Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

A Three Blog Review Circus That May Spell the End of...

165510.jpgDon’t get too excited, authors, the title is just a tad hyperbolic. In light of the recent debate about Mills & Boons books being part of the paternalistic propaganda, Dear Author, Smart Bitches, and Teach Me Tonight have banded together to read, review, and analyze Louise Allen’s Virgin Slave, Barbarian King. Dr. Frantz, Dr. Vivano, Dr. Selinger, and Robin will be providing the educated analysis. You’ll be getting reviews from me (Jane) and Jayne (with the Y) and SB Sarah.

The book should be on shelves in grocery stores and retail big box stores like Wal-Mart and Target right now or you can buy it for $3.83 at BooksonBoard.com. If you want to join in the discussion fest that will take place at the first of the year, you can buy it now and read it over the holiday and contribute to the downfall of romancelandia in January 2008.

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

17 Comments

  1. Charlene Teglia
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 12:41:28

    I love it. Must buy my copy and participate!

  2. Jill Myles
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 13:11:45

    I have my copy and am eagerly awaiting. ;)

  3. whey
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 13:16:41

    0h n0ezzz, Lousia Allen haz killed my individual identity!

    Of course, now I HAVE to buy a copy of this book, just to see what the fuss (or lack of fuss) is about.

    Author 1
    Death of Paternalistic Propaganda 0

  4. ilona andrews
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 13:25:21

    Must Buy Book.

  5. Sarah McCarty
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 13:48:34

    I love the time period, so it’s on my TBB already. I’ll buy it over the holiday and follow along.

  6. Phyl
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 14:55:45

    How fun since it so happens that I bought this during my Harlequin ebook binge last week. I’ll be ready!

  7. Shiloh Walker
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 15:49:18

    lol… oh, i love it!

  8. JC Wilder
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 16:17:31

    Well, pooh! I can’t join in the fun as BoB doesn’t have the Sony Reader format. :(

  9. azteclady
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 17:15:49

    Going to get it this weekend.

  10. sula
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 21:37:32

    Should I be ashamed that the cover and blurb actually are interesting to me, regardless? lol. I think I’ll buy it and follow along. good times.

  11. Shannon
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 22:55:56

    I just got my copy from Fictionwise, so I can’t wait to contribute to the downfall of Romancelandia!

  12. Mary
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 06:13:02

    I think I’ll pass. I prefer to wash my eyeballs with clorox.

  13. Charlene Teglia
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 10:54:44

    OK, nabbed my copy at Walmart. I’m ready. It’s a fantastic period in history, the setting really appeals to me.

  14. Mrs Giggles
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 10:56:05

    First of the year? As it happens, I actually have this book in my TBR pile since I was intrigued by its setting while I coming across it on ebooks.com. If everyone is doing this book, I may as well crash the party. I’ll try to make it by the deadline.

  15. sherry thomas
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 12:26:38

    If everyone is doing this book, I may as well crash the party. I'll try to make it by the deadline.

    Oh, Whee! Now we are looking at the end of Romance Bloglandia. :-P

    In Mrs. Giggles blog-chaos drinking game, is there a suggestion for how much to chug when Mrs. G. herself jumps in?

  16. Sarah Frantz
    Dec 15, 2007 @ 23:23:42

    We’d love to have you, Mrs. Giggles! Can’t wait!

  17. Becca
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 11:16:32

    Oh Boy! I have the book loaded onto my Palm, ready to read!

%d bloggers like this: