Daily Deals: Something for everyone (contemp, PNR, historical, mystery)

Daily Deals: Something for everyone (contemp, PNR, historical, mystery)

Undercover Genius by Patricia RiceUndercover Genius by Patricia Rice. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

A Family Genius Mystery

Complex conspiracies to the right, dastardly deaths to the left, and all Ana wants to do is save her family’s inheritance.

When her half-sister Patra arrives on the Maximillian mansion doorstep with the news that Patra’s father was murdered and the killers are after Patra, Ana is off on another race to protect her eccentric family. Graham, the hunky spy in the attic who holds the mansion ransom, has a stake in this mystery if he wants to prevent Ana and her family from turning his high tech bat cave into Grand Central Station.

While Ana unravels a tangle of gangsters and media moguls, she’s also saving Patra from murderous zombie racers and preventing brother Nick from exacting justice by wrapping their coked-up lawyer in a rug and smuggling him through customs.

Murder in Ana’s world comes accompanied by mayhem and madness…and a sexy glimpse of the man who holds their inheritance hostage.

The price on this book is set to go up tomorrow to $4.99, I believe. It’s the second book in the series and a continuation of the same characters.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Cold Iron by D.L. McDermottCold Iron by D. L. McDermott. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, this full-length novel is the first in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced, sexy paranormal romance series—available exclusively in ebook!

The Fae, the Good Neighbors, the Fair Folk, the Aes Sídhe, creatures of preternatural beauty and seduction. Archaeologist Beth Carter doesn’t believe in them. She’s always credited her extraordinary ability to identify ancient Celtic sites to hard work and intuition—until she discovers a tomb filled with ancient treasure but missing a body. Her ex-husband, the scholar who stifled her career to advance his own, is unconcerned. Corpses don’t fetch much on the antiquities market. Gold does. Beth knows from past experience that if she isn’t vigilant, Frank will make off with the hoard.

So when a man—tall, broad shouldered, and impossibly handsome—turns up in her bedroom claiming to be the tomb’s inhabitant, one of mythic god-kings of old Ireland, Beth believes it is a ploy cooked up by her ex-husband to scare her away from the excavation.

But Conn is all too real. Ancient, alien, irresistible, the Fae are the stuff of dreams and nightmares, their attentions so addictive their abandoned human lovers wither and die. And this one has fixed his supernatural desire on Beth.

This looks interesting and I have it on my TBR list. I need to move it up into the read queue.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREAppleGoogle

Worth the Fight by Vi KeelandWorth the Fight by Vi Keeland. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

It didn’t matter that the ref called it a clean hit. Nico Hunter would never be the same.
Elle has a good life. A job she loves, a great apartment, and the guy she’s been dating for more than two years is a catch and a half. But it’s boring…and she strives to keep it that way. Too many emotions are dangerous. Her own past is living proof of what can happen when you lose control.

Then Nico walks into Elle’s office and everything changes…for both of them. But what can the tattooed, hard-bodied MMA fighter and the beautiful and always steady attorney have in common? A lot more than they bargained for.

**Author note – This is a stand alone book. Due to mature language and sexual content it is recommended for over 17**

This was an indie success when it was released (although I can’t remember if it was bargain priced at 99c.) The negative reviews indicate that the romance happens very quickly and that the editing had issues such as the author used “segue” and wrote “segway” instead. Also, there was cringeworthy dirty talk.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

The Sergeant's Lady by Susanna FraserThe Sergeant’s Lady by Susanna Fraser. $ .99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Highborn Anna Arrington has been “following the drum,” obeying the wishes of her cold, controlling cavalry officer husband. When he dies, all she wants is to leave life with Wellington’s army in Spain behind her and go home to her family’s castle in Scotland.

Sergeant Will Atkins ran away from home to join the army in a fit of boyish enthusiasm. He is a natural born soldier, popular with officers and men alike, uncommonly brave and chivalrous, and educated and well-read despite his common birth.

As Anna journeys home with a convoy of wounded soldiers, she forms an unlikely friendship with Will. When the convoy is ambushed and their fellow soldiers captured, they become fugitives—together. The attraction between them is strong—but even if they can escape the threat of death at the hands of the French, is love strong enough to bridge the gap between a viscount’s daughter and an innkeeper’s son?

Sunita gave this a B review.

It is a terrific debut novel, and I will definitely watch for future novels and stories by you. The sections that focused on Will and Anna together were enormously satisfying in terms of the romance. But I hesitate to recommend this unreservedly to readers who want the romance to be the primary focus of the book; even though the events that occur when Will and Anna are apart are influenced by their relationship, many readers will find those parts less satisfying. With that caveat, I can definitely recommend it to fans of historical fiction and to readers of historical romance who enjoy Peninsular-set English historicals and would like something a little different.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google