamara
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:51:08

    I’d love to receive ARCs of HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs and ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews.
    In exchange I promise to admire the amazing editing skill that went into polishing these books. ;)

  79. atclair
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:54:35

    This is an easy one for me!
    QUATRAIN / Sharon Shinn (3 ARCs)
    and
    HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier (3 ARCs)

    These are my two favorite authors! I imagine I’ll be doing some heavy duty reading soon! Plus I’ve been making all friends Sharon Shinn and Juliet Marillier fans.

    What would I give up? My level 70 World of Warcraft character. That’s how serious I am!

    Thank you!

  80. Diane V
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:56:15

    Trick of Light and On The Edge

  81. Karen Duvall
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:57:02

    Magic in the Shadows sounds awesome! I love worlds so close to our own that accept the supernatural as common place. It’s fascinating! I also like that it’s set in Portland because I also live in Oregon.

    Ariel sounds like an awesome book. I like gritty, and the unicorn intrigues me.

    Gratuitous favor… Hmm… Oh, I know! How about a package of roasted hazel nuts? They’re so yummy, and an Oregon staple.

    I was hoping to see some steampunk books on this list. Wah! :-) Not many new ones have come out yet. That’s what I write so of course I’m interested in the genre.

  82. Sayuri
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:00:05

    It has to be

    TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman
    ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews

    for me…Two of my most favourite authors! Woot!

  83. Sharon M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:00:20

    I’d love a copy of ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and am willing to try out Steven R. Boyett’s ARIEL. Thanks for the opportunity to check out these new-to-me authors!

  84. Elyssa Papa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:01:33

    Oh, Heart’s Blood, please. I <3 Beauty & the Beast retellings.

  85. HeatherK
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:10:17

    Hmm, for some reason my post didn’t show. Trying again.

    Trick of the Light and Hunting Ground, though they all look awesome. Great line up to look forward to.

  86. Dawn Y.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:10:30

    I would like to be Devon Monk’s Magic in the Shadows and Rob Thurman’s Trick of the Light.

    I don’t know Anne all that well, but I would find a way to send her some Oregon blueberries and blackberries, the best the Willamette Valley has to offer (use dry ice?). Very yummy!

  87. Jana Stocks
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:15:07

    I just bought Hunting Ground, so will have to say that I’d love a shot at On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman. I don’t have neat tricks, but I just finished a batch of sweetrolls! I’ll share!

    Jana

  88. Fallon
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:16:11

    These two! TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman
    ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews

    This is such a great month for new releases!

    Gratuitous favor? Hmm. I could review them too? I also do windows ;)

  89. emmad
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:19:33

    Ohh I would appreciate On the Edge and Trick of the Light

    As for a favour hmm not a lot I can do in person from New Zealand but I could easily spread the word via my favourite forums etc of her work. Could also pull together some NZ momento’s to send on over.
    Or if Ann was to come to NZ I could be a tour guide for her lol

  90. Christine M.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:19:46

    Trick of the Light and On the Edge for me!

    …I can cook! ;)

  91. Jade
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:21:23

    I’m a HUGE Ilona Andrews fan, so I would love On the Edge. Also, after reading the post and the descriptions, I’d have to say I’m very interested in reading Ariel, by Steven R. Boyett.

    And as for a favor…I’ll be sure to mention @AnneSowards during #followfriday on Twitter.

  92. Sabrina
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:22:03

    Wow – only 2? LOL!

    I’d pick Trick of the Light and On The Edge.

    How about I do you the favor of reading some of the submissions I’m sure are taking over your desk. (Rubs hands together in anticipation of reading undiscovered books and authors). *grin*

  93. Mickie T
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:28:17

    What wonderful books! I’ve already bought and read both Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light, and I plan to get Ariel next time I’m in a bookstore, since I’ve heard great things about it. Both the Andrews and Monk will be auto-buys. But I love Sharon Shinn’s work, so I’m coveting Quatrain. Beauty and the Beast? Who could resist – put me down for Heart’s Blood as well.

    Gratuitous favors? What about your own handmade sock monkey? (You know you want one…)

  94. Alisa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:30:08

    ON THE EDGE looks very intriguing and the cover for MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS keeps drawing my eye (which is as good a way as any to pick the second because they all look good)

    Gratuitous favors? Hmm. Ability for crafty stuff has been whittled away by lack of time/practice so crocheting and wall decoration type stuff is out…not able to make anything worth bribery anymore.

    But I still make a mean fudge and can produce ErmaBombeck/Theresa Bloomingdale-ish anecdotes on demand for amusement. Plenty of source material. (and what my own heathens little darlings haven’t done, there’s plenty of stories of over 2dozen nieces/nephews and great-nieces/nephews, won’t even try to count cousins kids, but there’s always them to fall back on too.) Yeah, basically got nothin’, but would love any of the books.

  95. muñeca
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:33:31

    HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier – Oh nice!

    QUATRAIN / Sharon Shinn (3 ARCs) – I can go with this one two.

  96. MelissaG
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:40:14

    I would love to have the Rob Thurman book because I have had mu eye on it for some time and I love Rob’s work and I would also like HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier because I love Beauty and the Beast and any retelling of that story will find a warm place in my heart.

  97. Anne Marie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:47:17

    I would love to have Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier and Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs.

  98. Riva
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:47:19

    TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman and HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier, please. They sound wonderful!! (Actually, they ALL sound wonderful, but you’re only letting me choose two!)

    As for the favor . . . my hubby says I make the best peanut butter fudge in the universe. I could send you some. Or, I could catalog your library on LibraryThing (if you haven’t already).

  99. K Patterson
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:47:43

    Oh, if I HAD to choose between all of those I would have to pick ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrew and MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS by Devon Monk. As for a favor…how does some of the last of my precious chocolate from Belgium sound? With it’s creamy goodness, that just melts in your mouth and creates an explosion of flavor guaranteed to make your taste buds orgasm? ^_^

  100. JG
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:48:49

    Ooo, On the Edge and Quatrain both sound interesting. I’d love to check those out!

    Favor, hmm, how about a homemade triple-chocolate brownie/ice cream/chocolate ganache cake?

  101. Kristal
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:50:12

    Well, I’ve already read Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light, so I’d choose On the Edge and Magic in the Shadows.

  102. Tynga
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:51:59

    THey all seems awesome,
    but I would have to pick Hunting Grounds because I love Patricia Briggs so much!
    I would pick Trick of the lick, because I don’t know that author yet but it seems so awesome!
    But I will buy Blood in the Shadow and On the edge to…
    So it’s hard to pick only 2 lol

    THanks for the contest!

  103. Angie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:53:23

    Oh my goodness, this giveaway is SO exciting. I would go nuts to win HEART’S BLOOD and ON THE EDGE!

    I would also bake you French muffins and read to you whenever you’re feeling tired or down. Any book you want. :)

  104. JB Hunt
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:54:02

    Thanks for the chance to win some great new titles!

    I would love copies of:
    HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs
    ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews (3 ARCs)

    My favor? Laundry for a month?

  105. Deborah Blake
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:55:23

    I love Sharon Shinn, too (those books in particular) and I have just discovered Ilona Andrews–so those two, pretty please.

    And as for #4, well, that would involve chocolate, of course.

  106. Simcha Lazarus
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 14:58:35

    Wow, just two books? That’s hard.

    I guess I would go with TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman because I only recently heard of this author and I’d love to try something of hers and this book looks really interesting and Heart's Blood by Juliet Marillier because I loved her Daughter of the Forest series.

    And in return I would review these books on my website and promote them through my blog and through Twitter.

  107. Brandy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:00:49

    I would love, love love to have for my very own Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman and On the Edge by Ilona Andrews. Both are new to me, but look oh so interesting.
    As for favors? Hmmm, I’m not very talented but my kids say I make a chocolate chip cookies to drool over. *G*

  108. Pam P
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:01:29

    I’ve been promised Hunting Ground for a birthday present already, so I’ld love to get the Devon Monk, and Heart’s Blood (Marillier would be a new author for me, keep reading about her books.)

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  109. Moth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:05:00

    Oooh. Another fabulous giveaway.

    Put my name in the hat for:

    HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs

    ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews

    I can’t think of a random favor. :(

  110. Valerie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:11:42

    Oooh… Hate to say it, but like a lot of the other posters here, I would prefer Hunting Ground and On the Edge. Of course, failing that, all of these sound like interesting reads…

  111. TJ
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:18:49

    I’d love to enter for:

    HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs
    and
    ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews

    Ummm, gratuitous favor…I’d refer to you as ‘my lord and master’?

  112. Amy M
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:21:03

    Oh man, this is hard. But I am going to go with Hunting Ground and Hearts Blood. But honestly, they all sound great, so I would be happy with any of them :)

  113. Priya
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 15:24:10

    I live in Australia so I don’t know if I’m eligible for this competition, but I just wanted to say thanks for letting me know about the new Sharon Shinn book!

    I love her stuff – “Summers at Castle Auburn” is one of my all-time favourite books. Makes me feel good every time I read it.

    I certainly hope my local Romance store / general book store is bringing in these books, particularly “Heart’s Blood” – I love fairy tales.

    Obviously I can’t provide favours such as food and chores :), but on your next trip to Oz well who knows? I know some great coffee bars in Melbourne!

  114. willaful
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:01:55

    NEW SHARON SHINN! NEW SHARON SHINN!

    Oh, I suppose I shouldn’t ask for two of them. So Hunting Ground for the second one. ;-)

    As far as favors go, I have people following me around begging me for my homemade gingersnaps.

  115. catie james
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:08:10

    Ooo, ooo! MAGIC IN THE SHADOW and ONE THE EDGE are my top two picks – and you have no idea how hard it was narrowing it down to those.

    I suppose the gratuitous favor really depends upon what Anne wants…I’ll happily turn over custody my (not-quite 57 year old) father for copies of these books. He’s very handy around the house, dresses nicely, eats just about anything you put in front of him, and isn’t too hard on the eyes.

  116. Has
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:15:44

    I would love to win – Ariel ( I have heard good things with this series) and Magic in the Shadows.

    I was lucky enough to get a copy of On the Edge and its a fantasitic fantasy romance – definitely recommend it. I am realy looking forward to Edge 2.
    And I wouldnt mind being Anne’s tea maker :D I can make a mean cuppa!

  117. Meghan
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:19:36

    I would absolutely love Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs and Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier! I’m just getting into Briggs’ work but love what I’ve read so far. As for Juliet Marillier, I fell in love with Daughter of the Forest and haven’t fallen out yet. I’ll be picking that one up on release if I don’t win here!

  118. Melissa T
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:20:03

    I would do unspeakable things for Devon Monk’s new book. I’d also love to get my hands on Hunting Ground. (I would have said Trick of the Light, but since I raced right out and bought that one as soon as I could find it, it’s a moot point.)

    As for gratuitous favors… Whaddaya need? I have a book review blog, I’m on Twitter, I’m on facebook, I’m part of a 30 person book club who has a bad habit of pushing new books on unsuspecting readers harder than the corner dealers do their drugs – What do you need pimped today because I will pimp it for you!

    I would be your publicity slave for a year to get an ARC of Magic in the Shadows.

  119. Poppy A.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:20:13

    I would have to choose Magic In The Shadows and On the Edge, I can’t wait for those books!!!!

    I would cook for you, I’m a very good cook :)

  120. K.A. Stewart
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:20:31

    We have to pick just two?? Oi!

    Well, Hunting Ground for sure, then…um…hmm….On the Edge for the other choice, I think.

    And I’m certain that Anne can come up with something for me to do.

  121. Leslee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:35:48

    I am very interested in Heart’s Blood and Trick of Light! :)

    I snatched Hunting Ground up when it came out cause I heart Patricia Briggs!!!!

  122. R. Alice Kindle
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:41:32

    Oooo, I would love either “On the Edge” or “Magic in the Shadows” – I love both of those authors!

    I would totally get your car an oil change (I work at a shop!), maybe even wash it by hand.

    Or bake you a nice cake. Totally made a red velvet cake last night, with little bits of chocolate crumbled and sprinkled between the two layers…

  123. Raelena
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:47:31

    I would love Hearts Blood and On the Edge

    I would make delicious cupcakes for you!!

  124. Susan Laura
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:47:58

    I would choose Hunting Ground and Quatrain. I have heard lots of good things about Sharon Shinn’s books and this would be a good way for me to find out for myself!

    And my offering: Oreo Truffles. I usually only make them at Christmas but for you . . . . .

  125. Collette
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 16:58:47

    I would love the Rob Thurman and the Ilona Andrews. Of course they all look pretty damn fabulous.

    Let’s see, gratuitous favor…you could have my toddler for a day. Oh, wait, favor to YOU not to me. Hmmm, come to Chicago and I’ll give you an insider’s tour. I live about 8 blocks away from the President and there’s plenty of other really cool stuff to see and do here.

  126. The_Book_Queen
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:00:05

    Wow– such great picks! I’ve never read any of them (though I’ve read other books by a few of the authors). :D

    Hmm… My choices would be:

    ~Quatrain (I’ve seen her other books before, but never picked them up… But I want to so bad!)
    ~Heart’s Blood (Beauty and the Beast type of book? Count me in, it sounds really good!:D )

    Great contest, thanks for holding it!

    Hm… and as for question 4, I’d probably make you my famous (well, in my family at least) Triple Chocolate Hazlenut Brownies. I haven’t made any for a while, come to think of it… Mmm, and it sounds good. Maybe I’ll have to whip up a batch tomorrow! :D

    Enjoy,
    TBQ

  127. Tili
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:16:55

    I would like Heart’s Blood or Hunting Ground.

  128. Tina Christopher
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:23:32

  129. Kelly
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:23:59

    Ooh! Ooh! Ooh! Hunting Ground and On The Edge (with Magic In The Shadows as most wanted 2.1). I love, love, LOVE Patricia, Ilona and Devon!!

  130. AB
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:24:25

    HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier and QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn please!

  131. Lisa B.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:24:37

    Magic in the Shadows and On The Edge both sound fantastic. Count me in please!

  132. Jennifer L
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:26:30

    The two books I would most like are Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman, and Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs. Gratuitous favor? Um…book reviews of both?

  133. Diane M.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:29:22

    On The Edge by Ilona Andrews and Huntng Ground by Patricia Briggs.

  134. maered
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:32:26

    Another great giveaway!! My choices are Hunting Ground and On The Edge, please.

    As for the favour, well, I make a mean dessert. Biscuits, cakes, puddings, you name it. ;)

  135. Mandy McClanahan
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:32:39

    I would love to have Juliet Marillier’s book. I have all of her other novels – this would be a fun way to get the new one. And I’d choose Ariel for the other.

    What can I offer you? Pictures of a cute cat? Crochet’d dolly friends? Reviews of the books? Cookies?

  136. Jessica S.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:34:05

    Most definitely would want Devon Monk’s Magic in the Shadows, that I am really looking forward to. By reading about these other books I discovered that Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier, would be one that I would enjoy. I LOVE fairy tales! Absolutely love them, Grimm brothers–total faves! ;) Those are 2, are ones that I would love to read! Of course that would be whenever college will let me have a chance to do my reading!

    As to what I would do for the lovely Anne? I would put her at the top of my all time favorite people list! ;)

    ~Jessica

  137. KMont
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:07:19

    Dear Author ladies, please disregard my earlier entry for this contest (comment #14). I received one of the books in the mail today -wasn’t expecting it- so I feel I’ve benefited enough from the publishers at this point. Thanks still for the opportunity!

  138. Amy Jacobs
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:14:20

    I would love Ariel and Hunting Ground! I think they look very interesting!

    Favor wise…hmmm…how about I bestow upon you for one day my 3 beautiful children, wait that would be torture with there attitudes wouldn’t it…umm…Your favorite food and link you on my blog roll?!!LOL
    Amy J

  139. Ruth
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:26:48

    I purchased Patricia Brigg’s (both in digital and paper) and loved it.

    I would love a chance for Sharon Shinn and Devon Monk.

    I have preordered The Edge in digital and so I will ask for the other two.

    Thanks so much for the opportunity.

    For gratuitious items, do you have any sons/nephews that need another Auntie. I am a phenomenal aunt (7 nephews) that can talk about most boys’ interests.

  140. Wanda
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:35:13

    I would love Quatrain and Magic in the Shadows.
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  141. I HEART BOOK GOSSIP
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:44:42

    I would love On The Edge and Hunting Ground.

    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

  142. Janet H
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:49:45

    Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light
    Awesome giveaway!

  143. Deb
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:56:14

    Heart’s Blood and Ariel sound wonderful.

    Believe me when I say it’s a favor for me to not offer you any food. My cooking is pretty mediocre.

  144. Renee
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:58:44

    I already read Hunting Ground, and loved it! Will be posting my review tomorrow.

    I am dying to get my hands on Trick of the Light and On the Edge.

    For #4: more reviews?

  145. Sue R
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:00:02

    Ohhh… Awesome books for a giveaway. I have a hard time picking my top two. I chose Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk. I am willing to bake delicious brownies and devil chocolate cake. =]

  146. Janicu
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:07:46

    144 comments already!!! Ack. Well put me down for ON THE EDGE and QUATRAIN anyway. :)

  147. Little Lamb Lost
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:12:06

    Would like Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs and Quatrain by Sharon Shinn.

  148. Elaine G
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:19:05

    The 2 books I’d like the most are
    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS by Devon Monk
    HUNTING GROUND by Patricia Briggs

  149. Rosie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:21:46

    Quatrain by Sharon Shinn and Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier please!

    I am willing to scrub a maximum of 2 toilets.

  150. NancyB
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:28:48

    It would have to be Quatrain and Hunting Ground.…but it was a tough pick.

  151. RKCharron
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:40:25

    Wow, there’s a lot of comments!
    Thanks for the great contest.
    I would love them all but to pick two:
    MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk
    HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier
    :)
    I would contact Rachel Caine’s Weather Wardens for Anne and make sure she gets what weather she wants :)

  152. Lacey
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:10:36

    I would love on the edge or quatrain.

  153. Carol
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:13:41

    Awesome! Love the covers and the books sound intriguing. It’s very hard to choose, but I’d love Quatrain by Sharon Shinn and Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier.

    I’m willing to write book reviews for these books and post them in my friend’s book reviews blog. :)

  154. Shelly @ Bewitched
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:20:36

    I am really looking forward to TRICK OF THE LIGHT / Rob Thurman and ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews so those would be my picks.

    As for a bribe I make FANTASTIC fudge from scratch! :o)

  155. Virginia Hendricks
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:23:44

    Hearts Blood sounds neat, as does On the Edge :)

    And I really want to read the new Devon Monk book!

  156. Donna S
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:24:47

    Another great list of books. I would love Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light. Both authors are fantastic.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  157. Kimi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:34:34

    Ariel by Steven R. Boyett
    TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Rob Thurman

    I followed Anne on Twitter.

  158. Lisa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:37:34

    On the Edge
    Hearts Blood

    it’s killing me waiting for the next Kate Daniels book!

  159. Karen W.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:39:24

    The two books I would like the most are:

    ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews
    HEIR’S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier

    As for gratuitous favors? Hmm… A little house cleaning and clothes washing might not be out of order. ;-)

  160. Pamk
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:43:33

    on the edge by Ilona Andrews
    Magic in the shadows by devon monk are the two I’d love to have.
    and you could probably have my first born son at least until he learns that how smart his mom is. which is hopefully soon since he’s almost 20 now.

  161. Kathy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:45:34

    They all sound great. (Hunting Ground was awesome) I guess I’ll have to go with Heart’s Blood since I love Beauty and the Beast and Ireland and On the Edge because I’ve been waiting for that one since she posted it on her site.

    And a bribe…um, I mean favor….hmm, I’ll post reviews on Goodreads. Does that work?
    Thanks!

  162. On publishing and promo | Ilona Andrews
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:49:18

    [...] the ways to promote their titles.  For example, if you head over to Dear Author, you will find my lovely editor Anne introducing the fall line up.  And you can win a copy of ON THE EDGE.  [This is me doing marketing- [...]

  163. Rebecca
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:54:43

    Hearts Blood and On the Edge!!! I’ve never read either author but they sound wonderful so pretty please pick me!

    As for the favors, the most I could probably do is add you to my facebook account, but that would be doing me more of a favor than you ;)

  164. AmyW
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:02:30

    I would love Heart’s Blood (I loved Daughter of the Forest) and Ariel.

  165. Bree J.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:09:43

    I would love Magicc in the shadows by devon monk, i love the series and cannot wait for the next..I’ve read Hunting Ground its awsome.

  166. Jill N
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:21:38

    Anne:
    I would love to get MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS / Devon Monk. I am so obsessed with Zavion Jones, the love interest in Monk’s series.

    I’m also interested in HUNTING GROUND / Patricia Briggs. I haven’t explored the wolf side of urban fantasy.

    Favors? I can cook up a killer power point for you! HA!

  167. Donna L.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:23:24

    I would be ecstatic if I won On The Edge and Magic in the Shadows.

    I would cook your favorite meal including desert!

  168. Lori T
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:39:56

    I would choose ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and MAGIC IN THE SHADOWS by Devon Monk . I think that these both look amazing…ok, they all look great, but I had to just choose two.

    What sort of bribe would Anne like? I am certain that I would be willing to give it a try.

  169. Cynthia Armistead
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:40:40

    I’d love On the Edge and Trick of the Light! I’m a big fan of Ilona Andrews, but new to Rob Thurman.

    I don’t know that this would count as a favor to you, but I tend to recommend books I enjoy to everybody around me :-)

  170. Niveau
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:40:49

    Ooh, they all look so good! I’m most interested in On The Edge and Heart’s Blood.

    More of a present than a favour, really, but I would give you my totally alpha werewolf boyfriend. You can keep him! (I’ll pair up with the nerdy but cute researcher in the meantime. He’s more my style anyway.)

    …What? You’d prefer the researcher? No way, he’s worth more than two books. Do you know how rare non-alpha males are in urban fantasy?? He’s MINE!

  171. melisa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:45:06

    On the Edge because I really, really want this book. Different worlds with magic. Trick of the Light because it is set in Vegas. Since I live in Vegas I like to see others take on this town.
    I have a really good recipe for a crispy creame doughnut breadpudding. It is really good. :)

  172. Becca
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:49:17

    AHHHHHHHH!!!!~~~ *squeals* Awesome year of books :D

    On the Edge and Trick of the Light please!!! I’ve been waiting FOREVER for Illona Andrew’s books (On the Edge, the Must Love Hellhounds Anthology with the Andrea/Raphael short story, and Kate 4 which I’ll sadly have to wait a bit longer for) and Rob Thurman’s Cal Leandros series was interesting (if not sad because I was hoping that Cal and Georgie would have a happy ending).
    Hunting Ground was fun but luckily, I already own it (for whoever wins it, it kicks butt!!!).

    I shall give you chocolate for the unbelievably kind favor?

  173. Mardel S
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 21:52:08

    Oh MY!

    My two most favorite authors are up there (well really three) but the two books I would love to have (really love) would be Magic In the Shadows by Devon Monk (been reading her books and pimping them out since Christmas ’08) and Ilona Andrews newest On the Edge. Boy would I love those books especially. All the other writers listed are great, but those two books would be my picks.

    On the gratuitous favor for Ann I’m stumped – she could come over and play rock band with three of my grown-up children! They are obsessed. I would also pimp out the books to every one around me, which I tend to do anyway! and review!

  174. Kathleen R.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:02:32

    Hallooo!!

    I´m interested in Ariel by Boyett and The Edge by Ilona Andrews XD

    hm, gratuitous favor? How about inventing a time machine to go back and save the unicorn species from extinction? Or switching bodies during “that time of the month” and deal with the cramps for you?

  175. Kelsey
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:04:16

    I would love a copy of Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs and Quatrain by Sharon Shinn. Briggs is one of my favorite authors and Shinn entranced me with her visions of angels. Both authors are so great and if I wasn’t heading to college, I’d buy them myself.

    I’d offer a favor, but one should never offer to do something they know nothing about. It might let someone take my soul or something.

  176. Kristie
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:18:24

    On the Edge by Ilona Andrews and Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk. I’m happy to report that I already own Hunting Ground and Trick of the Light, both of which are fabulous.

    Favorwise, I will lend you two slobbery Great Danes for an entire weekend. I know this sounds like you doing a favor for me, but really, it’s not. At all. I love them….mostly.

  177. Rebecca
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:26:49

    I would LOVE LOVE a copy of ON THE EDGE by Ilona Andrews and ARIEL by Stephen R. Boyett.

    I make chocolate zuccini cake? crochet oven mit (about all I can do)? try and disprove gravity?

  178. Karin
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:28:40

    While all the books sound interesting, the two that really caught my interest are QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn and HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier.

    I may not be all that good, but I’d play a song on the piano for you. Or, if you would prefer, I would make a blanket for you. LOL

  179. Dell Lopez
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:40:08

    I’d love to get Ariel as I’m a huge fan of post-apocalyptic fiction and also would love On the Edge as I LOVE all things Ilona Andrews!

    Favors: how about gratuitous envy in the form of – I LOVE YOUR JOB! Reading and editing the books by authors I love and read for funsies! =)

    Thanks for the contest!

  180. Jacqueline L.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:40:11

    Argh, you’re killing me here, making me choose only 2. Okay, I’ll go with On the Edge and Trick of the Light. Luckily, I only had to choose from 6 books as I already own Hunting Ground(loved it!).

    Anne, I will totally make you a cheese ball from a family recipe. I guarantee you that it is all sorts of awesome with awesome on top and an extra helping of awesome.
    That and I won’t sic any ninjas on you.

  181. Nadia
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:54:45

    ON THE EDGE / Ilona Andrews
    HEART'S BLOOD / Juliet Marillier

    Ann — I’ll pimp the books I read. ;) And send you a pack of Japanese green tea (loose leaf)

  182. Naomi
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:19:09

    So difficult to pick as always but I adore Sharon Shinn so much it’s got to be Quatrain. And I’ve heard amazing things about Juliet Marillier so the other book I would love is Heart’s Blood.

  183. Elaine C.
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:31:56

    On the Edge – Ilona Andrews and Magic in the Shadows – Devon Monk

    Favor time: I will make her a lap quilt, any color & theme she’d like (for real!)
    Why? Because I love to get my hands on ARC’s by my favorite authors. It’s rare, but I love to add them to my collector shelf… and a chance to read the book early is just beyond awesome!

  184. Veronica
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 23:50:44

    On the Edge- Ilona Andrews
    Magic in the shadows- Devon Monk

    Those two are among my favorite authors and I would love an opportunity to get my greedy little hands on them.

    Umm… Ilona likes chocolate bribes, does her editor feel the same way?

  185. denelian
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 00:03:58

    i would *LOVE* On the Edge, i am going to buy it if i can’t win it anywhere soon! and Trick of the Light sounds really interesting…

    favor: well, my sister makes cake shots. you know, like jello shots, only these are tiny cakes BUT they are totally alcohol – i got wasted on 6 Strawberry Shortcakes, for example. i have NO CLUE how she makes them (because baking should get rid of the alcohol – maybe she somehow does a no-bake brownie? something) and then she adds MORE alcohol, and oh my gods these things are addictive. i would totally set you up with my sister, she could “cater” a party or something for you, and i am positive she would give you a discount!

  186. Jeanette Juan
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 00:19:54

    I would definitely love to read On The Edge and Quatrain, they both sound like fun reads!

  187. Tez Miller
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 00:23:17

    On the Edge or Trick of the Light, please.

    Bribe: If you’re ever in my city, I might spare you a room ;-)

  188. g027
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 01:03:43

    Trick of the Light and On the Edge

    Favor?
    Chocolate :)

  189. Meanne
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 02:39:44

    I’ve been a long-time historical romance book lover but I credit these 2 authors for bringing me to the realm of fantasy. Ecstatic wouldn’t even begin to describe how I would feel if I were to win these 2 books:

    HEART'S BLOOD by Juliet Marillier and QUATRAIN by Sharon Shinn…

    I’ve been known to sing for my supper ( am a fabulous singer, humility aside ) so I could sing for you for these books!!

  190. gajenny
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 03:08:32

    Heart’s Blood and On the edge both sound good.

  191. Alexandra B
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:09:50

    I would like to read Hunting Ground and on the edge but now after reading the reviews for the others they all sound good *sob*. Okay I am sticking to those two.

  192. Wandergurl
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:12:56

    I would like

    Quatrain by Sharon Shinn
    Ariel by Steven R Boyett

  193. Gemma
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 04:23:53

    The two books I would like most is Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk and Ariel by Stephen R. Boyett. And my gratuitous favour? I’m Scottish, I can maybe find the Loch Ness Monster and ship it to you if you so desired!…

  194. Cara
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:19:33

    The two most liked books would be Trick of Light and Magic in the Shadows.
    I make sinful brownies…..:)

  195. Caitie
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 06:38:30

    Thanks for the great giveaways:) I’d most like the Ilona Andrews or Sharon Shinn ones. They both sound really good!

  196. Denise Gray
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:01:20

    On the Edge by the fabulous Ilona Andrews! and Hearts Blood by Juliet Marillier. I am a huge Ilona Andrews fan and have anxiously awaited On the Edge from the very first snippet she posted on her blog (check it out: http://ilona-andrews.livejournal.com/ ) and I am also a fan of more traditional fantasy and Juliet Marillier’s book sounds right up my alley! As far as the favor – ummmmm promote Ilona’s new book? ::laughing::
    Denise

  197. Amelie Markik
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:16:12

    Sign me up for On the Edge and Heart’s Blood. I’ve already read the Briggs and Thurman books, and they were fab! :)

  198. Tehani Wessely
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:22:32

    Not sure this is open to Aussies, but I’ll throw my hat in the ring!

    As a massive fan of Patricia Briggs (have just tracked down and devoured all her traditional fantasy books, and they’re great!), I’d have to go for Hunting Ground, naturally, and of course, I’ll go for the fellow West Australian Juliet Marillier, Heart’s Blood!

    I can offer reviews of the books as a gratuitous favour to Anne :)

  199. CrystalGB
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:40:44

    I would love to have Hunting Ground and Magic in the Shadows. Thank you for the contest.

  200. Laura
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:22:32

    Ilona Andrews – On the Edge
    Patricia Briggs – Hunting Ground

    Both of these brilliant women inspired me. I love their stories, they are amazing.

    Anne any favour you want I will do. That’s a promise!!
    Thanks for the great give away.

%d bloggers like this: