Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

About Jane Litte

http://dearauthor.com/author/jane/

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

Posts by Jane Litte:

It’s a mobile multi function world; what happens to the eink device?

It’s a mobile multi function world; what happens to the eink...

eBook vs Buch, e-Reader aus einem Bücherregal ziehen

We are entering the holiday shopping period.  Santa clock says 79 days but for retailers, the shopping period starts in October. That’s when the big books for publishers are released. The big books are books that publishers hope will be purchased as gifts.

Increasingly shopping is taking place on mobile devices.  Last year nearly a quarter of online purchases on Black Friday were made from a mobile device.  Moms are responsible for a large number of online spending – 32%.  Today’s kids are using mobile devices at a higher rate than ever before. Half of the Sesame Street Workshop audience are accessing it from mobile devices.

Despite Android inroads, Apple is still one of the most important players in the game. One only needs to look at Amazon’s commitment to the mobile App programs to see how vital they are to the ecosystem of Amazon’s business.  Before updating its own tablet programs or the desktop versions, Amazon added categories and new features to the Apple iOS Apps.

The move toward subscription access is just another nod toward the reader who is on the move.  iPhone users are reading more that iPad users and for longer periods of time despite the much smaller screen.

But the data does show that Readmill’s iPhone users do average more time spent reading than an iPad owner. For example, they’re 45% more likely to open the app, and they average 40% more time spent in the app. Readmill’s iPhone users also tended to spend 10% more time per book and read 15% more ebooks. They leave 40% more comments, and copy 20% more quotes than iPad users.

iPad users started 18% fewer books and they finished 20% fewer books than iPhone users.

This may be because the smartphone is considered an extension of oneself. 63% of smartphone owners aged 18-29 admit to sleeping with it. 1 in 10 admit to using it DURING sex. I remember in Picture Perfect the hero is having sex with his girlfriend (heck, it may have been his fiancé) and he glances at it, reads the text, and then quits coitus to run to the heroine’s aid. Needless to say the girlfriend was pissed off.

Back in the early days of digital readership (about four years ago), smartphone usage was considered to be an entry point for readers but with larger screens, more and more people are doing everything from shopping to chatting to reading on their smartphones. I joke that my phone is good for everything but actually making phone calls.

Mobile devices are becoming ubiquitous in today’s world and reading on those mobile devices is becoming more popular. Despite the advances made to the Kobo Aura and the Kindle Paperwhite, eink usage is on the decline.  There will always be some market for eink devices but Sony’s refusal to release its newest device in the US market signals that the eink market is weak.

Most outlets have signaled that the latest version of the Kindle Paperwhite is the best yet yet the firm that supplies eink screens posts its worst losses in four years. E-ink may survive in the next few years but only if it becomes something else. The eink firm is moving toward diversification, providing displays for luggage tags, watch faces, and magazine displays. I still own a Kindle paperwhite, but I only access it about once a month and that is to take advantage of the lending feature I can get with only a Kindle device (versus a Kindle app).

Despite the new screen and the great new features of the Kindle Paperwhite, I’m not moved to upgrade.  I read more and more on my smartphone and tablet because I almost always have those devices charged and with me.  So readers, what are you reading on?  Eink device? Tablet? Smartphone? Computer? Still paper?  If you read on more than one device, what is your primary reading device of choice?

Daily Deals: Contemporaries, western epics; YA alt universe with girl soldier; and vampires

Daily Deals: Contemporaries, western epics; YA alt universe with girl soldier;...

A few Amazon only deals that I couldn’t resist bringing to your attention:

STripped Edie HarrisStripped by Edie Harris. $ .99

From the Jacket Copy:

Declan Murphy has just made his big career move, going from little-known European cinema to Hollywood blockbuster awards-bait in the blink of an eye. One actor’s highly public arrest for possession of narcotics is another actor’s lucky break, right? Declan’s eye is on the prize, and no one will keep him from proving to the producers that he’s a consummate industry professional.

No one, that is, except Fiona O’Brien. After a time in the spotlight that nearly destroyed her, Fiona wants nothing more than to fade into the background and do her job as part of the studio’s hair-and-makeup team. The last thing she needs is a hotshot actor with a panty-melting Irish accent and killer smile messing up her careful plans.

There’s nothing careful about the immediate attraction between Declan and Fiona, and soon that initial spark of lust is sizzling out of control. But when things get complicated behind the scenes, they’ll have to decide if their movie magic should stay on set…or if their love can survive away from the silver screen.

I’ve heard good things about this book but haven’t read it. I did buy it so there’s that.

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryApple Google

Amy Tintera rebootReboot by Amy Tintera. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

In this fast-paced dystopian thrill ride, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Legend, and Divergent, a seventeen-year-old girl returns from death as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier . . . until she is given an order she refuses to obey.

Wren Connolly died five years ago, only to Reboot after 178 minutes. Now she is one of the deadliest Reboots around . . . unlike her newest trainee, Callum 22, who is practically still human. As Wren tries to teach Callum how to be a soldier, his hopeful smile works its way past her defenses. Unfortunately, Callum’s big heart also makes him a liability, and Wren is ordered to eliminate him. To save Callum, Wren will have to risk it all.

Wren’s captivating voice and unlikely romance with Callum will keep readers glued to the page in Amy Tintera’s high-stakes alternate reality.

This sounds good but a lot of elite female soldiers turn out to be wimps. I wonder if Jia has read this. Or tried to

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

The Vampire Who Loved Me Teresa MedeirosThe Vampire Who Loved Me by Teresa Medeiros. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Julian Kane is back in town.

Once, as a girl of seventeen, beautiful, headstrong Portia Cabot saved the cursed life of the dashing vampire Julian Kane—who marked her forever, then left to go in search of his soul. He returns five years later to find the enchanting young girl he left behind grown into a bewitching woman with a woman’s heart . . . and a woman’s desires.

Portia quickly discovers that Julian’s seductive and forbidden kiss can still make her crave the night . . . and his touch. But the Julian who has returned to London is not the vampire she remembers. His fruitless pursuit of his stolen mortality has reduced him to drunken debauchery. And a recent spate of murders makes Portia fear that the man she has always adored may truly be a monster.

Julian knows he must drive Portia away—but his passion and hunger for her grow more irresistible every time they touch. For years he has fought the temptation to embrace his dark gifts, never realizing that Portia’s love may give him the most dangerous gift of all . . . a reason to live.

I remember reading one of the duology of vampire books by Medeiros. I wasn’t feeling it at the time but who knows how it would come off today. I recall the vampire hero being very broody.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryApple Google

The Homeward Trilogy Digital Bundle   Lisa T. Bergrenhe Homeward Trilogy Digital Bundle by Lisa T. Bergren. $ .99.

From the Jacket Copy:

Embark on a Western epic in the Homeward Trilogy.

BREATHE: It’s Colorado, 1883. A publishing heiress is on the brink of life and death. Her beautiful younger sister is called to the forbidden stage. Her brother and troubled guardian is raging inside. A veiled treasure map leads to a hidden silver mine while a threatening villain hovers in the shadows. And a hero is bent on saving his bride.

SING: Moira St. Clair has done exactly what her father forbade her to do: chased her dreams to sing on the stage. But even as her star rises, she becomes more vulnerable to those who wish to use her—or bring her down….

CLAIM: Dominic is seeking a peace that has always eluded him. Only as he mines an old claim deep in the Rocky Mountains and begins a romance with a local schoolteacher does he begin to understand how passionately he is loved—by God, his family, and a good woman. But even as he relinquishes his fury, Nic discovers there is one last battle to fight…

Christian historicals. The books individually sell for 9.99

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryApple Google