Romance, Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult, Book reviews, industry news, and commentary from a reader's point of view

About Jane Litte

http://dearauthor.com/author/jane/

Jane Litte is the founder of Dear Author, a lawyer, and a lover of pencil skirts. She spends her downtime reading romances and writing about them. Her TBR pile is much larger than the one shown in the picture and not as pretty. You can reach Jane by email at jane @ dearauthor dot com

Posts by Jane Litte:

Daily Deals: Mysteries and romances both historical and contemporary

Daily Deals: Mysteries and romances both historical and contemporary

The September Society (Charles Lenox Series #2) by Charles FinchThe September Society by Charles Finch. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

In the small hours of the morning one fall day in 1866, a frantic widow visits detective Charles Lenox. Lady Annabelle’s problem is simple: her beloved son, George, has vanished from his room at Oxford. When Lenox visits his alma mater to investigate, he discovers a series of bizarre clues, including a murdered cat and a card cryptically referring to the September Society.

Then, just as Lenox realizes that the case may be deeper than it appears, a student dies, the victim of foul play.
What could the September Society have to do with it? What specter, returned from the past, is haunting gentle Oxford? Lenox, with the support of his devoted friends in London’s upper crust, must race to discover the truth before it comes searching for him, and dangerously close to home.

Library Journal says “In Finch’s second Victorian mystery (after A Beautiful Blue Death), Lennox and his diverse acquaintences are developing into a cohesive team of detectives, much like the sleuths in the mysteries of Will Thomas and Caleb Carr. Finch, a superb hand at plotting, gives nothing away, and even the most astute reader will be guessing to the end. Another triumph; highly recommended for all collections.”

AmazonBNSony KoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

In Bed with a Highlander by Maya BanksIn Bed with a Highlander by Maya Banks. $ 1.99

From the Jacket Copy:

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Bed with a Highlander is the start of a beguiling trilogy featuring three unforgettable brothers risking everything to save their clan and their legacy—and to surrender their hearts to love.

Ewan McCabe, the eldest, is a warrior determined to vanquish his enemy. Now, with the time ripe for battle, his men are ready and Ewan is poised to take back what is his—until a blue-eyed, raven-haired temptress is thrust upon him. Mairin may be the salvation of Ewan’s clan, but for a man who dreams only of revenge, matters of the heart are strange territory to conquer.

The illegitimate daughter of the king, Mairin possesses prized property that has made her a pawn—and wary of love. Her worst fears are realized when she is rescued from peril only to be forced into marriage by her charismatic and commanding savior, Ewan McCabe. But her attraction to her ruggedly powerful new husband makes her crave his surprisingly tender touch; her body comes alive under his sensual mastery. And as war draws near, Mairin’s strength, spirit, and passion challenge Ewan to conquer his demons—and embrace a love that means more than revenge and land.

I featured one of the books in the trilogy last week, but not at this price. DA January gave this book a B-/C+ grade “It’s a light, fun historical. I found myself smiling at some of the dialogue. There’s no brogue, so if that drives a reader away from a lot of Scottish historicals, she might like this. The heroine grows into her sexuality and once she realizes that she can play with the hero as much as he wants to play with her, it’s fun to see them get together. The steam in this book is at a much more subdued level than most Banks’ books, so don’t expect anything outside of the normal historical romance mores”

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAppleGoogle

Lightning that Lingers by Sharon Curtis, Tom CurtisThe Lightning that Lingers by Sharon and Tom Curtis. $ 2.99

From the Jacket Copy:

From Sharon and Tom Curtis, one of the most celebrated writing duos in romance, comes a sizzling story of unexpected attraction—as sparks fly between a shy librarian and a sexy dancer.

Philip Brooks is a man with a passion for biology, wildlife, and restoring his old family home—all of which add up to a pile of bills that require attention. Moonlighting as the Cougar Club’s hottest dancer is a job, nothing more, nothing less—until lovely Jennifer Hamilton nearly faints during one of his shows. Her sweet innocence tugs at his heart and makes him painfully aware of his longing for the kind of love a woman as perfect and real as Jennifer can offer.

Watching her most secret fantasy come to life on the dance floor is almost more than Jennifer can bear. Now, the sexiest man she’s ever met is near enough to hold. For a shy, bookish lady with little experience in the romance department, life feels as if it’s spinning out of control—and not in the direction, or with the kind of man, she ever imagined. Can she believe in the passion Philip ignites and take a chance on a dance that could last a lifetime?

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: Remember the Time, The Vow, This Fierce Splendor, The Baron, Tall, Dark, and Lonesome, Dream Lover, and Legends.

This book is often iconic for many long time romance readers. The hero was the first of his kind – a stripper – and there are moments of gentle humor through out.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Between Sisters by Kristin HannahBetween Sisters by Kristin Hannah. $ .99 at AMZN | Google.

From the Jacket Copy:

Meghann Dontess is a woman haunted by heartbreak. Twenty-five years ago she was forced to make a terrible choice, one that cost her everything, including the love of her sister, Claire. Now, Meghann is a hotshot divorce attorney who doesn’t believe in intimacy–-until she meets the one man who can change her mind.

Claire Cavenaugh has fallen in love for the first time in her life. As her wedding day approaches, she prepares to face her harsh, judgmental older sister and their self-absorbed mother. It is the first time they have been together in more than two decades. Over the course of a hot Pacific Northwest summer, these three women who believe they have nothing in common will try to become what they never were: a family.

Tender, funny, bittersweet, and wonderfully moving, Between Sisters celebrates the joys and heartaches that can only be shared by sisters, the mistakes made in the name of love and the healing power of new beginnings–-all beautifully told by acclaimed author Kristin Hannah.

This book was published in 2003 and the non sale price of the ebook is over $11! There is a romance for each sister but apparently a lot of angst as well. Meghann is portrayed as the cynical worldly woman and Claire the innocent sister.

AmazonBNSonyKoboBook DepositoryAREApple Google

Monday News: HarperCollins recruits superstar authors to   reimagine Jane Austen novels; Forbes  claims indie publishing has not eroded print publishing sales; Wired  tip on setting up hotel Wi-Fi using laptop and LAN connection

Monday News: HarperCollins recruits superstar authors to reimagine Jane...

*The article incorrectly states that EL James was self published when in fact she was published through The Writers Coffeehouse. Forbes

Kansas City Lightning